Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 52 Pa.B. 6342 (October 1, 2022).

49 Pa. Code § 5.13. Licensure by reciprocity.

§ 5.13. Licensure by reciprocity.

 (a)  An applicant for licensure by reciprocity shall present evidence of the following:

   (1)  Graduation from an approved chiropractic college.

   (2)  A passing score on clinical and written examinations acceptable to the Board, if the applicant graduated from chiropractic college prior to January 1, 1968.

   (3)  Passing scores on the following parts of the National Board Examination:

     (i)   Parts I and II if the applicant graduated from chiropractic college after January 1, 1968.

     (ii)   Parts I, II and III if the applicant graduated from chiropractic college after December 27, 1991, or was first licensed to practice chiropractic after December 27, 1991.

     (iii)   Parts I, II, III and IV if the applicant graduated from chiropractic college after May 23, 1997, or was first licensed to practice chiropractic after May 23, 1997.

   (4)  A current and valid unrestricted license to practice chiropractic obtained by examination in another state or territory of the United States or a province of Canada whose standards for licensure by examination at the time of initial licensure were substantially equivalent to those required under the act and this chapter for licensure at that time and which accepts Pennsylvania licensees for licensure by reciprocity. An applicant who otherwise meets the requirements of this paragraph but whose license is not current satisfies the requirements of this paragraph if the applicant holds a current and valid unrestricted license to practice chiropractic in another state or territory of the United States or a province of Canada whose standards for licensure by examination at the time of initial licensure were substantially equivalent to those required in this Commonwealth at that time and that jurisdiction accepts Pennsylvania licensees for licensure by reciprocity.

   (5)  Having engaged in the active clinical practice of chiropractic under a license in another state or territory of the United States or a province of Canada on a full-time basis for at least 3 years, including at least 20 months of the 2 years immediately preceding the date of application, and including at least 12 months in the jurisdiction that issued the license by examination described in paragraph (4), or the equivalent on a part-time basis.

 (b)  The applicant shall complete an application obtained from the Board detailing the applicant’s education, examinations, licensure and experience, and certifying that the applicant has met the requirements for licensure under the act and this chapter, and return the application and appropriate documentation to the Board with the required fee.

 (c)  An applicant’s verification that the applicant has engaged in the practice of chiropractic as required under subsection (a)(5) will satisfy the requirement that the applicant present evidence of experience.

 (d)  The applicant shall provide proof that the applicant has obtained professional liability insurance in accordance with §  5.41 (relating to certification of professional liability insurance). It is sufficient if the applicant files with the application a copy of a letter from the applicant’s professional liability insurance carrier indicating that the applicant will be covered against professional liability in the required amounts effective upon the issuance of the applicant’s license to practice chiropractic in this Commonwealth. Upon issuance of the license, the licensee has 30 days to submit to the Board the certificate of insurance or copy of the policy declaration page as described in §  5.41. The effective date of this subsection is September 1, 1988.

 (e)  The Board may deny an application for licensure by reciprocity as provided in section 506(a) of the act (63 P. S. §  625.506(a)).

Authority

   The provisions of this §  5.13 issued under section 302 of the Chiropractic Practice Act (63 P. S. §  625.302); amended under sections 302(3) and 504 of the Chiropractic Practice Act (63 P. S. § §  625.302(3) and 625.504).

Source

   The provisions of this §  5.13 adopted December 27, 1991, effective December 28, 1991, 21 Pa.B. 5944; amended August 23, 2013, effective August 24, 2013, 43 Pa.B. 4850. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (339993) to (339994).

Cross References

   This section cited in 49 Pa. Code §  5.17 (relating to biennial registration; unregistered status and inactive status; failure to renew; address of record).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.