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RULES AND REGULATIONS

Title 49—PROFESSIONAL
AND VOCATIONAL
STANDARDS

STATE BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPY
[ 49 PA. CODE CH. 20]
Massage Therapy

The State Board of Massage Therapy (Board) adopts
§§ 20.1—20.54 to effectuate the Massage Therapy Law
(act) (63 P. S. §§ 627.1—627.50).

Effective Date

The final-form rulemaking will be effective upon publi-
cation in the Pennsylvania Bulletin. The Board will
publish applications for licensure on its web site after the
final-form rulemaking has been approved by the Office of
Attorney General; however, applications will not be pro-
cessed until the final-form rulemaking is published in the
Pennsylvania Bulletin.

Statutory Authority

Sections 4(2) and 50 of the act (63 P. S. §§ 627.4(2) and
627.50) require the Board to promulgate regulations to
effectuate the act.

Summary of Comments and the Board’s Response

The Board received comments from Elite Continuing
Education, Ormond Beach, Florida, a company that offers
both correspondence and classroom education throughout
the United States. The company urged the Board to
permit its licensees to complete up to 12 hours of the 24
hours of required continuing education biennially through
correspondence courses. The company provided informa-
tion regarding the continuing education requirements in
other states and the number of hours that other states
permit licensees to complete through online or other
distance education modalities. The company also sug-
gested that the Board consider contracting with a com-
pany that tracks continuing education hours and require
continuing education providers to report licensee hours to
the company, a process used in Florida, which would
enable the Board to audit 100% of its licensees.

The American Massage Therapy Association (AMTA)
also suggested that the Board increase the number of
hours of continuing education that a licensee could earn
from distance education. Because of the nature of the
practice of massage therapy, the Board believes the
majority of licensees’ ongoing education should be ob-
tained from sources where the instructor is in the room
and able to observe the licensee and provide feedback. In
response to the comments, the Board increased the
number of hours that may be earned from distance
education sources from 6 to 8 hours. The Board has
rewritten the provision to require that licensees complete
at least 16 contact hours of continuing education, as the
Board has already defined contact hour to mean in the
physical presence of the instructor.

An individual in Pittsburgh suggested that the require-
ment that massage linens be washed with bleach is
unnecessary, bad for the environment and destructive of
the sheets and that washing in hot water with appropri-
ate detergent is more than sufficient. Given that massage

linens are used on unclothed persons, the Board believes
that linens should be washed with bleach to ensure that
any microbes transferred to the linens are killed.

The Pennsylvania Association of Private School Admin-
istrators (PAPSA) sent numerous comments. PAPSA
stated that other Board licensees are provided verification
of license for free and asked if the Board could do the
same. The licensees of the Board will be provided the
same verification services as are licensees of other boards
within the Bureau of Professional and Occupational Af-
fairs (BPOA). State board licensees are listed on the
searchable web site www.licensepa.state.pa.us. A fee is
not charged to access this web site. The fee for license
verification in § 20.3 (relating to fees) is the fee charged
for formal verification by the Board office, which is sent
on Board letterhead. This verification is generally re-
quired when a licensee seeks to obtain licensure by
reciprocity to another state. If the other state is satisfied
with verifying the license through the web site, the
licensee will not need to obtain verification from the
Board office or pay the fee for license verification.

Regarding § 20.12 (relating to information that must
be provided to prospective students), PAPSA stated that
schools accredited by the National Accrediting Commis-
sion of Cosmetology Arts and Sciences are required to
provide an overall licensure pass rate to students for
programs at the school and that those schools will then
have to provide a separate licensure pass rate only for
their massage therapy programs. PAPSA expressed con-
cern that this could be confusing to students. Schools that
are licensed by the State Board of Private Licensed
Schools and approved to offer training in massage
therapy will be required to report the pass rate of
graduates from the massage therapy training program on
the massage therapy licensure examinations. The Board
does not believe that students will be confused if the
school also reports its overall pass rate on other examina-
tions.

