Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 52 Pa.B. 1354 (February 26, 2022).

52 Pa. Code § 56.152. Contents of the public utility company report.

§ 56.152. Contents of the public utility company report.

 A public utility company report must include the following:

   (1)  A statement of the claim or dispute of the customer and a copy thereof if the claim or notice of dispute was made in writing.

   (2)  The position of the public utility regarding that claim.

   (3)  A statement that service will not be terminated pending completion of the dispute process, including both informal and formal complaints, so long as there is compliance with all requirements of the Commission.

   (4)  A statement that if the complaining party does not agree with the public utility company report, an informal complaint shall be filed with the Commission to ensure the preservation of all of the complaining party’s rights.

   (5)  The office where payment may be made or information obtained listing the appropriate telephone number and address of the public utility.

   (6)  A full and complete explanation of procedures for filing an informal complaint with the Commission (see §  56.162 (relating to informal complaint filing procedures)). If a written report is not requested by the complaining party or is not deemed necessary by the public utility, the public utility shall provide the information in §  56.162(1), (2) and (5). In addition, the public utility shall always provide the telephone number and address of the office of the Commission where an informal complaint may be filed.

   (7)  If the matter in dispute involves a billing dispute, the public utility company report must include the following:

     (i)   An itemized statement of the account of the complaining customer specifying the amount of credit, if any, and the proper amount due.

     (ii)   The date on or after which the account will become delinquent unless a payment arrangement is entered into or an informal complaint is filed with the Commission. This date may not be earlier than the due date of the bill or 15 days after the issuance of a public utility company report, whichever is later.

   (8)  If the matter involves a dispute other than a billing dispute, the public utility company report must also state the following:

     (i)   The action required to be taken to avoid the termination of service.

     (ii)   The date on or after which service will be terminated in accordance with the applicable requirements unless the report is complied with, or a payment arrangement entered into or an informal complaint filed. This date may not be earlier than the original date for compliance with the matter which gave rise to the dispute or 10 days from the date of issuance of the public utility company report, whichever is later. If the public utility company report is in writing, the information in this paragraph must be prominently displayed.

Authority

   The provisions of this §  56.152 amended under the Public Utility Code, 66 Pa.C.S. § §  331, 501, 504—506, 1301, 1305, 1401—1419, 1501, 1504 and 1509.

Source

   The provisions of this §  56.152 adopted June 16, 1978, effective June 17, 1978, 8 Pa.B. 1655; amended April 8, 1983, effective April 9, 1983, 13 Pa.B. 1250; amended July 17, 1998, effective August 17, 1998, 28 Pa.B. 3379; amended October 7, 2011, effective October 8, 2011, 41 Pa.B. 5473; amended May 31, 2019, effective June 1, 2019, 49 Pa.B. 2815. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (367185) to (367186).

Cross References

   This section cited in 52 Pa. Code §  56.100 (relating to winter termination procedures); 52 Pa. Code §  56.114 (relating to length of postponement; renewals); 52 Pa. Code §  56.118 (relating to right of public utility to petition the Commission); 52 Pa. Code §  56.151 (relating to general rule); 52 Pa. Code §  57.177 (relating to customer dispute procedures); 52 Pa. Code §  59.97 (relating to customer dispute procedures); 52 Pa. Code §  69.265 (relating to CAP design elements); and 52 Pa. Code §  111.13 (relating to customer complaints).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.