Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 54 Pa.B. 2336 (April 27, 2024).

70 Pa. Code § 110.2. State Metrology Laboratory fee schedule.

§ 110.2. State Metrology Laboratory fee schedule.

 (a)  General. The State Metrology Laboratory shall charge a fee for any testing services it provides under authority of the act. These services include actual metrology laboratory calibration, type evaluation and any other services identified in subsection (c).

 (b)  Exemptions.

   (1)  Agencies of the Commonwealth are exempt from having to pay any of the fees established in this section.

   (2)  A city or county which is required to procure standards of weights and measures and additional equipment in accordance with section 4123 of the act (relating to city and county standards and equipment) to enforce the act is exempt from having to pay fees with respect to the calibration, evaluation or other testing of those standards and that equipment.

 (c)  Schedule of fees. The State Metrology Laboratory shall charge the following fees for the indicated calibration services:

   

General type of test Description Fee
Precision mass ASTM or OIML Class weights calibrated by use of the Mass Code 50 lb to 0.001 lb, 30 kg to 1 mg $75 per man-hour
Precision mass ASTM Class 1, 2, 3, 4 OIML Class E2, F1, F2 or best calibration not to a specific class 1000 lb to 0.001 lb 30 kg to 1 mg $65 per weight
Ordinary mass, Small NIST Class F ASTM 5, 6, 7 OIML M1, M1-2, M2, M2-3, M3 10 lb to 0.001 lb 5 kg to 1 mg $20 per weight (without adjustment) $40 per weight (with adjustment)
Ordinary mass, Medium NIST Class F ASTM 5, 6, 7 OIML M1, M1-2, M2, M2-3, M3 100 lb to ›10 lb 50 kg to ›5 kg$20 per weight (without adjustment) $40 per weight (with adjustment)
Ordinary mass, Large NIST Class F ASTM 5, 6, 7 OIML M1, M1-2, M2, M2-3, M3 6,000 lb to ›100 lb 2,500 kg to ›50 kg$45 per weight (without adjustment) $70 per weight (with adjustment)
Ordinary mass Weight Carts 2,000 lb to 6,000 lb$315 per cart
Volume transfer Test Measures 5 gallon 5 liter to 20 liter$120 per measure (includes adjustment)
Volume transfer Provers 10 gallon to 100 gallon 40 liter to 378 liter$440 per prover (includes adjustment)
Volume transfer Provers 101 gallon to 1,500 gallon 379 liter to 5,000 liter$440 plus $1 per each additional gallon over 100 gallon (includes adjustment)
Gravimetric Calibrations Test Measures 1 gallon to 10 gallon 5 liter to 20 liter$825 per item
Gravimetric Calibrations Provers 11 gallon to 130 gallon 21 liter to 500 liter$1,640 per item
Length Calibrations Metal Tapes to 200 feet $40 per point tested
Timing Devices Stopwatches to 24 hours $70 per item
Wheel Load Weighers NIST Handbook 44 Class IIII Scales to 20,000 lb $70 per scale
Force Gauges to 50 lbf $180 per gauge
Special Tests $75 per man-hour

 (d)  Payment of fees. A nonrefundable deposit for the estimated fee shall be submitted when the calibration request is made. Fees are payable at the time the metrology service is provided, regardless of whether the item calibrated is certified or approved.

Authority

   The provisions of this §  110.2 amended under the Consolidated Weights and Measures Act, 3 Pa.C.S. § §  4101—4194.

Source

   The provisions of this §  110.2 amended December 24, 2010, effective December 25, 2010, 40 Pa.B. 7366; amended August 20, 2021, effective August 21, 2021, 51 Pa.B. 5248. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (354833) to (354834).

Cross References

   This section cited in 70 Pa. Code §  10.10 (relating to fees).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.