Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 51 Pa.B. 1768 (March 27, 2021).

55 Pa. Code § 2380.113. Staff physical examination.

§ 2380.113. Staff physical examination.

 (a)  A staff person who comes into direct contact with the individuals or who prepares or serves food, for more than 5 days in a 6-month period, including temporary, substitute and volunteer staff persons, shall have a physical examination within 12 months prior to employment and every 2 years thereafter.

 (b)  The physical examination shall be completed, signed and dated by a licensed physician, certified nurse practitioner or certified physician’s assistant.

 (c)  The physical examination shall include:

   (1)  A general physical examination.

   (2)  Tuberculin skin testing with negative results every 2 years; or, if the tuberculin skin test is positive, an initial chest X-ray with results noted. Tuberculin skin testing may be completed and certified in writing by a registered nurse or a licensed practical nurse instead of a licensed physician, certified nurse practitioner or certified physician’s assistant.

   (3)  A signed statement that the person is free of serious communicable diseases as defined in 28 Pa. Code §  27.2 (relating to specific identified reportable diseases, infections and conditions) to the extent that confidentiality laws permit reporting, or that the person has a serious communicable disease as defined in §  27.2 to the extent that confidentiality laws permit reporting, but is able to work in the facility if specific precautions are taken that will prevent spread of disease to individuals.

   (4)  Information of medical problems which might interfere with the safety or health of the individuals.

Source

   The provisions of this §  2380.113 adopted January 15, 1993, effective January 16, 1993, 23 Pa.B. 343.



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.