Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 51 Pa.B. 6892 (October 30, 2021).

Pennsylvania Code



Subchapter E. IMPOUNDMENT OF UNAUTHORIZED
VEHICLES


Sec.


30.61.    Police department.
30.62.    Notice to owner and operator.
30.63.    Disposal of unclaimed vehicles.
30.64.    Public sale of unclaimed vehicles and equipment with value.
30.65.    Junking of valueless vehicles.

§ 30.61. Police department.

 Under 66 Pa.C.S. §  2404(g) (relating to certificate and medallion required), police officers in cities of the first class are empowered to confiscate and impound vehicles and equipment utilized to provide unauthorized taxicab service. In exercising this authority, police officers may utilize police department towing equipment facilities or may utilize the equipment, facilities or services of independent tow operators to confiscate, store, impound, sell or junk unauthorized vehicles and equipment, consistent with this subchapter.

§ 30.62. Notice to owner and operator.

 (a)  If the owner or operator of the vehicle is present at the time a vehicle or equipment is confiscated, the owner or operator shall be issued a property receipt which notifies the owner or operator where the vehicle or equipment will be stored and informs the owner or operator of his right to reclaim the vehicle or equipment within 90 days of the date of confiscation upon payment of the costs associated with impoundment and storage and outstanding fines assessed by the city or the Commission against the owner or operator.

 (b)  If the owner or operator of the vehicle is not present at the time of impoundment, within 10 days of confiscation of the vehicle or equipment, the police department will issue a notice to the owner of the vehicle or equipment, as reflected in Department of Transportation vehicle registration records, informing the owner of the location where the vehicle or equipment is being stored and informing the owner of the right to reclaim the vehicle or equipment within 90 days of the date of confiscation upon payment of costs and fines.

 (c)  If the identity of the last registered owner cannot be determined with reasonable certainty from Department of Transportation records, the police department shall have contents of the notice required in subsection (b) published one time in one newspaper of general circulation in the first class city. The notice may contain multiple listings of confiscated vehicles.

§ 30.63. Disposal of unclaimed vehicles.

 If a vehicle or equipment has not been claimed within 90 days of confiscation, the vehicle may be disposed of in accordance with § §  30.64 and 30.65 (relating to public sale of unclaimed vehicles and equipment with value; and junking of valueless vehicles).

§ 30.64. Public sale of unclaimed vehicles and equipment with value.

 (a)  If a confiscated vehicle or equipment having value has not been reclaimed as provided in this subchapter, the vehicle shall be sold at a public auction.

 (b)  The police department or tow operator shall give the purchaser a sales receipt, and as to the vehicle, shall apply to the Department of Transportation for a title which shall be free and clear of previous liens and claims of ownership.

 (c)  From the proceeds of the sale of the confiscated vehicle or equipment the police department or tow operator shall be reimbursed for the costs of towing, storage, notice and publication costs and expenses of auction. The remainder of the proceeds of a sale, if any, shall be held for the owner of the vehicle for 30 days from the date of sale and if not properly claimed, shall then be paid to the Commission and deposited into the First Class City Taxicab Regulatory Fund.

Cross References

   This section cited in 52 Pa. Code §  30.63 (relating to disposal of unclaimed vehicles).

§ 30.65. Junking of valueless vehicles.

 Upon a determination by the police department or tow operator that the unclaimed vehicle or equipment is valueless and in the case of vehicles, upon issuance of a certificate of junk by the Department of Transportation, the Department or tow operator may proceed to junk the unclaimed vehicle or equipment.

Cross References

   This section cited in 52 Pa. Code §  30.63 (relating to disposal of unclaimed vehicles).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.