Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 51 Pa.B. 6892 (October 30, 2021).

40 Pa. Code § 5.103. Limited wineries.

§ 5.103. Limited wineries.

 (a)  Records. A holder of a Limited Winery License obtained under §  3.62 (relating to creation) shall maintain and keep on the licensed premises daily permanent records which shall conform to the requirements of section 512 of the Liquor Code (47 P. S. §  5-512). The records shall include complete details concerning the source of fruits used in the production of wines. Electronic media recordkeeping, maintained and based upon generally accepted accounting principles, shall be permitted in lieu of hard copy records. The recordkeeping system utilized by the licensee shall have the capability to provide for the reconciling of required data. Entries shall be verifiable by supporting original documents. The records shall include complete details concerning the source of fruits used in the production of wines.

 (b)  Sales invoice. In addition to the records prescribed in subsection (a), except as otherwise provided in this part, a sales invoice shall be prepared at the licensed premises for each sale. The sales invoice shall be prepared in accordance with the following:

   (1)  The sales invoice shall be imprinted or affixed with the name and address of the limited winery.

   (2)  The sales invoice shall show the name and address of the recipient of the merchandise, date of sale, number of units, size and type of package, brand name, selling price of the wine and the net cost to the customer. The name and address of private individuals is not required on sales invoices covering quantities of 16 liters or less; in lieu of preparing sales invoices for the sales, the transactions may be entered individually on a counter sheet maintained in columnar form showing the information required on sales invoices, other than name and address of the purchaser. The counter sheet shall be totaled daily and the totals entered into the sales register noted in section 512 of the Liquor Code (47 P. S. §  5-512).

   (3)  The sales invoice shall show the Commonwealth sales tax, where applicable, as a separate entry.

   (4)  The sales invoice may include other items permitted for sale by limited wineries if the sale of wines is listed separately from other permitted items sold by the licensee.

   (5)  An invoice shall be prepared for any amount of wine shipped to customers via Transporter-for-Hire, Class C carriers. The invoice shall be prepared only for persons 21 years of age or older, and limited winery licensees shall request the signature of a recipient, 21 years of age or older, from the transporter making the deliveries and a return acknowledgement of delivery to the recipient. Copies of acknowledgments of delivery shall be maintained on the licensed premises for 2 years.

   (6)  When a sale requires the preparation of an invoice, one copy shall be given to the recipient of the merchandise and a copy retained on the licensed premises for 2 years.

 (c)  Reports. A licensed limited winery shall file reports in the manner set forth by the Board covering operations of their licensed business during the preceding calendar year. The reports shall be signed and sworn to by the licensee or his authorized agent and shall be filed with the Board at the time of the renewal or validation of the license. A copy of each report shall be retained on the licensed premises for at least 2 years from the date of filing. Failure to file the reports will preclude the Board from renewing or validating the license in question. These reports are in addition to information or reports the licensed limited winery may be required to provide to the Department of Agriculture under 3 Pa.C.S. Chapter 45 (relating to Agricultural Commodities Marketing Act) and regulations promulgated thereunder, including 7 Pa. Code §  104.75 (relating to accounting and payment).

Authority

   The provisions of this §  5.103 issued under sections 207(i) and 505.2(2) and (3) of the Liquor Code (47 P. S. § §  2-207(i) and 505.2(2) and (3)); amended under section 207(i) of the Liquor Code (47 P. S. §  2-207(i)).

Source

   The provisions of this §  5.103 adopted March 11, 1969; amended September 13, 1974, effective September 14, 1974, 4 Pa.B. 1948; amended September 29, 1978, effective September 30, 1978, 8 Pa.B. 2689; amended March 11, 1983, effective March 12, 1983, 13 Pa.B. 984; amended December 22, 1995, effective December 23, 1995, 25 Pa. B. 5957; amended November 18, 2011, effective November 19, 2011, 41 Pa.B. 6218. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (205159) to (205160).

Cross References

   This section cited in 40 Pa. Code §  3.62 (relating to creation); and 40 Pa. Code §  11.111 (relating to sale by limited winery licensees).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.