Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 54 Pa.B. 1806 (March 30, 2024).

Pennsylvania Code



47.1.    License required.
47.2.    Rig permit.
47.3.    Application and fee.
47.4.    Displaying license.
47.5.    Notice of intent to drill.
47.6.    Samples.
47.7.    Well records.
47.8.    Abandonment of well.


   The provisions of this Chapter 47 issued under section 12 of the act of May 29, 1956 (P. L. 1840, No. 610) Water Well Drillers License Act(32 P. S. §  645.12), unless otherwise noted.


   The provisions of this Chapter 47 adopted September 2, 1971, 1 Pa.B. 1804; renumbered from 25 Pa. Code Chapter 107, June 7, 1996, effective June 8, 1996, 26 Pa.B. 2707, unless otherwise noted. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (84492) and (95941) to (95942).

§ 47.1. License required.

 (a)  All water well drillers, as defined in act of May 29, 1956 (P. L. 1840) (32 P. S. § §  645.1—645.13), shall be licensed. Farmers and other persons drilling at their own residence are not required to obtain a license.

 (b)  Employes of licensed water well drillers, drilling wells within the scope of their employment, do not need individual licenses. It is the contractor who shall be licensed.

 (c)  The license of the water well driller shall be signed in ink by the applicant, in the space provided.

§ 47.2. Rig permit.

 (a)  The operator of the drilling rig shall have the rig permit in his possession at all times while the rig is in operation.

 (b)  Each rig shall be assigned a permanent number. The contractor shall have the permit number painted in a conspicuous place on the drilling rig in characters at least 2 inches high.

§ 47.3. Application and fee.

 (a)  Licenses and rig permits will be issued upon receipt of a properly completed application and proper fee.

 (b)  A fee of $60 for a water well drilling license and a fee of $20 for each rig permit shall accompany the application. Fees shall be paid by check or money order payable to the ‘‘Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.’’

 (c)  Applications shall be mailed to the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources, Topographic and Geologic Survey, Water Well Drillers Licensing, Post Office Box 8453, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17105-8453.


   The provisions of this §  47.3 amended August 19, 1983, effective July 1, 1981, 13 Pa.B. 2549. Immediately preceding text appears at serial page (4599).

§ 47.4. Displaying license.

 The license shall be displayed in the principal place of business of the contractor.

§ 47.5. Notice of intent to drill.

 Within 24 hours of making a contract, written or oral, to drill a well, the driller shall file with the Department of Conservation and Environmental Resources, Topographic & Geological Survey, Post Office Box 8453, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17105-8453, a notice of intention to drill which shall contain the information on the Intention to Drill Form. Supplies of the form may be obtained from the Department.

§ 47.6. Samples.

 (a)  Upon receipt of notice of intention to drill, the Department may require that samples of cuttings be saved for study by the Department. The Department will inform the driller of this immediately, and will supply containers for the samples.

 (b)  Under certain circumstances, the Department may wish to make additional inspections and tests on a well, in which case the driller will be so notified by the Department.

§ 47.7. Well records.

 (a)  A record of each well shall be kept by the contractor on Form WWI. All pertinent spaces of the form shall be filled in.

 (b)  The record shall be kept by the licensed driller for at least 10 years. The records shall not be disposed of at any time without express permission of the Department.

 (c)  A licensed driller desiring to dispose of records prior to the elapse of 10 years shall contact the Department for details of disposition.

 (d)  Upon completion of each well, the driller shall submit one copy of completed Form WWI to the Department and one copy to the well owner.

§ 47.8. Abandonment of well.

 When a well is to be abandoned, a notice of intent to abandon shall be sent to the Department at least 10 days before the well is sealed or filled.

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.