Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 52 Pa.B. 2550 (April 23, 2022).

67 Pa. Code § 177.408. Certified emission inspectors.

§ 177.408. Certified emission inspectors.

 (a)  General rule. Personnel who perform emission inspections at each emission inspection station will be certified by the Department as emission inspectors. The emission inspection shall be completely performed by certified emission inspectors with a valid driver’s license.

 (b)  Multiple stations. A certified emission inspector may work at more than one emission inspection station.

 (c)  Certified emission inspector requirements. An inspector desiring to be certified to perform emission inspections shall:

   (1)  Be 18 years of age or older.

   (2)  Possess a valid Pennsylvania driver license.

   (3)  Have done the following:

     (i)   Completed an emission inspection training course, approved by the Department, that included, where applicable, information on the following:

       (A)   The air pollution problem, including its cause and effects.

       (B)   The purpose, function and goal of the inspection program.

       (C)   Emission inspection regulations and procedures of the Commonwealth.

       (D)   Technical details of the test procedures and the rationale for their design.

       (E)   Emission control device function, configuration and inspection.

       (F)   Test equipment operation, calibration and maintenance.

       (G)   Quality control procedures and their purpose.

       (H)   Public relations.

       (I)   Safety and health issues related to the inspection process.

     (ii)   Passed a required written test with a minimum of 80% correct test responses.

     (iii)   Proved, through means of a computer-based training/testing (CBT) or other Department approved procedure under supervision of a certified educational instructor or other qualified Commonwealth employee or agent, the ability to perform a complete emission inspection, to properly utilize test equipment and to follow other required test procedures as prescribed in § §  177.202, 177.202a, 177.202b, 177.203, 177.271 and 177.272, as applicable. The inability to properly conduct the test procedures shall constitute grounds for refusal of certification.

   (4)  Complete a refresher training course, under procedures established by the Department and pass the required test every 2 years.

 (d)  Identification. While conducting inspections, a certified emission inspector shall have in his possession a currently valid inspector emission inspection certification card issued by the Department.

 (e)  Names of inspectors. The names of certified emission inspectors and their inspector certification numbers shall be placed on the Current List of Certified Emission Inspectors form which shall be posted in a conspicuous location at the emission inspection station.

 (f)  Number of inspections. The number of inspections performed by a certified emission inspector may not exceed more than 12 subject vehicles per hour for the one or two-speed idle emission inspection, 6 inspections per hour utilizing ASM test equipment and procedures, or 12 OBD-I/M checks per hour.

Source

   The provisions of this §  177.408 amended November 21, 2003, effective November 22, 2003, 33 Pa.B. 5706. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (235288) to (235290).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.