Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 51 Pa.B. 1118 (February 27, 2021).

58 Pa. Code § 97.3. Sound producing devices.

§ 97.3. Sound producing devices.

 (a)  Motorboats 12 meters or more in length. A motorboat 12 meters (39.4 feet) or more in length shall carry sound producing devices as prescribed by 33 CFR Part 83 (relating to rules).

 (b)  Motorboats less than 12 meters. A motorboat less than 12 meters (39.4 feet) in length shall carry some mechanical means of making a sound signal. This device may be hand, mouth or power operated. An athletic coach’s whistle is an acceptable sound producing device for small motorboats.

 (c)  Unpowered boats. Unpowered boat operators are required to carry a device capable of sounding a prolonged blast for 4-6 seconds that can be heard by another boat operator in time to avoid a collision. An athletic coach’s whistle is an acceptable sound producing device for unpowered boats. It is unlawful to use a sound producing device on the water under any circumstance except in the following situations:

   (1)  Assistance is needed because of immediate or potential danger to the persons onboard.

   (2)  It is necessary to attract the attention of another boat.

 (d)  Device accessibility. Sound signaling devices shall be readily accessible to the operator of the boat.

Authority

   The provisions of this §  97.3 amended under the Fish and Boat Code, 30 Pa.C.S. §  5123; and section 506 of The Administrative Code of 1929 (71 P. S. §  186).

Source

   The provisions of this §  97.3 amended February 4, 1983, effective January 1, 1983, 13 Pa.B. 619; amended June 28, 1991, effective June 29, 1991, 21 Pa.B. 2894; amended June 3, 1994, effective June 4, 1994, 24 Pa.B. 2795; amended September 29, 2000, effective September 30, 2000, 30 Pa.B. 5013; amended December 30, 2011, effective December 31, 2011, 41 Pa.B. 6968; amended April 3, 2015, effective April 4, 2015, 45 Pa.B. 1616. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (360047) to (360048).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.