Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 54 Pa.B. 2336 (April 27, 2024).

58 Pa. Code § 163.102. Certification of registration and identification.

§ 163.102. Certification of registration and identification.

 A horse may not be allowed to start unless a Jockey Club registration certificate is on file in the office of the horse identifier and the horse has been lip tattooed. If an error or omission on the foal certificate of a horse entered to race which precludes tattooing pending correction or completion of the certificate, the horse may be permitted to run without a tattoo for no longer than a single 30-day grace period. Before the horse is allowed to run during the 30-day grace period, the error or omission shall be noted on a photostatic copy of the certificate and attested to by the stewards and the horse identifier and a complete and attested copy of the certificate shall be retained at the track and filed with the Commission field office where the horse is running, and the correction of the certificate by the Jockey Club has been applied for before or at least at the time of the race, and the horse is identified to the complete satisfaction of the stewards. Only a single grace period is allowed for a horse entered for racing in this Commonwealth.


   The provisions of this §  163.102 amended April 14, 1978, effective April 15, 1978, 8 Pa.B. 1113.

Cross References

   This section cited in 58 Pa. Code §  165.216 (relating to illegal entries).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.