Regarding § 20.13 (relating to required knowledge
base), PAPSA next noted that there were online sites that
offer Nationally-recognized CPR courses that lead to a
certificate. PAPSA suggested that online CPR course
should not be accepted because of their brief duration and
lack of supervised practice. The Board agrees that CPR
courses should be taken from sources where there is an
instructor present to correct a licensee’s technique. The
Board added language to § 20.13 to clarify its intent. In
addition, the Board notes that it will place on its web site
the list of approved CPR courses and will not allow
distance education for CPR training.

Regarding § 20.14(b) (relating to student practice),
PAPSA noted that some school administrators expressed
concerns about the schools’ liability that might arise from
assigning homework to massage family and friends under
indirect supervision. This subsection does not require
schools to assign the performance of massage tasks as
homework. Schools that have this concern do not have to
assign massage tasks for homework.

PAPSA asked for clarification regarding § 20.14(f),
which requires a school to maintain records for services
provided by students for 3 years. The 3-year period would
begin at the last date of service. The Board added
language to clarify its intent.

Regarding § 20.21(c) (relating to application for tempo-
rary practice permit, initial licensure and licensure by
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reciprocity), PAPSA asked whether associate degree stu-
dents would be able to obtain licensure after completing
600 hours even though they still have a minimum of an
additional 900 hours to complete to obtain their degree.
The act requires that an individual complete a massage
therapy program of at least 600 hours to be eligible for
licensure. A student in a program of more than 600 hours
would only be eligible for licensure if the school provided
documentation that the student had completed the
school’s massage therapy program.

Regarding § 20.21(d)(3), PAPSA noted that massage
therapy students were concerned that they might be
unable to obtain a license because they were arrested or
charged with a crime, although they were not convicted.
PAPSA opined that the regulations extended the barrier
to licensure for individuals who have been arrested or
charged. PAPSA suggested that the provision should be
changed to apply only to convictions and that the Board
should provide guidelines for the review process of a
conviction to help schools determine if a prospective
student will be able to secure a license upon graduation.
The act authorizes the Board to deny licensure only to
individuals who have been convicted. The regulations do
not expand the Board’s authority. The act does not
restrict the Board from obtaining information relevant to
its mission of protecting the public. Obtaining this infor-
mation from applicants will allow the Board to monitor
the criminal process to ensure that it can take appropri-
ate action if a licensee is convicted of a crime. The Board
will limit the information that must be disclosed to
criminal charges that have been filed. In addition, the
Board will provide an explanation on its web site regard-
ing its review of applicants with criminal records.

Regarding § 20.24 (relating to application requirements
for existing practitioners), PAPSA asked whether appli-
cants under section 5(b) of the act (63 P.S. § 627.5)
would need to provide proof of CPR, submit a background
check and provide proof of high school graduation or
equivalent with their initial application. These applicants
will be required to provide this information and any other
information on the application form. Section 20.24(a)
requires existing practitioner applicants to submit the
information required under § 20.21(b), (¢) and (d), which
includes, in subsection (b)(1)—(4), a legal form of identifi-
cation, a criminal history record information, CPR certifi-
cation and proof of graduation from high school.

Regarding § 20.26(e) (relating to application require-
ments for temporary practice permits), PAPSA questioned
the prohibition on temporary practice permit holders
advertising their practice, holding themselves out as
licensed massage therapists or using the initials L.M.T.
PAPSA stated that a student could not build a practice
and become gainfully employed if the student cannot
market himself as a licensed massage therapist. Section 2
of the act (63 P.S. § 627.2) clearly defines a “massage
therapist” as an individual who has been granted
licensure by the Board. Neither students nor temporary
practice permit holders have been granted licensure;
therefore, neither students nor temporary practice permit
holders may hold themselves out as licensed massage
therapists or may advertise that they hold a license when
they do not. Moreover, § 20.14 limits student practice.
The normal process for a massage therapy student to
obtain licensure should be quite short. The National
Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Body-
work (NCBTMB) and the Federation of State Massage
Therapy Boards (FSMTB) report test scores to the Board
electronically and the Board can obtain test results on a
daily basis. Therefore, a student who tests promptly after

completing an educational program could obtain licensure
within a matter of a few weeks.

