Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 53 Pa.B. 3392 (June 24, 2023).

55 Pa. Code § 3041.43. Work, education and training.

§ 3041.43. Work, education and training.

 (a)  The parent or caretaker shall work at least 20 hours per week. The eligibility agency shall average a parent’s or caretaker’s work hours in cases where hours of work vary from week to week.

 (b)  The work-hour requirement specified in subsection (a) is met under the following circumstances:

   (1)  A parent or caretaker under 22 years of age and attending high school.

   (2)  A parent or caretaker under 18 years of age, does not have a high school or general educational development diploma, but is enrolled in and attending education on a full-time basis.

   (3)  A parent or caretaker attends training and works at least 10 hours per week. The time spent in training counts toward the 20 hour per week work requirement.

 (c)  A parent or caretaker who misses work, education or training shall remain eligible for subsidy if the parent or caretaker is currently scheduled to work or participate in education or training for an average of 20 hours or more per week and one of the following applies:

   (1)  The parent or caretaker has an illness or injury.

   (2)  The parent or caretaker has a medical appointment that cannot reasonably be scheduled at a time that does not conflict with work hours.

   (3)  The parent’s or caretaker’s employer is closed.

   (4)  The parent or caretaker verifies domestic violence.

   (5)  The parent or caretaker has an emergency, such as:

     (i)   Illness, injury or impairment of the child that precludes the child from attending child care.

     (ii)   Illness, injury or impairment of a family member that requires the parent or caretaker to miss work to provide care.

Cross References

   This section cited in 55 Pa. Code §  3041.51 (relating to Head Start expansion program); 55 Pa. Code §  3041.91 (relating to general domestic violence waiver requirements); and 55 Pa. Code §  3041.142 (relating to general requirements for former TANF families).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.