Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 52 Pa.B. 4384 (July 30, 2022).

55 Pa. Code § 6400.208. Physical restraint.

§ 6400.208. Physical restraint.

 (a)  A physical restraint, defined as a manual method that restricts, immobilizes or reduces an individual’s ability to move the individual’s arms, legs, head or other body parts freely, may only be used in the case of an emergency to prevent an individual from immediate physical harm to the individual or others.

 (b)  Verbal redirection, physical prompts, escorting and guiding an individual are permitted.

 (c)  A prone position physical restraint is prohibited.

 (d)  A physical restraint that inhibits digestion or respiration, inflicts pain, causes embarrassment or humiliation, causes hyperextension of joints, applies pressure on the chest or joints or allows for a free fall to the floor is prohibited.

 (e)  A physical restraint may not be used for more than 30 cumulative minutes within a 2-hour period.

Authority

   The provisions of this §  6400.208 issued under sections 201(2), 403(b), 403.1(a) and (b), 911 and 1021 of the Human Services Code (62 P.S. § §  201(2), 403(b), 403.1(a) and (b), 911 and 1021); and section 201(2) of the Mental Health and Intellectual Disability Act of 1966 (50 P.S. §  4201(2)).

Source

   The provisions of this §  6400.208 adopted October 4, 2019, effective in 120 days, 49 Pa.B. 5777.



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.