Regarding § 20.33 (relating to continuing education
content and providers), PAPSA asked whether at least 6
hours of pedagogical technique be counted towards meet-
ing the continuing education requirement for massage
therapy faculty. The act specifies that continuing educa-
tion develop the skills as a massage therapist, not as a
teacher. Therefore, massage therapy faculty will be re-
quired to take continuing education courses regarding
massage therapy techniques, not teaching techniques.

PAPSA asked whether § 20.51(3) (relating to massage
therapy treatment areas), which requires that massage
therapy treatment areas provide “illumination for clean-
ing,” was a necessary provision. This paragraph requires
that the illumination be adequate for the purpose of
cleaning, meaning bright enough to determine areas that
might need cleaning, which is a level of brightness not
generally used in a treatment area during treatment.

The Pennsylvania Physical Therapy Association (PPTA)
provided comments to the Board. PPTA stated its concern
with § 20.41 (relating to scope of practice), specifically
objecting to the list of soft tissue manifestations and the
use of the words “treat” and “treatment.” PPTA also
objected to the Board’s use of the term “therapeutic
massage techniques.” PPTA suggested that the term
should be replaced with “massage therapy techniques.”
PPTA suggested that the Board provide a definition of the
term “treatment plan.” Regarding § 20.26, PPTA indi-
cated confusion with what level of services an individual
with a temporary practice permit was authorized to
perform and suggested the Board further define the level
of supervision required. Finally, regarding § 20.34 (relat-
ing to penalty for failure to complete continuing educa-
tion), PPTA questioned whether an individual who had
failed to complete required continuing education could
practice on an expired license.

The Board received similar comments from the Insur-
ance Federation of Pennsylvania (IFP) opposing proposed
§ 20.41, which IFP viewed as overly broad and vague.
IFP suggested using “tonic relief” to describe the “level of
treatment” to be achieved by massage therapy. IFP also
suggested that the Board include the statutory limitation
from section 17 of the act (63 P.S. § 627.17), which
provides that licensure of massage therapists does not
mandate insurance companies to provide new coverage for
massage therapy services.

Representatives from PPTA and IFP did not attend the
publicly announced meetings of the Board on June 29 and
30 and July 7, when the Board discussed these comments
and its responses. The Board thoroughly addressed the
comments from PPTA and IFP in this preamble, and, on
September 15, 2010, delivered the final rulemaking and
other regulatory documents to the House Professional
Licensure Committee (HPLC), the Senate Consumer Pro-
tection and Professional Licensure Committee (SCP/PLC)
and the Independent Regulatory Review Commission
(IRRC). On that same date, the Board advised commenta-
tors that the final rulemaking package had been delivered
and directed commentators to IRRC’s web site to view the
final rulemaking package. The HPLC was scheduled to
meet to consider the final rulemaking on September 28,
2010.

On September 24, 2010, PPTA and IFP wrote to the
HPLC and objected to the Board’s final rulemaking
package and urged the HPLC to disapprove the rule-
making and to express its disapproval to IRRC. In its
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September 24, 2010, letter, PPTA reasserted that the
Board’s list of soft tissue manifestations should be
stricken. PPTA also restated its objection to the Board’s
use of “treat,” “treatment” and “therapeutic massage
techniques.” In its September 24, 2010, letter to the
HPLC, IFP stated that the Board should strike its list of
soft tissue manifestations. In addition, IFP renewed its
request that the regulations repeat section 17 of the act.

