Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 52 Pa.B. 6342 (October 1, 2022).

55 Pa. Code § 2600.262. Penalties.

§ 2600.262. Penalties.

 (a)  The Department will assess a penalty for each violation of this chapter.

 (b)  Penalties will be assessed on a daily basis from the date on which the citation was issued until the date the violation is corrected, except in the case of Class II and Class III violations.

 (c)  In the case of a Class II violation, assessment of the penalty will be suspended for 5 days from the date of citation to permit sufficient time for the home to correct the violation. If the home fails to provide proof of correction of the violation to the Department within the 5-day period, the fine will be retroactive to the date of citation. The Department may extend the time period for good cause.

 (d)  The Department will assess a penalty of $20 per resident per day for each Class I violation. Each Class I violation shall be corrected within 24 hours.

 (e)  The Department will assess a minimum penalty of $5 per resident per day, up to a maximum penalty of $15 per resident per day, for each Class II violation.

 (f)  There is no monetary penalty for Class III violations unless the home fails to correct the violation within 15 days. Failure to correct a Class III violation within the 15-day period may result in a penalty assessment of up to $3 per resident per day for each Class III violation retroactive to the date of the citation.

 (g)  If a home is found to be operating without a license, a penalty of $500 will be assessed. After 14 days, if the home operator cited for operating without a license fails to file an application for a license, the Department will assess an additional $20 for each resident for each day during which the home operator fails to apply.

 (h)  A home charged with a violation of this chapter or Chapter 20 (relating to licensure or approval of facilities and agencies) has 30 days to pay the assessed penalty in full.

Cross References

   This section cited in 55 Pa. Code §  2600.266 (relating to revocation or renewal of licenses).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.