Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 52 Pa.B. 1354 (February 26, 2022).

52 Pa. Code § 56.421. Payment and timing.

§ 56.421. Payment and timing.

 When service to a dwelling has been terminated, the public utility shall reconnect service within 24 hours after receiving one of the following:

   (1)  Full payment of an outstanding charge plus the reconnection fee specified in the public utility’s tariff on file with the Commission. Outstanding charges and the reconnection fee may be amortized over a reasonable period of time. Factors to be taken into account include, but are not limited to:

     (i)   The size of the unpaid balance.

     (ii)   The ability of the customer to pay.

     (iii)   The payment history of the customer.

     (iv)   The length of time over which the bill accumulated.

   (2)  Payment of amounts currently due according to a payment agreement, plus a reasonable reconnection fee, which may be a part of the payment agreement. The public utility may apply the procedure in paragraph (1), if the payment history indicates that the customer has defaulted on at least two payment agreements, an informal complaint decision or a formal complaint order. For purposes of this section, neither an amortization of a make-up bill under §  56.264 (relating to previously unbilled public utility service) or the definition of ‘‘billing month’’ in §  56.252 (relating to definitions) nor a payment agreement that has been paid in full by the customer, are to be considered defaults. Budget billing plans and amortization of budget plan reconciliation amounts under §  56.262(8) (relating to meter reading; estimated billing; customer readings) may not be considered defaults for the purposes of this section.

   (3)  Adequate assurances that any unauthorized use or practice will cease, plus full payment of the reasonable reconnection fee of the public utility, which may be subject to a payment agreement and compliance or adequate assurance of compliance with an applicable provision for the establishment of credit or the posting of deposits or guarantees.

   (4)  Service shall be restored within 24 hours for erroneous terminations or upon receipt by the public utility of a valid medical certification. Erroneous terminations include instances when the grounds for termination were removed by the customer paying the amount needed to avoid termination prior to the termination of the service.

   (5)  Service shall be restored within 24 hours for terminations and reconnections occurring after November 30 and before April 1.

   (6)  A customer or applicant of a city natural gas distribution operation whose household income does not exceed 135% of the Federal poverty level shall be reinstated under this section only if the customer or applicant enrolls in the customer assistance program of the city natural gas distribution operation. This requirement may not apply if the financial benefits to the customer or applicant are greater if served outside of that assistance program.

   (7)  A public utility shall provide for and inform the applicant or customer of a location where the customer may make payment to restore service. A public utility shall inform the applicant or customer that conditions for restoration of service may differ if someone in the household is a victim of domestic violence with a protection from abuse order or a court order issued by a court of competent jurisdiction in this Commonwealth which provides clear evidence of domestic violence, or is seriously ill or affected by a medical condition which will be aggravated without public utility service.

Authority

   The provisions of this §  56.421 amended under the Public Utility Code, 66 Pa.C.S. § §  501, 1301, 1401—1419, 1501 and 1509.

Source

   The provisions of this §  56.421 amended May 31, 2019, effective June 1, 2019, 49 Pa.B. 2815. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (359066) to (359067).

Cross References

   This section cited in 52 Pa. Code §  56.351 (relating to general provision); 52 Pa. Code §  56.355 (relating to restoration of service); 52 Pa. Code §  56.373 (relating to time for filing an informal complaint); and 52 Pa. Code §  56.422 (relating to personnel available to restore service).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.