Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 52 Pa.B. 3204 (May 28, 2022).

49 Pa. Code § 21.822. Biennial renewal of certification.

§ 21.822. Biennial renewal of certification.

 (a)  The certification of a CNS will expire at the same time as the CNS’s professional nursing license as provided in §  21.29 (relating to expiration and renewal of license).

 (b)  Notice of application for renewal will be forwarded biennially to each active CNS at the CNS’s address of record with the Board prior to the expiration date of the current biennial period.

 (c)  As a condition of biennial renewal, a CNS shall hold a valid, unexpired and unrestricted professional nursing license.

 (d)  As a condition of biennial renewal, a CNS shall complete a minimum of 30 hours of Board-approved continuing education, in the 2 years prior to renewal as required under section 8.5(c)(2) of the act (63 P.S. §  218.5(c)(2)), unless the requirement is waived by the Board under §  21.823(b) (relating to CNS-level continuing education; waiver; sanctions) or the CNS’s certification is on inactive status. At least 2 of the required 30 hours must be completed in approved training in child abuse recognition and reporting in accordance with §  21.508(b) (relating to child abuse recognition and reporting—mandatory training requirement).

 (e)  The applicant shall remit the required renewal fee in §  21.805 (relating to fees) with the applicant’s renewal application forms. Upon approval of the renewal application, the CNS will receive a certification for the current renewal period.

Authority

   The provisions of this §  21.822 amended under section 2.1(k) of The Professional Nursing Law (63 P.S. §  222.1(k)); section 17.6 of the Practical Nurse Law (63 P.S. §  667.6); and 23 Pa.C.S. §  6383(b)(2).

Source

   The provisions of this §  21.822 amended March 25, 2022, effective March 26, 2022, 52 Pa.B. 1916. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (385264) and (396915).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.