Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 53 Pa.B. 3392 (June 24, 2023).

34 Pa. Code § 7.15. Inspection.

§ 7.15. Inspection.

 (a)  Frequency. Inspection of equipment regulated by this chapter shall take place as follows:

   (1)  All passenger elevators and escalators shall be inspected at least once every 3 months.

   (2)  Freight elevators, including gravity elevators, shall be inspected at least once every 6 months.

   (3)  Dumbwaiters, hoists, and other types of lifting apparatus covered by this chapter shall be inspected once every 12 months. Building hoists may be inspected by a Department inspector at the time of erection at every building.

   (4)  Inspections shall be made by approved inspectors. During inspections all safety appliances shall be thoroughly examined and all violations reported. Casualty insurance companies insuring such installations shall inspect them periodically, in keeping with the type of equipment insured. When installations are idle for an extended period of time they are not subject to the requirements of this section if they are placed under State seal, but may be thoroughly inspected by a Department inspector before again being placed in operation.

 (b)  Reports. Approved inspectors shall file with the Department duplicate copies of all inspection reports which pertain to and cover all elevators and hoists inspected, and which are located within the jurisdiction of the Department.

 (c)  Certificates. Upon the receipt of reports, the Department will, upon the payment of a fee proportionate to an annual fee of $4.00, issue certificates of inspection covering all installations which are found to conform to the provisions of this section. Certificates shall be posted in the cars of elevators, and in conspicuous places in connection with escalators and hoists. The name of the inspector making the inspection and the dates of issuance and expiration shall appear on all certificates. If such installation is insured, the name and address of the insurance carrier shall also be placed upon the certificate. Elevators shall not be operated before the certificate is received from the Department and posted, or after the effective period of the certificate expires. Approved elevator inspectors and other inspectors regularly employed by the Department may order an elevator to be placed out of service if the foregoing provision is violated. The insurance company carrying the risk shall notify the Department when risk expires.

 (d)  Noncompliance with recommendations. In all instances when imperative recommendations are issued, and when such recommendations have not received the attention of owners, the issuance of certificates of inspection may be withheld, until such time as the substandard conditions are rectified.

 (e)  Unsafe conditions. Approved inspectors finding a violation which causes a dangerous condition will immediately notify the building owner or agent of the building owner of the violation and advise such person to place the elevator out of service. Immediately thereafter he shall notify the local elevator inspector of the Department so that a seal may be placed on the elevator. No elevator shall be operated after being placed out of service by an inspector until the violations have been corrected and approved by the Department.

Cross References

   This section cited in 34 Pa. Code §  7.134 (relating to approval and operation); 34 Pa. Code §  7.174 (relating to approval and operation); 34 Pa. Code §  7.213 (relating to approval and operation); and 34 Pa. Code §  7.251 (relating to general).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.