Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 54 Pa.B. 2336 (April 27, 2024).

58 Pa. Code § 163.190. Weight allowances in overnight races.

§ 163.190. Weight allowances in overnight races.

 (a)  A certified apprentice jockey may claim the following weight allowances in all overnight races except stakes and handicaps:

   (1)  A 10 pound allowance beginning with the first mount and continuing until the apprentice has ridden five winners.

   (2)  A 7 pound allowance until the apprentice has ridden an additional 35 winners.

   (3)  If an apprentice has ridden a total of 40 winners prior to the end of 1 year from the date of riding the fifth winning mount, the apprentice jockey may claim an allowance of 5 pounds until 1 year from the date of the fifth winning mount.

 (b)  If after 1 year from the date of the fifth winning mount the apprentice jockey has not ridden 40 winners, the applicable weight allowance shall continue for 1 additional year or until the 40th winner, whichever comes first. A weight allowance may not be claimed for more than 2 years from the date of the fifth winning mount, unless an extension has been granted under this section.

 (c)  A contracted apprentice may claim an allowance of 3 pounds for an additional year when riding horses owned or trained by the original contract employer. The holder of the contract at the time the apprentice rides the fifth winner shall be considered the original contract employer.


   The provisions of this §  163.190 amended under section 202(a) of the Race Horse Industry Reform Act (4 P. S. §  325.202(a)).


   The provisions of this §  163.190 amended October 21, 1977, effective October 22, 1977, 7 Pa.B. 3128; amended November 7,1997, effective November 8, 1997, 27 Pa.B. 5780. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (144495) to (144496).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.