On September 29, 2010, representatives of the HPLC
and Legislature met with representatives of the Depart-
ment of State, the Board, the Pennsylvania Massage
Therapy Association, PPTA and IFP to discuss the con-
cerns. The HPLC then asked the Board to withdraw the
regulations. The Board agreed. The Board announced
that it would meet in special session on October 12, 2010,
to discuss possible amendments.

By way of letters dated October 8, 2010, received by the
Board on October 12, 2010, PPTA and IFP provided
additional comments to the HPLC and the Board. In its
October 8, 2010, letter, PPTA provided its suggestion for
the regulatory definition of massage therapists’ scope of
practice. PPTA suggested the Board delete references to
“treatment” or “pain” and also asserted that the Board
should delete references to “treatment objectives” in the
final-form rulemaking. In its October 8, 2010, letter, IFP
endorsed the changes proposed by PPTA and proposed
additional amendments. First, IFP proposed that the
Board delete statements suggesting that massage thera-
pists “treat” soft tissue manifestations and instead state
that massage therapists “provide palliative treatment” to
soft tissue manifestations. IFP also proposed changes to
the scope of practice proposal made by the HPLC.

The Board met on October 12, 2010, and discussed the
proposals by PPTA, IFP and the HPLC. The Board
entertained comments from the representatives of the
HPLC and PPTA. The Board will generally accept the
proposals made by PPTA, IFP and the HPLC and amend
§ 20.41(a). However, rather than create a new definition
when “massage therapy” is already defined in the act,
Board will amend this subsection to track the language in
section 2 of the act. The Board rejects the suggestions of
deviating from the statutory language “treatment of the
soft tissue manifestations of the human body” to refer to
“tonic treatment” or “palliative treatment.” In addition to
tracking the statutory language in § 20.41(a), the Board
will delete the list of soft tissue manifestation which
limited massage therapy practice in the proposed rule-
making. By deleting the list of soft tissue manifestations,
the emphasis of the scope of practice provision is shifted
to the “structured system of touch, pressure movement,
holding and treatment” in the act and away from the
Board’s prior emphasis on what is touched, applied
pressure, moved, held or treated. The system of touch,
pressure, movement, holding and treatment that tradi-
tionally comprise Western massage therapy includes both
soft tissue manipulation (effleurage, petrissage, tapote-
ment, vibration and friction) and active and passive joint
movements. The act also specifically includes lymphatic
techniques and myofacial release techniques in the defini-
tion of “massage therapy.” Tracking the statutory lan-
guage in the regulation neither enlarges nor contracts the
scope of practice permitted under the act. The Board will
retain § 20.41(b), which provided for both the statutory
prohibitions on massage therapists’ practice and addi-
tional regulatory prohibitions. The Board also adds new
subsection (c) that tracks section 17 of the act.

Regarding the use of “therapeutic massage techniques,”
the Board recognizes that this terminology may be overly

restrictive because these techniques comprise only a part
of massage therapy practice and massage therapists may
employ massage therapy techniques that are not consid-
ered “therapeutic massage techniques.” As noted by
PPTA, physical therapists are also authorized to provide
massage under section 2 of the Physical Therapy Practice
Act (63 P. S. § 1302), which defines “physical therapy” to
include “the treatment of the individual through the
utilization of the effective properties of physical measures
such as...massage....” Other licensed professionals
may also employ some therapeutic massage techniques.
See, for example, section 2 of The Professional Nursing
Law (63 P.S. § 212), which defines the “practice of
professional nursing” to include “treating human re-
sponses to actual or potential health problems through
such services as...provision of care supportive to or
restorative of life and well-being.” The Board will change
“therapeutic massage techniques” to “massage therapy”
throughout the final-form rulemaking. This will also
eliminate the need to define “therapeutic massage tech-
niques.” Finally, the Board amends “treatment plan” to
“massage therapy treatment plan.”

