Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 51 Pa.B. 676 (January 30, 2021).

Pennsylvania Code



Subchapter X. MENTORED HUNTING PROGRAM PERMIT


Sec.


147.801.    Purpose and scope.
147.802.    Definitions.
147.803.    Application.
147.804.    General.
147.805.    Safety.
147.806.    Liability.
147.807.    Violations.

Authority

   The provisions of this Subchapter X issued under 34 Pa.C.S. §  2701(a); amended under the Game and Wildlife Code, 34 Pa.C.S. §  2901(b), unless otherwise noted.

Source

   The provisions of this Subchapter X adopted June 5, 2009, effective June 6, 2009, 39 Pa.B. 2802; amended May 23, 2014, effective May 24, 2014, 44 Pa.B. 3102, unless otherwise noted. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (356425) to (356426) and (366429) to (366430).

§ 147.801. Purpose and scope.

 (a)  The purpose of this subchapter is to define and implement the Mentored Hunting Program within this Commonwealth and provide for the issuance of hunting permits to eligible individuals.

 (b)  The Mentored Hunting Program is intended to provide mentors who are dedicated to promoting and sharing this Commonwealth’s hunting heritage with others, the opportunity to provide these unlicensed individuals with one-on-one, hands-on experience and in-field training on the mechanical, ethical, safety, responsibility and enjoyment aspects of the hunting experience.

§ 147.802. Definitions.

 The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, have the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

   Lawful hunting device—Any firearm or implement that is lawful to be possessed during the current season and used to harvest the particular species hunted.

   Mentor—A licensed person, 21 years of age or older who is serving as a guide to a mentored youth or mentored adult while engaged in hunting or related activities.

   Mentored adult—An unlicensed person, 17 years of age or older, who is accompanied by a mentor while engaged in hunting or related activities.

   Mentored youth—An unlicensed person, under 17 years of age who is accompanied by a mentor while engaged in hunting or related activities.

   Stationary—The state or condition where a person is still, fixed in place or static, indicated by a cessation of all forward, backward or lateral movement, whether in the standing, kneeling, sitting or prone position.

Source

   The provisions of this §  147.802 amended March 22, 2019, effective March 23, 2019, 49 Pa.B. 1364. Immediately preceding text appears at serial page (372036).

§ 147.803. Application.

 (a)  Form and content. Applications for mentored hunting permits issued under this subchapter shall be made through the Commission or any of its authorized license-issuing agents on the appropriate form designated by the Commission for this purpose. Each application must include the name, address, telephone number, date of birth, Social Security number of the applicant and any other information required by the Commission.

 (b)  Eligibility.

   (1)  Mentored youth hunting permits are available to youth applicants under 12 years of age or 12 years of age or older, but under 17 years of age, who have never held a prior hunting license within this Commonwealth or another state or nation. Mentored youth hunting permits are available to eligible youth applicants under 12 years of age for an unrestricted number of license years. Mentored youth hunting permits are available to eligible junior applicants 12 years of age or older, but under 17 years of age, except when the applicant has previously held a mentored youth permit for a total of 3 license years, including years when under 12 years of age. In these circumstances, an applicable junior hunting license is required.

   (2)  Mentored adult hunting permits are available to adult applicants 17 years of age or older who have never held a prior hunting license within this Commonwealth or another state or nation. Mentored adult hunting permits are available to eligible adult applicants for a total of 3 license years, including years when under 17 years of age. In these circumstances, an applicable adult hunting license is required.

 (c)  Minors. Applications may be submitted on behalf of an eligible mentored youth upon presentation of a written request executed by a parent or legally constituted guardian.

 (d)  Fee.

   (1)  The fee for a mentored youth hunting permit will be:

     (i)   $1, plus any applicable transactional and issuing agent fees, for resident and nonresident applicants under 12 years of age.

     (ii)   $5, plus any applicable transactional and issuing agent fees, for resident applicants 12 years of age or older, but under 17 years of age.

     (iii)   $40, plus any applicable transactional and issuing agent fees, for nonresident applicants 12 years of age or older, but under 17 years of age.

   (2)  The fee for a mentored adult hunting permit will be:

     (i)   For residents, $19, plus any applicable transactional and issuing agent fees.

     (ii)   For nonresidents, $100, plus any applicable transactional and issuing agent fees.

