DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
Nursing Home Patient Safety Trust Fund Surcharge Assessment Procedure
[49 Pa.B. 1226]
[Saturday, March 16, 2019]
Sections 401—411 of the Medical Care Availability and Reduction of Error (MCARE) Act (MCARE Act) (40 P.S. §§ 1303.401—1303.411) require nursing homes to electronically report health care-associated infection (HAI) data to the Department of Health (Department) and the Patient Safety Authority (Authority). Mandatory reporting of nursing home HAIs was implemented in June 2009.
Section 409 of the MCARE Act (40 P.S. § 1303.409) states that every fiscal year, beginning July 1, 2008, each nursing home shall pay the Department a surcharge on its licensing fee to provide sufficient revenues for the Authority to perform its responsibilities related to the MCARE Act. The base amount of $1 million for Fiscal Year (FY) 2008-2009 has the potential to be increased no more than the Consumer Price Index in each succeeding fiscal year. The Authority has recommended that the FY 2018-2019 surcharge assessment total $1.14 million.
To assess the surcharge in an equitable manner, the number of licensed nursing home beds as of December 31, 2018, was totaled and that amount was divided into $1.14 million. The total number of licensed beds is 86,793. This equates to a surcharge of $13.13 per bed.
To obtain a copy of the assessment for all facilities, send an e-mail to firstname.lastname@example.org and request the FY 2018-2019 MCARE surcharge assessment list for nursing care facilities. Each facility will receive notification from the Department setting forth the amount due, date due and the name and address to which the payment should be sent. Payment will be due within 60 days. The MCARE Act authorizes the Department to assess an administrative penalty of $1,000 per day on facilities who fail to pay the surcharge by the due date.
If a nursing care facility has any questions concerning this notice, a representative from that facility should contact Susan Williamson, Director, Division of Nursing Care Facilities, Room 526, Health and Welfare Building, 825 Forster Street, Harrisburg, PA 17120, (717) 787-1816.
Persons with a disability who require an alternative format of this document (for example, large print, audiotape, Braille) should contact Susan Williamson at the previously listed address or telephone number, or for speech and/or hearing-impaired persons, call the Pennsylvania AT&T Relay Service at (800) 654-5984 (TDD users) or (800) 654-5988 (voice users).
RACHEL L. LEVINE, MD,
[Pa.B. Doc. No. 19-378. Filed for public inspection March 15, 2019, 9:00 a.m.]
No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.
This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Bulletin full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.