Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 52 Pa.B. 3204 (May 28, 2022).

28 Pa. Code § 27.160.  Special requirements for measles.

§ 27.160.  Special requirements for measles.

 (a)  Isolation. An infected person shall be restricted to the premises for 4 days after the appearance of the rash.

 (b)  Quarantine. Whenever measles is determined to be present in a school or child care group setting population, the Department or a local health department may do the following:

   (1)  Ascertain which children and staff persons are presumed susceptibles. A presumed susceptible is a person who fits into all of the following categories:

     (i)   Presents no history of two doses of measles vaccination, separated by at least 1 month, while 12 months of age or older.

     (ii)   Does not demonstrate serological evidence of measles immunity. The serological evidence is the presence of antibody to measles determined by the hemagglutination inhibition test or a comparable test.

     (iii)   Was born after December 31, 1956.

   (2)  Order exclusion from the school or child care group setting of presumed susceptible children and staff persons who do not present evidence of having received measles vaccination within 30 days prior to the outbreak. Exclusion shall continue until the excluded persons prove they do not meet the exclusion criteria in paragraph (1), they receive a measles vaccination, or no case of measles has occurred for a 14-day period.


   The provisions of this §  27.160 adopted January 25, 2002, effective January 26, 2002, 32 Pa.B. 491.

Cross References

   This section cited in 28 Pa. Code §  27.71 (relating to exclusion of children, and staff having contact with children, for specified diseases and infectious conditions); and 28 Pa. Code §  27.75 (relating to exclusion of children, and staff having contact with children, during a measles outbreak).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.