Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 52 Pa.B. 8372 (December 31, 2022).

55 Pa. Code § 2600.130. Smoke detectors and fire alarms.

§ 2600.130. Smoke detectors and fire alarms.

 (a)  There shall be an operable automatic smoke detector located within 15 feet of each bedroom door.

 (b)  The smoke detectors specified in subsection (a) shall be located in hallways.

 (c)  Smoke detectors and fire alarms must be of a type approved by the Department of Labor and Industry, the appropriate local building authority or local fire safety expert, or listed by Underwriters Laboratories.

 (d)  If the home serves nine or more residents, there shall be at least one smoke detector on each floor interconnected and audible throughout the home or an automatic fire alarm system that is interconnected and audible throughout the home.

 (e)  If one or more residents or staff persons are not able to hear the smoke detector or fire alarm system, a signaling device approved by a fire safety expert shall be used and tested so that each resident and staff person with a hearing impairment will be alerted in the event of a fire.

 (f)  Smoke detectors and fire alarms shall be tested for operability at least once per month. A written record of the monthly testing shall be kept.

 (g)  If a smoke detector or fire alarm becomes inoperative, repair shall be completed within 48 hours of the time the detector or alarm was found to be inoperative.

 (h)  The home’s emergency procedures shall indicate the procedures that will be immediately implemented until the smoke detector or fire alarms are operable.

 (i)  In homes housing five or more residents with mobility needs, the fire alarm system shall be directly connected to the local fire department or 24-hour monitoring service approved by the local fire department, if this service is available in the community.

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.