Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 52 Pa.B. 3204 (May 28, 2022).

49 Pa. Code § 16.18. Volunteer license.

§ 16.18. Volunteer license.

 (a)  Purpose and definitions.

   (1)  The following subsections implement the Volunteer Health Services Act (35 P. S. § §  449.41—449.50) and provide for the issuance of a volunteer license to a qualified Board-regulated practitioner as defined in section 2 of the act (63 P. S. §  422.2), who retires from active practice and seeks to provide professional services as a volunteer. A volunteer license authorizes the holder to practice only in an organized community-based clinic without remuneration.

   (2)  The following words and terms, when used in this section, have the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

   Approved clinic—An organized community-based clinic offering primary health care services to individuals and families who cannot pay for their care, to Medical Assistance clients or to residents of medically underserved areas or health professionals shortage areas. The term includes a State health center, nonprofit community-based clinic and Federally qualified health center, as designated by Federal rulemaking or as approved by the Department of Health or the Department of Public Welfare.

   Unrestricted license—A license which is not restricted or limited by order of the Board under its disciplinary power.

 (b)  License. A volunteer license may be issued to a Board-regulated practitioner of the Board for whom the Board has received verification from the course provider that the applicant has completed at least 3 hours of approved training in child abuse recognition and reporting in accordance with §  16.108(a) (relating to child abuse recognition and reporting—mandatory training requirement) and who documents to the satisfaction of the Board that the applicant will practice without personal remuneration in approved clinics and meets one of the following:

   (1)  Holds a currently renewed, active, unrestricted license, registration or certificate in this Commonwealth and retires from active practice at the time the applicant applies for a volunteer license.

   (2)  Retires from active practice in this Commonwealth in possession of an unrestricted license which was allowed to lapse by not renewing it.

 (c)  Applications. An applicant for a volunteer license shall complete an application obtained from the Board. In addition to providing information requested by the Board, the applicant shall provide:

   (1)  An executed verification on forms provided by the Board certifying that the applicant intends to practice exclusively as follows:

     (i)   Without personal remuneration for professional services.

     (ii)   In an approved clinic.

   (2)  A letter signed by the director or chief operating officer of an approved clinic that the applicant has been authorized to provide volunteer services in the named clinic by the governing body or responsible officer of the clinic.

   (3)  A certification statement confirming that the applicant has completed at least 3 hours of approved training in child abuse recognition and reporting in accordance with §  16.108(a).

 (d)  Validity of license. A volunteer license shall be valid for the biennial period for which it is issued, subject to biennial renewal. During each biennial renewal period, the volunteer license holder shall notify the Board of any change in clinic or volunteer status within 30 days of the date of a change, or at the time of renewal, whichever occurs first.

 (e)  Renewal of license. A volunteer license shall be renewed biennially on forms provided by the Board. In accordance with section 6(c) or (d) of the Volunteer Health Services Act (35 P.S. §  449.46), a volunteer license holder shall comply with the applicable continuing education requirements, including at least 2 hours of training in approved child abuse recognition and reporting in accordance with §  16.108(b). The applicant shall be exempt from payment of the biennial renewal fee of §  16.13 (relating to licensure, certification, examination and registration fees), and is exempt from the requirements with regard to the maintenance of liability insurance coverage under section 711 of the MCARE Act (40 P.S. §  1303.711) as provided in section 9 of the Volunteer Health Services Act (35 P.S. §  449.49).

 (f)  Return to active practice. A volunteer license holder who desires to return to active practice shall notify the Board and apply for biennial registration on forms provided by the Board.

 (g)  Disciplinary provisions. A volunteer license holder shall be subject to the disciplinary provisions of the act and this chapter. Failure of the licensee to comply with the Volunteer Health Services Act (35 P. S. § §  449.41—449.50) or this section may also constitute grounds for disciplinary action.

Authority

   The provisions of this §  16.18 issued under section 5 of the Volunteer Health Services Act (35 P.S. §  449.45); and section 8 of the Medical Practice Act (63 P.S. §  422.8); amended under section 8 of the Medical Practice Act of 1985 (63 P.S. §  422.8); and 23 Pa.C.S. §  6383(b)(2).

Source

   The provisions of this §  16.18 adopted November 28, 1997, effective November 29, 1997, 27 Pa.B. 6208; amended August 24, 2012, effective August 25, 2012, 42 Pa.B. 5484; amended March 25, 2022, effective March 26, 2022, 52 Pa.B. 1899. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (363452) to (363453).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.