In its comments on the proposed rulemaking and in its
September 24, 2010, letter, PPTA objected to allowing an
applicant to practice without supervision for up to 6
months after graduation from a massage therapy pro-
gram but before passing a licensure examination. The act
does not limit the practice of temporary practice permit
holders; therefore, the Board did not limit the practice of
these individuals. Unlicensed persons, including tempo-
rary practice permit holders, are forbidden from using the
title “L.M.T.” or holding themselves out as licensees.

FSMTB also submitted comments. FSMTB opined that
the Board should accept only the Massage and Bodywork
Licensure Examination (MBLEx), which is offered by
FSMTB. The act recognizes the two examinations offered
by the NCBTMB as well as the MBLEx. The Board
believes it is constrained to do the same.

FSMTB pointed out a typographical error when the
Board referred to the organization as “FSBMT.” The error
has been corrected.

FSMTB pointed out that fees paid to it are refunded,
minus a processing fee. The Board made this correction
by deleting § 20.23(d) (relating to licensure examina-
tions).

FSMTB noted that it does not restrict the number of
times a candidate can fail the MBLEx without having to
undertake some intervention before subsequent attempts.
FSMTB opined that it would be difficult for the Board to
monitor compliance with its limitation in § 20.23(e), and
that attempting to enforce the provision could result in
the disparate treatment of applicants for licensure by
examination and applicants for licensure by reciprocity.
The Board agrees and deleted § 20.23(e) from the final-
form rulemaking.

Regarding § 20.33, FSMTB asked that it be added to
the list of preapproved providers of continuing education,
even though FSMTB does not currently provide continu-
ing education review and approval services and appar-
ently does not have definite plans to do so. The Board
believes it would be inappropriate to prospectively ap-
prove FSMTB’s continuing education process before it has
been developed.

AMTA submitted comments on several sections of the
proposed rulemaking. Regarding § 20.24, AMTA opined
that a student who will graduate from a massage therapy
education program “on or before the approval and passage
of these rules and regulations” should be included as an
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existing practitioner. AMTA also stated that “many of the
students begin working for employers in the state in the
latter portions of their programs. Excluding them would
greatly affect business at these establishments and place
an undue burden on a student who until this point would
have been grandfathered in.”

Subsection 5(b)(1) of the act requires an individual
seeking licensure as an existing practitioner to, on the
effective date of the subsection, “demonstrate that the
applicant has conducted a business and been an active
participant in that business which was mainly the prac-
tice of massage therapy.” The subsection became effective
on October 9, 2010. Individuals who can demonstrate that
they were in the active practice of massage therapy on
that date, and who comply with the other provisions of
the act, can be considered existing practitioners. The
effective date of the final-form rulemaking does not affect
an individual’s status as an existing practitioner. Once
the regulations have been passed, § 20.14 will prohibit
massage therapy students from practicing except in the
clinical training program operated by the student’s school.
Students are permitted to practice specific techniques
that are being learned as part of the massage therapy
education program, but may not receive any compensa-
tion, including a gratuity, for practicing these techniques.
Therefore, once the regulations become final, students
will no longer be able to be employed as massage
therapists.

AMTA next expressed concern about individuals who
have taken a maternity leave or a sick/short-term disabil-
ity leave during the last 5 years and questioned whether
these individuals could qualify for licensure under section
5(b) of the act. One of the ways that an existing
practitioner can qualify for licensure is if the existing
practitioner can demonstrate that he has been in “active,
continuous practice for at least 5 years immediately
preceding the effective date of this section.” The final-
form rulemaking, which allows a practitioner to demon-
strate the required 5 years of practice through tax
documents and other means, allow an individual to obtain
licensure even if the individual took a period of maternity
leave. Several other licensing boards have period of
practice requirements and the Board is not aware of any
difficulties in determining whether an applicant is quali-
fied for licensure despite having taken maternity or a
short term disability leave.

