Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 53 Pa.B. 6142 (September 30, 2023).

Pennsylvania Code



16.61.    Application for certificate to vaccinate.
16.62.    Department certification.
16.63.    Vaccination requirements.
16.64.    Revaccination required after removal from kennel.
16.65.    Revocation of certificate.

Cross References

   This subchapter cited in 7 Pa. Code §  16.42 (relating to persons authorized to administer vaccine).

§ 16.61. Application for certificate to vaccinate.

 An owner of a State-licensed private or breeding kennel and an operator of a State-licensed nonprofit kennel may apply to the Department for certification to vaccinate a dog or cat which is either owned and kept in the licensed private or breeding kennel or which is in the possession of the nonprofit kennel. Application shall be by submission of a form provided by the Department and an application fee of $35.

§ 16.62. Department certification.

 The Department will certify an owner of a State-licensed private or breeding kennel and an operator of a State-licensed nonprofit kennel based upon the results of a written examination to be administered by the Department and upon verification by a licensed veterinarian that the private or breeding kennel owner or nonprofit kennel operator has been given a demonstration of vaccination procedures by the licensed veterinarian in accordance with procedures established by the Department. A fee associated with the demonstration by the veterinarian is the responsibility of the owner or operator.

§ 16.63. Vaccination requirements.

 A certified private or breeding kennel owner and a certified operator of a nonprofit kennel shall comply with the following procedures regarding rabies vaccination:

   (1)  Vaccine shall be administered only by an owner or operator who has been certified by the Department.

   (2)  Vaccine shall be administered only to a dog and cat owned by the kennel owner and kept at the licensed kennel or to a dog or cat in the possession of a nonprofit kennel.

   (3)  Only-USDA licensed inactivated vaccine purchased from a licensed veterinarian or a source approved by the Department shall be used.

   (4)  Vaccine shall be administered according to vaccine label instructions and according to procedures outlined in the Rabies Vaccination Manual provided by the Department.

   (5)  Detailed records shall be kept and maintained for at least 3 years which indicate:

     (i)   The name, type by duration of immunity, lot number, manufacturer, date of purchase and date of administration of the rabies vaccine.

     (ii)   The name and address of the veterinarian or other source from whom the vaccine was purchased.

     (iii)   The name, address and telephone number of the person who administered the vaccine.

     (iv)   A detailed description of each animal vaccinated, including the breed, sex, age and color.

Cross References

   This section cited in 7 Pa. Code §  16.45 (relating to production of certificate of vaccination required).

§ 16.64. Revaccination required after removal from kennel.

 A dog or cat vaccinated by a kennel owner or operator will be considered in compliance with the vaccination requirements of the act only as long as it is kept in the licensed kennel. The kennel owner or operator shall inform a person purchasing or otherwise receiving a dog or cat which has been vaccinated that the animal will not be considered vaccinated under the act after removal from the kennel and shall be revaccinated by a licensed veterinarian.

§ 16.65. Revocation of certificate.

 Violation of the act, this chapter or other statutes or regulations of the Commonwealth relating to the control, keeping, protection, sale or transportation of dogs or cats shall be cause for revocation of certification of kennel owners to vaccinate dogs and cats they own.

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.