Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 53 Pa.B. 6142 (September 30, 2023).

49 Pa. Code § 25.910. Professional liability insurance coverage for genetic counselors.

§ 25.910. Professional liability insurance coverage for genetic counselors.

 (a)  A genetic counselor practicing in this Commonwealth shall maintain a level of professional liability insurance coverage in the minimum amount of $1 million per occurrence or claims made as required under section 10.3(k) of the act (63 P.S. §  271.10c(k)).

 (b)  Proof of professional liability insurance coverage may include:

   (1)  A certificate of insurance or copy of the declaration page from the insurance policy setting forth the effective date, expiration date and dollar amounts of coverage. The policy may be personally purchased liability insurance or professional liability insurance coverage provided by the genetic counselor’s employer.

   (2)  Evidence of a plan of self-insurance approved by the Insurance Commissioner of the Commonwealth under regulations of the Insurance Department in 31 Pa. Code Chapter 243 (relating to medical malpractice and health-related self-insurance plans).

 (c)  A license that was issued in reliance upon a letter from the applicant’s insurance carrier indicating that the applicant will be covered against professional liability effective upon the issuance of the applicant’s license as permitted under section 10.3(k)(3) of the act will become inactive as a matter of law 30 days after the date of issuance of the license if the licensee has not provided proof of professional liability insurance coverage and will remain inactive until the licensee provides proof of insurance coverage.

 (d)  A licensee who does not have professional liability insurance coverage as required under section 10.3(k)(1) of the act may not practice as a genetic counselor in this Commonwealth.

Cross References

   This section cited in 49 Pa. Code §  25.903 (relating to application for genetic counselor license); 49 Pa. Code §  25.904 (relating to application for genetic counselor license by noncertified persons); and 49 Pa. Code §  25.906 (relating to biennial renewal of genetic counselor license).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.