AMTA next explained its historic levels of membership
and asked for applicants who were at the associate level
in 2007 to be permitted to use that membership level to
show the first of the past 5 years as a practitioner.
Associate level membership was for students and new
graduates, but was discontinued on November 30, 2004.
After November 20, 2007, individuals were required to
participate at the professional level. It is the Board’s
understanding that AMTA requires, as a prerequisite to
professional level membership, that an individual have
completed a minimum of 500 hours of massage therapy
instruction or hold a National certification. Therefore,
professional members of AMTA will qualify for licensure
under section 5(a)(3)(iii) of the act and do not need to
apply for licensure under section 5(a)(3)(i) of the act.

AMTA suggested that the Board increase the number of
continuing education hours that can be completed online
to 8 hours. The Board has done so. AMTA questioned how
the Board would address individuals with disabilities
such as deafness who rely on online continuing education
and whether requirements would be placed on continuing
education providers to make accommodations for those

who are disabled. A mechanism is provided in 1 Pa. Code
Part II (relating to General Rules of Administrative
Practice and Procedure) by which an individual may
request a waiver of a regulatory provision when the
individual’s circumstances frustrate compliance. The
Board will strive to be considerate and treat licensees
fairly. As for requiring, through its regulations, continu-
ing education providers to provide accommodations for
the disabled, the Board believes that Federal law governs
the provision of accommodations.

AMTA also queried whether working toward a degree in
a related field, such as kinesiology, at a 2- or 4-year
college could count toward meeting the continuing educa-
tion requirement. The act requires that continuing educa-
tion courses be related to massage therapy practice. Not
all classes in fields such as kinesiology are related to
massage therapy practice. An individual may apply to the
Board to receive continuing education credit for college
courses and provide a detailed syllabus that will allow the
Board to determine if continuing education credit can be
granted.

Finally, AMTA noted that some of its members ex-
pressed concern about the number of continuing educa-
tion hours required by the Board. The General Assembly
determined the number of hours required biennially and
the Board cannot deviate from that number.

Regarding § 20.41, AMTA stated that some people hold
dual positions within their offices and asked how this
would be regulated as to what services they can do and
when they can do those services. AMTA gave the example
that in the cosmetology field esthetics must be done in a
separate room from massage therapy and asked if the
individual holds both licenses, can they perform esthetics
and massage in the same room. AMTA also asked
whether a massage therapist who is also a chiropractic
assistant can use devices such as a muscle stimulation
unit. Each licensing board regulates the practice of a
particular profession or occupation with a defined scope of
practice. While practicing and holding oneself out as a
massage therapist, an individual shall practice within the
scope of practice of a massage therapist. If the same
individual also holds another license, that individual can
practice within the scope of that license when practicing
the other profession and holding himself out as that type
of licensee. It is the Board’s understanding that the State
Board of Cosmetology restricts the practice of cosmetology
and its related subfields, such as esthetics, to the floor
space of the cosmetology salon. Therefore, it would appear
to the Board that massage therapy cannot be practiced
within the floor space of the cosmetology salon, regardless
of who is performing the massage therapy services. The
Board is not familiar with the scope of practice of a
chiropractic assistant but would reiterate its opinion that
individuals may practice within the scope of practice of
the profession or occupation they are practicing and
holding themselves out as practicing during any period of
time.

Regarding § 20.42(a)(14) (relating to standards of pro-
fessional conduct), which requires a licensee to display his
license in a location clearly visible to clients, AMTA
expressed concern with listing the licensee’s home ad-
dress on documents that would be in the plain sight of
clients. The Board does not require the licensee to display
their home address in plain sight of clients; in fact, the
Board would encourage licensees to cover their home
addresses, such as with black construction paper, when
displaying their licenses. However, licenses must be dis-
played so that the public can know that an individual
possesses the license.
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Regarding § 20.42(a)(15), which requires licensees to
include their license number in advertisements, AMTA
asked whether a massage therapist who works for a spa
has to have the therapist’s license number posted in the
spa’s advertisement and asked how would a spa with
multiple therapists be required to post each therapist’s
number in the advertising. The provision provides for
what a massage therapist shall do; it does not regulate
spas. If a massage therapist advertises his practice, the
massage therapist shall include the license number in the
advertisement. If a business, such as a spa, advertises
massage therapy services without naming a massage
therapist, the spa is not subject to the regulation. The
Board notes, however, that businesses providing massage
therapy may only provide massage therapy by licensed
individuals.