Source

   The provisions of this §  147.803 amended March 22, 2019, effective March 23, 2019, 49 Pa.B. 1364. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (372036) and (379471).

§ 147.804. General.

 (a)  License required. A mentor shall possess a valid Pennsylvania hunting license or qualify for license and fee exemptions under section 2706 of the act (relating to resident license and fee exemptions) prior to engaging in any mentored hunting activities.

 (b)  Permit required. A mentored youth or mentored adult shall possess a valid applicable mentored hunting permit prior to engaging in any mentored hunting activities. Purchase of a hunting license by an eligible mentored youth or mentored adult shall automatically invalidate any mentored permit and associated harvest tags held by same.

 (c)  Species limitation. A mentored youth’s or mentored adult’s hunting eligibility is restricted to the following species: rabbit, hare, ruffed grouse, mourning dove, bobwhite quail, pheasant, crow, squirrel, porcupine, woodchuck, coyote, deer and wild turkey.

 (d)  Seasons and bag limits. A mentored youth’s and mentored adult’s hunting eligibility is further constrained by applicable hunting seasons, daily limits, field possession limits and season limits provided in §  139.4 (relating to seasons and bag limits for the license year).

 (e)  Applicability of junior seasons and antler restrictions. A mentored youth is eligible to hunt during any special youth hunting seasons that apply to any species specified in subsection (c) and are subject to the same antler restrictions that apply to junior license holders in §  131.2 (relating to definitions).

 (f)  Tagging requirements. Mentored youth and mentored adults shall tag and report all big game harvested in the manner provided in section 2323 of the act (relating to tagging and reporting big game kills).

 (g)  Transfer of an antlerless license. Notwithstanding the prohibitions in section 2711(a)(3) and (5) of the act (relating to unlawful acts concerning licenses), mentors are authorized to transfer antlerless licenses issued to them to an eligible mentored youth who was under 7 years of age at the time of application. The antlerless license shall be valid and in the possession of the mentor at all times while hunting antlerless deer. The transfer of the antlerless license may not occur until after the mentored youth has harvested the antlerless deer, but before tagging the carcass. A mentored youth may receive by transfer no more than one antlerless deer license each license year. Mentored youth who are under 7 years of age at the time of application are ineligible to make direct application for an antlerless license.

 (h)  Transfer of a fall turkey tag. Notwithstanding the prohibitions in section 2711(a)(3) and (5) of the act, mentors are authorized to transfer fall turkey tags issued to them to an eligible mentored youth who was under 7 years of age at the time of application. The fall turkey tag shall be valid and in the possession of the mentor at all times while hunting fall turkey. The transfer of the fall turkey tag may not occur until after the mentored youth has harvested the fall turkey, but before tagging the carcass. A mentored youth may not receive by transfer more than one fall turkey tag each license year. This provision shall not be construed to authorize the transfer of a harvest tag to a mentored adult or a mentored youth that was 7 years of age or older at the time of application for the mentored permit.

 (i)  Transfer of a Deer Management Assistance Program harvest permit. Notwithstanding the prohibitions in §  147.676(2) and (3) (relating to unlawful acts), mentors are authorized to transfer Deer Management Assistance Program (DMAP) harvest permits issued to them to an eligible mentored youth who was under 7 years of age at the time of application. The DMAP harvest permit must be valid and in the possession of the mentor at all times while hunting antlerless deer. The transfer of the DMAP harvest permit may not occur until after the mentored youth has harvested the antlerless deer, but before tagging the carcass. A mentored youth may not receive by transfer more than one DMAP harvest permit each license year. Mentored youth who are under 7 years of age at the time of application are ineligible to make direct application for a DMAP harvest permit. This provision shall not be construed to authorize the transfer of a harvest tag to a mentored adult or a mentored youth that was 7 years of age or older at the time of application for the mentored permit.

 (j)  Transfer of an antlered deer harvest tag. Notwithstanding the prohibitions in section 2711(a)(3) and (5) of the act, mentors are authorized to transfer antlered deer harvest tags issued to them to a mentored youth who was under 7 years of age at the time of application. The antlered deer harvest tag shall be valid and in the possession of the mentor at all times while hunting antlered deer. The transfer of the antlered deer harvest tag may not occur until after the mentored youth has harvested the antlered deer, but before tagging the carcass. A mentored youth may not receive by transfer more than one antlered deer harvest tag each license year. This provision shall not be construed to authorize the transfer of a harvest tag to a mentored adult or a mentored youth that was 7 years of age or older at the time of application for the mentored permit.

