Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 53 Pa.B. 6142 (September 30, 2023).

40 Pa. Code § 5.14. Employment of minors 17 years of age as 18 years of age.

§ 5.14. Employment of minors 17 years of age as 18 years of age.

 Under the Child Labor Law (43 P. S. §  41), a minor who is 17 years of age who is a high school graduate or who is declared to have attained his academic potential by the chief administrator of the school district within which he resides shall be deemed to be a minor of 18 years of age for the purposes of this subchapter. It shall be the duty of the employer to have in his possession on the licensed premises, and to produce on demand, a certified copy of a diploma or certificate of graduation of the 17-year-old minor, or a letter on the official stationery of the school district and over the signature of the chief administrator of the school district in which the minor resides, declaring that the 17 year old minor has attained his academic potential.


   The provisions of this §  5.14 adopted June 26, 1952; amended through March 17, 1972, 2 Pa.B. 457.

Cross References

   This section cited in 40 Pa. Code §  5.21 (relating to prohibited employment).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.