Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 53 Pa.B. 3392 (June 24, 2023).

31 Pa. Code § 243.4. Reporting requirements for self-insurance plans.

§ 243.4. Reporting requirements for self-insurance plans.

 A health care provider with an approved self-insurance plan shall report to the Commissioner not later than 6 months following the end of the hospital’s fiscal year the experience of the prior fiscal year. The reports shall include the following:

   (1)  A certificate of acceptable audit of the self-insurance trust fund by a certified public accountant (CPA) and a copy of the CPA report.

   (2)  A balance sheet, an income and expense exhibit and other financial exhibits which the Commissioner may require.

   (3)  A comprehensive report of the risk management program of the self-insurance plan. A provider may substitute the proof of current 3-year accreditation by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Hospitals and the current Department of Health audit showing a satisfactory status in place of the comprehensive report.

   (4)  Other information as the Commissioner may reasonably request.


   The provisions of this §  243.4 amended under The Insurance Department Act of 1921 (40 P. S. § §  1—321); The Insurance Company Law of 1921 (40 P. S. § §  341—991); and sections 206, 506, 1501 and 1502 of The Administrative Code of 1929 (71 P. S. § §  66, 186, 411 and 412); and the Health Care Services Malpractice Act (40 P. S. § §  1301.101—1301.1006).


   The provisions of this §  243.4 adopted July 1, 1977, effective July 2, 1977, 7 Pa.B. 1816; renumbered February 9, 1979, 9 Pa.B. 498; amended September 18, 1987, effective November 18, 1987, 17 Pa.B. 3742. Immediately preceding text appears at serial page (39845).

Cross References

   This section cited in 31 Pa. Code §  243.3 (relating to standards for self-insurance plans).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.