Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 51 Pa.B. 676 (January 30, 2021).

Pennsylvania Code



Subchapter S. FURBEARER HUNTING-TRAPPING PERMITS


Sec.


147.701.    General.
147.702.    Unlawful acts.

Authority

   The provisions of this Subchapter S issued under the Game and Wildlife Code, 34 Pa.C.S. § §  2901(b), 2902(c) and 2904(18), unless otherwise noted.

Source

   The provisions of this Subchapter S adopted May 19, 2000, effective May 20, 2000, 30 Pa.B. 2477, unless otherwise noted.

§ 147.701. General.

 This section provides for permits to be issued for the hunting and trapping of bobcat and the trapping of otter and fisher during the seasons established and in areas designated under §  139.4 (relating to seasons and bag limits for the license year).

   (1)  A permit will only be issued to those who possess a valid furtakers license, junior combination license or senior combination license.

   (2)  Permits will be made available through the Commission’s Pennsylvania Automated Licensing System (PALS). The fee for the permit is $5.

   (3)  Applications shall be submitted in accordance with periods set by the Director.

   (4)  Tagging requirements are as follows:

     (i)   A permitted person taking a bobcat, otter or fisher shall immediately, before removing the animal from the location of the taking, fully complete and attach to the animal a carcass tag furnished with the permit. The carcass tag must remain attached to the animal until a Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species (CITES) tag is attached, if applicable, or the animal is mounted, tanned, made into a commercial fur or prepared for consumption.

     (ii)   A permitted person taking a bobcat or fisher shall report the harvest to the Commission within 48 hours of the taking by a means specified by the Director. A permitted person taking an otter shall report the harvest to the Commission within 24 hours of the taking by a means specified by the Director.

     (iii)   A CITES tag for a bobcat or otter taken under this permit will be provided by the Commission in the event that the bobcat, otter or any parts thereof are exported internationally or upon request of the permittee. The CITES tag shall immediately be locked through the eyes of the pelt or, in the event of any other part, locked through and attached to the part. The CITES tag must remain attached to the animal until it is mounted, tanned, made into a commercial fur or prepared for consumption.

     (iv)   A permitted person taking a bobcat, otter or fisher shall surrender the carcass of this animal within 30 days if requested by the Commission.

Authority

   The provisions of this §  147.701 amended under sections 2102(a), 2722(g)(2), 2901(b), 2902 and 2904 of the Fish and Boat Code (30 Pa.C.S. § §  2102(a), 2722(g)(2), 2901(b), 2902 and 2904) and the Game and Wildlife Code (34 Pa.C.S.).

Source

   The provisions of this §  147.701 amended June 8, 2001, effective June 9, 2001, 31 Pa.B. 2926; amended November 2, 2001, effective November 3, 2001, 31 Pa.B. 6054; amended June 13, 2003, effective June 14, 2003, 33 Pa.B. 2748; corrected June 20, 2003, effective June 21, 2003, 33 Pa.B. 2871; amended October 24, 2003, effective October 25, 2003, 33 Pa.B. 5314; amended April 15, 2005, effective April 16, 2005, 35 Pa.B. 2304; amended June 16, 2006, effective June 17, 2006, 36 Pa.B. 2976; amended June 27, 2008, effective June 28, 2008, 38 Pa.B. 3497; amended June 11, 2010, effective June 12, 2010, 40 Pa.B. 3109; amended December 23, 2011, effective December 24, 2011, 41 Pa.B. 6880; amended May 29, 2015, effective May 30, 2015, 45 Pa.B. 2607. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (372032) to (372033).

§ 147.702. Unlawful acts.

 A person who fails or neglects to conform with or violates this subchapter or a permit issued under this subchapter shall be subject to penalties provided in the act.



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.