Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 53 Pa.B. 696 (January 28, 2023).

28 Pa. Code § 133.2. Types of special care units.

§ 133.2. Types of special care units.

 A special care unit of a hospital is an area set aside for the treatment of patients who require extraordinary care on a concentrated and continuous basis. There are two kinds of special care units as follows:

   (1)  Multipurpose for the intensive treatment of critically ill patients with a wide variety of diagnoses.

   (2)  Specific purpose for the continuous care of patients in special diagnostic categories. These categories include but are not limited to:

     (i)   Burn.

     (ii)   Coronary care.

     (iii)   Neonatal care.

     (iv)   Postobstetric and post operative recovery care.

     (v)   Pulmonary care.

     (vi)   Renal dialysis.

     (vii)   Surgical, including trauma, intensive care units.


   The provisions of this §  133.2 adopted December 9, 1977, effective December 10, 1977, 7 Pa.B. 3631.

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.