Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Bulletin website includes the following: Rulemakings by State agencies; Proposed Rulemakings by State agencies; State agency notices; the Governor’s Proclamations and Executive Orders; Actions by the General Assembly; and Statewide and local court rules.

PA Bulletin, Doc. No. 22-1661



Revisions to Schedule of Prices for State Forests

[52 Pa.B. 6726]
[Saturday, October 29, 2022]

A. Summary and Background

 Under section 314 of the Conservation and Natural Resources Act (71 P.S. § 1340.314), the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources (Department), Bureau of Forestry (Bureau), will establish a price schedule for State Forest camping permits, effective November 3, 2022. The updated price schedule, which is in section D as follows, will include Bureau roadside campsites and select trailside campsites, for inclusion to the State Park and State Forest Reservation and Revenue Management System. The updated price schedule is needed to support maintenance, patrol and management of the Bureau's Camping Program and to adjust existing rates to the market. The resulting fees are comparable to those of state parks and forests in neighboring states and will narrow the gap between State Parks and Forests in this Commonwealth and private facilities, resulting in a more favorable competitive climate for the private sector.

 When the updated price schedule becomes effective, it will be posted on the Department's web site at

 The Bureau also adopts a new cancellation and change policy.

B. Contact Person

 Questions may be directed to Michael Hoffman, Recreation Section Chief, Bureau of Forestry, Rachel Carson State Office Building, P.O. Box 8551, Harrisburg, PA 17105-8551, Persons with a disability may use the Pennsylvania Hamilton Relay Service by calling (800) 654-5984 (TDD users).

C. Effective Date

 The effective date of the updated price schedule is November 3, 2022.

D. Price Schedule

Facility TypeUnitResidentNonresident
Motorized Camping
 State forest roadsideNightly$10—$20$15—$25
 State forest roadside hike-inNightly$10—$20$15—$25
 State forest rusticNightly$10—$20$15—$25
 State forest equestrianNightly$10—$20$15—$25
 State forest rustic organized group tent Nightly$10—$20$15—$25
Primitive Camping
 Designated trailsideNightly$10—$20$15—$25
Transaction Fee
 Transaction FeePer Reservation/ 

E. Cancellation/Change Policy

 In addition to an updated price schedule, the Bureau is adopting a new cancellation and change policy. This policy correlates to the best management practices of the Department's Bureau of State Parks and other state park and private sector reservation web sites and mirrors the Department's management directives. The policy can be found at Pages/default.aspx.

New Reservation Cancellation/Change Policy:

 This cancellation and change policy is applicable to all reservable and first-come, first-served facilities. This policy is applicable for all reservations created on and after November 3, 2022. This policy is available on the confirmation letter or e-mail.

Fees and Policies:

Transaction Fee: A $6.50 nonrefundable transaction fee is charged on all reservations and registrations. This fee will not be refunded if the reservation is cancelled or transferred. Exceptions cannot be granted because this fee is a pass-through cost incurred by the Bureau for the reservation system.

Changes to a reservation:

 A nonrefundable $10 fee per reservation is assessed for all changes made to the reservation, except for adding nights to the reservation. This fee will not be refunded in the event of a change or cancellation in any situation. Exceptions cannot be granted because this fee is a pass-through cost incurred by the Bureau for the reservation system.

 Reservations made at the maximum window (11 months to the day), or with a departure date after the maximum booking window, are not permitted to move or cancel the reservation for 22 days. After 22 days, patrons can change or move the reservation for a $10 transfer fee.

 Changes prior to the day of arrival to any online reservation or call center reservation, must be made by calling the State Parks and Forests Reservation Center at (888) PA-PARKS ((888) 727-2757), Monday—Saturday, 7 a.m.—5 p.m.

 Changes on the day of arrival must go through the State forest where individuals have a reservation. There are no refunds for early departure of any part of a holiday weekend reservation once the site has been occupied. Changes will not be accepted by means of social media.

Cancellation of a reservation:

 Cancellations can be made by means of the call center or web up to the day before arrival. Cancellations on the day of arrival must be made through the State forest. The State Parks and Forests Reservation Center's hours are Monday—Saturday, 7 a.m.—5 p.m. and can be reached at (888) PA-PARKS ((888) 727-2757).

 Cancellations made up to close of business 7 days prior to the scheduled arrival date will incur the $10 cancellation fee per reservation. If individuals cancel 6 days or less prior to the arrival date, they will forfeit the first night's fee. Reservations will be held for the entire camping reservation, including for no shows. Fees are retained and will not be refunded if individuals fail to arrive and do not inform the park of a cancellation in advance or during their stay. Refunds will be calculated based on the date of notification using the previously listed information or by check out if notification occurs after the arrival date but before departure date.

 Refunds in excess of the previously listed policy will not be given for reasons including, but not limited to, natural disasters, drought, bugs, weather, campfire bans, death, pandemics (for example, COVID-19), water conditions or pool closures due to staffing.


 If paid by Visa, MasterCard, Discover or American Express, the card will be credited. If paid by check or money order, a check from the Commonwealth will be issued. Only the person whose name is on the reservation may change or cancel. Refunds by check require a minimum of 6 to 8 weeks for delivery.

 Requests for refunds outside of this policy will not be considered if submitted 8 days or more after departure date. For example, if an individual were to depart on January 7 and submitted a refund request on January 15, it is ineligible for review.


[Pa.B. Doc. No. 22-1661. Filed for public inspection October 28, 2022, 9:00 a.m.]

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Bulletin full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.