Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 53 Pa.B. 3392 (June 24, 2023).

49 Pa. Code § 25.509a. Requirement of continuing education.

§ 25.509a. Requirement of continuing education.

 (a)  An applicant for biennial renewal or reactivation of licensure is required to complete a minimum of 30 hours of continuing education as set forth in section 10.2(f)(2) of the act (63 P. S. §  271.10b(f)(2)) subject to the following:

   (1)  At least 10 continuing education hours shall be obtained through traditional continuing education such as classroom lecture, clinical presentation, real-time web-cast or other live sessions where a presenter is involved. For nontraditional continuing education such as prerecorded presentations, Internet-based presentations and journal review programs, to qualify for credit, the provider shall make available documented verification of completion of the course or program.

   (2)  One hour must be completed in medical ethics, and 1 hour must be completed in patient safety.

   (3)  Credit will not be given for continuing education in basic life support, including basic cardiac life support and cardiopulmonary resuscitation. In any given biennial renewal period, a licensee may receive credit for no more than 8 continuing education hours in advanced life support, including advanced cardiac life support, neonatal advanced life support/neonatal resuscitation and pediatric advanced life support.

   (4)  A licensee will not receive continuing education credit for participating in a continuing education activity with objectives and content identical to those of another continuing education activity within the same biennial renewal period for which credit was granted.

 (b)  An individual applying for the first time for licensure in this Commonwealth is exempt from completing the continuing education requirements during the initial biennial renewal period in which the license is issued.

 (c)  The Board may waive all or a portion of the requirements of continuing education in cases of serious illness, undue hardship or military service. It shall be the duty of each licensee who seeks a waiver to notify the Board in writing and request the waiver prior to the end of the renewal period. The request must be made in writing, with appropriate documentation, and include a description of circumstances sufficient to show why the licensee is unable to comply with the continuing education requirement. The Board will grant, deny or grant in part the request for waiver and will send the licensee written notification of its approval or denial of the waiver request. A licensee who requests a waiver may not practice as a respiratory therapist after the expiration of the licensee’s current license until the Board grants the waiver request.

 (d)  A licensee shall maintain the information and documentation concerning compliance with the continuing education requirement or the waiver granted for a period of at least 2 years after the end of the biennial renewal period to which the continuing education or waiver applies, the date of completion of the continuing education or grant of the waiver, whichever is latest, and provide the information and documentation to representatives of the Board upon request.


   The provisions of this §  25.509a issued under section 10.2(f) Osteopathic Medical Practice Act (63 P. S. §  271.10b(f); amended under sections 10(f) and (h), 10.1(c), 10.2(f) and 16 of the Osteopathic Medical Practice Act (63 P. S. § §  271.10(f) and (h), 271.10a(c), 271.10b(f) and 271.16).


   The provisions of this §  25.509a adopted November 24, 2006, effective November 25, 2006, 36 Pa.B. 7137; amdended January 31, 2014, effective February 1, 2014, 44 Pa.B. 589. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (324181) and (324182).

Cross References

   This section cited in 49 Pa. Code §  25.509 (relating to renewal of licensure).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.