The Board received a comment from an individual
asking the Board to amend the medical device restriction
to be open ended, specifically so that licensees could use
Spray and Stretch topical anesthetic skin refrigerant.
According to the commenter, the product was classified as
a medical device by the United States Food and Drug
Administration under the authority to approve prescrip-
tion devices used by health care practitioners under 21
CFR 801.109 (relating to prescription devices). The Gen-
eral Assembly defined “massage therapy” to exclude mas-
sage therapists from practicing medicine or using medical
procedures or prescribing medicines for which a license to
practice the healing arts is required. Massage therapists
are not considered practitioners of the healing arts in this
Commonwealth and are not permitted to use medical
devices in their practice.

On June 9, 2010, the HPLC voted not to take formal
action on the Board’s proposal until the final rulemaking
was submitted and provided the Board with five com-
ments. First, the HPLC requested that the Board define
“treatment plan” and asked why a massage therapy
student would be developing or modifying a treatment
plan on his own. The Board added a definition for the
term. Section 20.13 requires a massage therapy education
to provide students with skills in the area of the develop-
ment, implementation and modification of treatment
plans. The Board’s proposed rulemaking did not allow a
massage therapy student to develop or modify a treat-
ment plan on his own. Proposed § 20.14 did not mention
treatment plans.

The HPLC next asked the Board to explain its rationale
for the inclusion of business subjects in the knowledge
base curriculum and continuing education courses for
massage therapy. The HPLC commented that this inclu-
sion is inconsistent with continuing education courses of
other professions or occupations when business manage-
ment courses, in particular, are prohibited. The final-form
rulemaking provides for at least 25 contact hours of
education, out of the minimum 600 hours of required
instruction, in professional ethics, and business and law
regarding a massage therapy business. Because many
massage therapists run their own businesses, the Board
believes that some minimal amount of education should
be provided to students to give them a better chance of
being successful in their practice. Section 20.33(a) re-
quires that creditable continuing education “be designed
to advance the licensee’s professional knowledge and
skills related to the practice of massage therapy as
defined in section 2 of the act.” In response to a com-
menter’s suggestion that the Board should allow a busi-
ness class to be creditable toward the continuing educa-
tion requirement, the Board, in the preamble to the
proposed rulemaking, noted that the act “restricts the

granting of credit for taking courses to build one’s
business.” The Board does not believe that the proposed
rulemaking indicated that business courses constitute
creditable continuing education.

The HPLC noted that a procedure was not presented
for licensure by endorsement and that § 20.21 is refer-
enced in § 20.26(b). The Board used “reciprocity” and
“endorsement” interchangeably. The Board conformed its
language use to the act, which uses “reciprocity.”

The HPLC next questioned whether an applicant whose
license is refused has due process rights to appeal after
unfavorable results from the hearing. The hearing is the
Board’s provision of the applicant’s due process right to
be heard. Under 2 Pa.C.S. § 702 (relating to appeals),
aggrieved parties have the right to appeal a final determi-
nation by a governmental unit to Commonwealth Court.

Finally, the HPLC questioned the definition of “contact
hour” in § 20.1 (relating to definitions), which combines
the length of time (50 to 60 minute period of instruction)
and the circumstances (in the physical presence of an
instructor or supervisor) and § 20.32(b) (relating to con-
tinuing education hours, maintenance of certificates of
completion) provides for a maximum of 6 hours of con-
tinuing education in correspondence courses. The HPLC
questioned whether the correspondence courses are in 50
to 60 minute periods to meet the quantitative aspect of
the definition. The Board anticipates that the course
provider would determine the amount of content that
would take an average person 50 to 60 minutes to work
through, as is done by the boards within the BPOA. For
clarity, the Board rewrote § 20.32(c) to delete the refer-
ence to correspondence courses and instead refer to the
number of hours that shall be taken as “contact hours,” a
term defined in § 20.1. In addition, the Board deleted
“contact” from § 20.32(b), which was inadvertent; ethics
courses do not need to be taken in the physical presence
of the instructor, a requirement most relevant to thera-
peutic technique classes.

