Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 52 Pa.B. 6342 (October 1, 2022).

67 Pa. Code § 95.2. Requests pertaining to specific drivers, vehicles or accidents.

§ 95.2. Requests pertaining to specific drivers, vehicles or accidents.

 (a)  Information pertaining to vehicle security interests, judgment debtors and driving records. Information pertaining to vehicle security interests, judgment debtors and driving records shall be available as follows:

   (1)  Vehicle security interest information; driving records, including violations, convictions, points, suspensions, revocations, Departmental actions, physical and other examinations, accident involvement information and photocopies of driving record source documents; and, information relating to the status of the registration and operating privileges of a judgment debtor will be available only to:

     (i)   The owner or driver.

     (ii)   Persons authorized in writing by the owner or driver.

     (iii)   Persons authorized by court order.

     (iv)   Federal, Commonwealth or local governmental agencies, including police, for use in fulfilling legitimate governmental functions.

     (v)   Persons who have filed a statement acceptable to the Department, certifying the intended use of the record. In the case of driving records, the statement shall be notarized, and shall indicate a legitimate business need for the driving record in connection with a business transaction involving the driver within the meaning of the Fair Credit Reporting Act (15 U.S.C.A. § §  1681—1681t).

   (2)  Information pertaining to vehicle security interests, driving records and judgment debtors will be provided:

     (i)   At a fee of $5 per record; except

     (ii)   Free to:

       (A)   Commonwealth and local governmental agencies within the Commonwealth.

       (B)   Agencies of the Federal government and reciprocating states.

 (b)  Department notices. Department notices will be available as follows:

   (1)  Photocopies of notices of Departmental actions concerning a driver will be available only to:

     (i)   The driver.

     (ii)   Persons authorized in writing by the driver.

     (iii)   Persons authorized by court order.

     (iv)   Federal, Commonwealth or local government agencies, including police, for use in fulfilling legitimate governmental functions.

   (2)  Photocopies of notices of Department actions concerning a driver shall be provided:

     (i)   At a fee of $5 per record; except

     (ii)   Free to:

       (A)   Commonwealth and local governmental agencies within the Commonwealth.

       (B)   Agencies of the Federal Government and reciprocating states.

 (c)  Basic driver license and vehicle records. Basic driver license and vehicle records will be available as follows:

   (1)  Basic driver license information, limited to name, address, Pennsylvania driver’s license number and date of birth; vehicle registration and title information; and, photocopies of vehicle record source documents will be provided:

     (i)   At a fee of $5.00 per record, form or supporting document; except

     (ii)   Free to:

       (A)   Commonwealth and local governmental agencies within the Commonwealth.

       (B)   Agencies of the Federal government and reciprocating states.

 (d)  Mass record interrogations. Mass driver license and vehicle registration interrogations will be:

   (1)  Available only to:

     (i)   Governmental agencies which meet Department specifications for data processing input and output.

     (ii)   Persons or agencies under contract to governmental agencies who are engaged in research, traffic safety programs or another program deemed by the Department to be in the public interest. A statement, acceptable to the Department, shall be filed with the Department certifying the purpose and use of the data. Information provided may not be used for the purposes of solicitation, endorsement or the compilation of mailing lists.

     (iii)   Persons who collect vehicle record data for programs determined by the Department to be in the public interest. An affidavit, acceptable to the Department, shall be filed with the Department certifying the purpose and use of the vehicle record data. Information provided may not be used for the purposes of solicitation, endorsement or the compilation of mailing lists other than for vehicle recall campaigns.

   (2)  Provided at a fee based on cost of compiling and extracting data except for those agencies as provided in paragraph (1)(i) and (ii), when the Department at its discretion, will set the fee at the cost, including authorized overhead charges, of extracting the records.

 (e)  Accident reports. Accident records shall be available as follows:

   (1)  Driver reports filed under 75 Pa.C.S. §  3747 (relating to written report of accident by driver or owner):

     (i)   Available only to:

       (A)   The driver or occupant who filed the report.

       (B)   Persons with power of attorney from the driver or occupant who filed the report.

       (C)   Governmental agencies for accident prevention purposes or highway safety research.

       (D)   Persons determined by the Department to be engaged in accident prevention or highway safety research programs.

     (ii)   Provided at a fee of $5.00 per report, except:

       (A)   Free to Commonwealth and local governmental agencies within the Commonwealth and agencies of the Federal government.

       (B)   Twenty-five cents per page for persons described in subparagraph (i)(D).

   (2)  An accident report certificate indicating that a specified accident report has or has not been filed by a driver or owner in compliance with 75 Pa.C.S. §  3747, including the date, time and location of the accident, the names and addresses of the drivers and the owners of the vehicles involved will be:

     (i)   Available only to:

       (A)   A party to a trial, their attorney or the court.

       (B)   Police or district attorney if a driver is charged with filing a false accident report under 75 Pa.C.S. §  3748 (relating to false reports).

     (ii)   Provided at a fee of $5.00, except that police and district attorneys shall be furnished copies free of charge.

   (3)  Police reports filed under 75 Pa.C.S. §  3751 (relating to reports by police) will be:

     (i)   Available only to:

       (A)   Federal government, including branches of the military service, Commonwealth agencies and officials of political subdivisions and agencies of other States and nations and their political subdivisions.

       (B)   Persons who are determined by the Department to be involved in accident prevention or highway safety research programs.

       (C)   Persons involved in the accident, their attorney, or insurer if they can furnish proof that the accident report is missing or lost and, therefore, unavailable from the reporting police department.

       (D)   Persons authorized by court order.

     (ii)   Provided at a fee of $5.00, except:

       (A)   Free to Commonwealth and local governmental agencies within the Commonwealth.

       (B)   Twenty-five cents per page for persons as described in subparagraph (i)(B).

       (C)   Twenty-five cents per page to agencies of the Federal government and other states.

   (4)  Accident abstract reports indicating name and address of driver and insurer in compliance with 75 Pa.C.S. §  3747(e) will be:

     (i)   Available only to:

       (A)   Police or district attorney.

       (B)   Persons involved in the accident or their attorney or insurer.

     (ii)   Provided at a fee of $5, except free to police and district attorneys.



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.