Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 53 Pa.B. 6142 (September 30, 2023).

43 Pa. Code § 7.9. Unclaimed property of deceased resident who dies intestate.

§ 7.9. Unclaimed property of deceased resident who dies intestate.

 (a)  Property, cash or other effects belonging to a resident of a State Veterans Home who dies intestate which remain unclaimed at the death of a resident shall be deemed the property of State Veterans Home and subject to its use as provided in this section.

 (b)  The property, shall be converted to cash and deposited into the State Veterans Home welfare fund. The Superintendent shall hold the principal in trust for a period of 1 year following the death of the resident. During this period, the Superintendent shall have power to invest the principal and use the income in accordance with the provisions of this chapter.

 (c)  Upon claim made within 1 year following death and sustained by legal proof, all or part of the principal shall be paid over to the claimant entitled thereto upon acknowledgment, execution and delivery of proper releases.

 (d)  Principals remaining unclaimed 1 year after the death of the resident shall be deemed to be the property of the State Veterans Home and shall be subject to its absolute control and disposal.

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.