 (k)  Transfer of a spring turkey harvest tag. Notwithstanding the prohibitions in section 2711(a)(3) and (5) of the act, mentors are authorized to transfer spring turkey harvest tags issued to them to a mentored youth who was under 7 years of age at the time of application. The spring turkey harvest tag shall be valid and in the possession of the mentor at all times while hunting spring turkey. The transfer of the spring turkey harvest tag may not occur until after the mentored youth has harvested the spring turkey, but before tagging the carcass. A mentored youth may not receive by transfer more than one spring turkey harvest tag each license year. This provision shall not be construed to authorize the transfer of a harvest tag to a mentored adult or a mentored youth that was 7 years of age or older at the time of application for the mentored permit.

 (l)  Application for and issuance of big game harvest tags. Except as provided as follows, mentored youth and mentored adult hunting permits will be issued with an antlered deer, fall turkey and spring turkey harvest tag. No harvest tags will be issued with a mentored youth permit where the applicant is under 7 years of age at the time of application. Mentored youth over 7 years of age at the time of application and mentored adults are additionally eligible to make application for one antlerless deer license and as many DMAP harvest permits that are within the eligibility standards and limitations of these programs.

 (m)  Application for and issuance of add-on licenses and permits. Mentored youth and mentored adults are exempt from requirements to obtain archery and muzzleloader add-on licenses or stamps applicable to hunting archery or muzzleloader seasons for any species listed in subsection (c). Unless otherwise exempted by existing program standards, all mentored youth and mentored adults are required to obtain migratory bird licenses and pheasant permits to participate in hunting during applicable seasons for any associated species listed in subsection (c).

Authority

   The provisions of this §  147.804 amended under the Game and Wildlife Code, 34 Pa.C.S. § §  2102(a), 2701(a), 2722(g) and 2901(b).

Source

   The provisions of this §  147.804 amended August 12, 2011, effective August 13, 2011, 41 Pa.B. 4419; amended June 22, 2012, effective June 23, 2012, 42 Pa.B. 3594; corrected July 6, 2012, effective June 23, 2012, 42 Pa.B. 4305; amended April 26, 2013, effective April 27, 2013, 43 Pa.B. 2311; amended May 23, 2014, effective May 24, 2014, 44 Pa.B. 3102; amended May 29, 2015, effective May 30, 2015, 45 Pa.B. 2608; amended November 6, 2015, effective November 7, 2015, 45 Pa.B. 6503; amended March 22, 2019, effective March 23, 2019, 49 Pa.B. 1364; amended May 1, 2020, effective May 2, 2020, 50 Pa.B. 2276. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (395965) to (395967).

§ 147.805. Safety.

 While engaged in mentored hunting activities:

   (1)  A mentored youth shall be stationary, within arms reach and subject to the immediate control of the mentor at all times while in possession of any lawful hunting device. This limitation may not be construed to apply to mentored adults. Mentored adults shall be accompanied by the mentor within eyesight and in close proximity so that verbal instruction and guidance can easily be understood without the aid of electronic communication devices or sound amplification devices.

   (2)  A mentor may not accompany more than one mentored youth or mentored adult at any given time. A mentor may not accompany a junior hunter in addition to accompanying a mentored youth or mentored adult.

   (3)  A mentor and mentored youth may not collectively possess more than one lawful hunting device at any given time. This limitation may not be construed to apply to mentors and mentored adults participating in the mentored adult hunting program.

   (4)  A mentor and mentored youth or mentored adult shall each comply with section 2524 of the act (relating to protective material required) and with any regulations promulgated by the Commission relating to protective material.

§ 147.806. Liability.

 A mentor is responsible and accountable for all actions of the mentored youth or mentored adult occurring while engaged in mentored hunting activities. A mentor who causes or allows a mentored youth or mentored adult to engage in an unlawful act shall be punishable as the principal offender as provided in section 924 of the act (relating to liability for actions of others).

§ 147.807. Violations.

 It is unlawful for a mentor, mentored youth or mentored adult to fail to comply with any of the requirements, standards or limitations of this subchapter. A person violating this subchapter shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to pay the fine prescribed in the act. The Director may additionally deny, revoke or suspend any permit for any violation of this subchapter upon written notice to the permittee.



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.