Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 51 Pa.B. 6892 (October 30, 2021).

52 Pa. Code § 1021.12. Additional requirements.

§ 1021.12. Additional requirements.

 (a)  Each taxicab driver shall know the rights and limitations of any taxicab used to provide taxicab service, including the geographical limitation of partial-rights taxicabs, if applicable.

 (b)  A taxicab driver may not provide taxicab service beyond the 14th consecutive hour after coming on duty. Time spent on any break from taxicab service does not extend the 14-hour period. A taxicab driver may operate for another 14-hour period only after 8 consecutive hours off duty.

 (c)  A taxicab driver may not provide taxicab service with an expired taxicab driver’s certificate.

 (d)  A taxicab driver may not provide taxicab service without a valid driver’s license.

 (e)  Whenever a taxicab is occupied by a fare-paying passenger or by members of a party of fare-paying passengers who have engaged the taxicab on an exclusive basis, the taxicab driver may not permit another person to occupy or ride in the taxicab.

 (f)  No requirement of this subpart, or any Authority regulation, may be interpreted to disrupt or interfere with interstate commerce exclusively regulated by or preempted by the government of the United States.

 (g)  If a taxicab is equipped with a meter system that utilizes a distress button under §  1017.24(e) (relating to meter activation and display), a taxicab driver may not activate the distress button except when the driver is in need of emergency assistance by law enforcement or other emergency responders.

Authority

   The provisions of this §  1021.12 temporarily amended under 53 Pa.C.S. §  57B02.

Source

   The provisions of this §  1021.12 amended November 13, 2015, effective November 14, 2015, 45 Pa.B. 6596; temporarily amended May 5, 2017, effective February 25, 2017, expire upon promulgation of final-form regulations or on November 5, 2018, whichever is later, as set forth in 53 Pa.C.S. §  57B02(b), 47 Pa.B. 2558. Immediately preceding text appears at serial page (379399).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.