Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 52 Pa.B. 6828 (October 29, 2022).

55 Pa. Code § 2600.253. Record retention and disposal.

§ 2600.253. Record retention and disposal.

 (a)  The resident’s entire record shall be maintained for a minimum of 3 years following the resident’s discharge from the home or until any audit or litigation is resolved.

 (b)  Records shall be destroyed in a manner that protects confidentiality.

 (c)  The home shall keep a log of resident records destroyed on or after October 24, 2005. This log must include the resident’s name, record number, birth date, admission date and discharge date.

 (d)  Records required under this chapter that are not part of the resident records shall be kept for a minimum of 3 years or until any audit or litigation is resolved.

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.