Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 51 Pa.B. 6892 (October 30, 2021).

67 Pa. Code § 82.8. Other reports.

§ 82.8. Other reports.

 (a)  Reports. In addition to physician reports, the Medical Unit annually receives approximately 2,000 police reports, 500 accident reports and 500 reports from concerned family members regarding individuals who may have a medical condition that affects the individual’s ability to drive.

 (b)  Evaluation.

   (1)  These reports are also evaluated on a case by case basis. The Medical Unit carefully scrutinizes these reports for validity.

   (2)  To investigate the validity of the report, the Medical Unit frequently contacts the source of the report by the telephone, especially in the case of reports from family members, to ask for more information or to discuss the case to determine validity. When the report is from a friend or neighbor, additional precautions are taken. The Medical Unit recognizes that while some reports that come from these individuals are made out of legitimate concern, others may be the result of malice. Neighbors occasionally have disagreements that result in animosity and hostility. On the other hand, for those individuals with no family, neighbors are often the primary caregiver. The Medical Unit takes every possible safeguard to ensure that these reports are legitimate.

 (c)  Legitimate concern determined. If the Medical Unit determines that the report reflects a legitimate concern regarding a medical condition that affects the ability to drive safely, the Medical Unit requires the driver to have a physician complete additional medical examination forms or the driver may be required to complete a driver’s examination. Under no circumstances does this type of report result in the automatic recall of the driving privilege.

 (d)  Example. For example, when a report is received from a daughter stating that she has noticed her mother’s attention wandering and has seen her appear to lose awareness of her surroundings, the Medical Unit contacts the daughter to discuss her observations with her. At that time, the Medical Unit discovers that the daughter is concerned because her mother has had several unreported accidents in the last 6 months and feels that she may be an unsafe driver.

 (e)  Additional examination forms or driver’s exam. If the report is determined to be valid, the driver is required to have a physician complete additional medical examination forms or the driver may be required to complete a driver’s examination.

 (f)  Failure to respond. If the driver does not respond to the Department’s examination requirement within 30 days, the driver is sent a notice of suspension for not complying with this requirement. This suspension is for an indefinite period of time until the driver complies with the Department’s requirement. This suspension may be avoided or restored upon receipt of the requested information.

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.