Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 52 Pa.B. 6342 (October 1, 2022).

28 Pa. Code § 1141.36. Permit renewal applications.

§ 1141.36. Permit renewal applications.

 (a)  A medical marijuana organization wishing to renew its permit shall submit to the Department a permit renewal application not more than 6 months, nor less than 4 months, prior to the current permit’s expiration.

 (b)  A medical marijuana organization shall submit the applicable fee in §  1141.28 (relating to fees) with the permit renewal application.

 (c)  A medical marijuana organization shall include the following in the permit renewal application:

   (1)  Information regarding any charge, or any initiated, pending or concluded investigation, during the period of the initial permit or prior renewal period, by any governmental or administrative agency with respect to:

     (i)   Any incident involving the theft, loss or possible diversion of medical marijuana by the medical marijuana organization or from the medical marijuana organization’s facility.

     (ii)   Compliance by the medical marijuana organization with the laws of the Commonwealth with respect to any substance in section 4 of The Controlled Substance, Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act (35 P.S. §  780-104).

   (2)  Information concerning the medical marijuana organization’s ability to carry on the activity for which the permit was issued, including medical marijuana product shortages or wait lists occurring during the 12 months prior to the date the renewal permit application was submitted.

   (3)  The medical marijuana organization’s history of compliance with the act and this part.

 (d)  If the Department determines that a permit renewal application is complete but lacking sufficient information upon which to make a determination, the Department will notify the medical marijuana organization in writing of the factors that require additional information and documentation. The medical marijuana organization shall have 30 days from the mailing date of the notice to provide the requested information and documentation to the Department. A medical marijuana organization’s failure to provide the requested information to the Department by the deadline may be grounds for denial of the permit renewal application. Nothing in this subsection requires the Department to request additional or supplemental information from an applicant.

 (e)  The Department may conduct an onsite inspection of the medical marijuana organization’s site and facility to determine an applicant’s continuing compliance with the act and this part.


   The temporary provisions of this §  1141.36 amended January 13, 2017, effective January 14, 2017, expire on January 14, 2019, 47 Pa.B. 199; amended May 11, 2018, effective May 17, 2018, expire on May 12, 2020, 48 Pa.B. 2767. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (385926) and (390711).

Cross References

   This section cited in 28 Pa. Code §  1211.31 (relating to renewal of approval of a clinical registrant); and 28 Pa. Code §  1141.37 (relating to denial of renewal of a permit).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.