IRRC submitted comments on dJuly 7, 2010. IRRC
recommended that the Board define “soft tissue manifes-
tations,” “therapeutic massage techniques,” “treatment,”
and “treatment plan.” The Board attempted to define “soft
tissue manifestation” by listing manifestations that mas-
sage therapists could treat. The regulation has since been
amended. Because the General Assembly used the term
“soft tissue manifestations” in the act and did not define
it, the Board will not again define the term after the
HPLC requested that the definition be amended. The
term “therapeutic massage techniques” is no longer used
and does not need to be defined. The Board defined
“treatment” and “massage therapy treatment plan” consis-
tent with the act.

IRRC next commented that the Board’s definition of
“sexual harassment” should refer to conduct that is
“unwanted” or “unwelcome” because Human Relations
Commission provisions regarding unlawful employment
actions use these terms. The Board disagrees that these
terms belong in regulations governing the conduct of
massage therapists. On the contrary, a massage therapist
is prohibited from deliberate physical contact of a sexual
nature with a client even if the contact is “wanted” or
“welcome” because professional ethics prohibit this type of
personal contact within the professional relationship.

IRRC asked how the Board determined that the pro-
posed fees were appropriate. Regarding the reasonable-
ness of its fees for services in § 20.3, the Board based the
fees on reports made by the Department’s revenue office.
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Fee report forms showing the costs for providing the
services were attached to the Regulatory Analysis Form
required under the Regulatory Review Act (71 P.S.
§§ 745.1-745.12) and IRRC’s regulation in 1 Pa. Code
§ 307.2(c)(1) (relating to delivery of a final-form regula-
tion). The fee report forms show the amount of time
expended in processing fee for service items and the
amount of overhead charged based on that amount of
time.

With regard to education programs under § 20.11
(relating to minimum hour requirements for massage
therapy programs), IRRC asked how the Board deter-
mined the appropriate number of hours in each subject
area that a massage therapy curriculum would be re-
quired to provide. The Board reviewed the standards set
by massage therapy education program accrediting bodies
and the regulations of other states. The Board’s final-form
rulemaking reflects industry standards for the number of
hours in particular subject areas for a massage therapy
curriculum.

Regarding § 20.13, IRRC asked for more specificity
regarding the legal requirements to be taught to massage
therapy students in schools this Commonwealth. The
Board amended § 20.13 to refer to Pennsylvania legal
requirements, which include licensure requirements and
standards of conduct. IRRC also asked the Board to add
language to clarify what level of “knowledge” massage
therapy education shall provide to its students. The
Board declines to add clarifying language because it
believes that massage therapy schools already know that
they shall educate their students sufficiently to enable
the students to pass a licensure examination and practice
massage therapy.

Regarding student practice, IRRC asked what was the
basis for the 3-year time period to maintain records of
student practice in a school’s clinical program. The Board
based the time period on the 2-year tort statute of
limitations and added an additional year. IRRC also
suggested relating the provision to the date of service. As
previously noted in the response to a similar suggestion
from PAPSA, the Board added language to inform the
regulated community that records shall be kept for 3
years from the last date of service.

Regarding § 20.14(g), IRRC suggested that the final-
form rulemaking include the means by which schools
could comply with the requirement that students be
identified as students when they are performing services
in a student clinic. The Board believes that the schools
already identify student clinics as such and that each
school can determine the best way to identify students.
Some ways already in use include signs, nametags and
requiring clients to sign an acknowledgement that a
student will perform the massage.

IRRC raised the same concern as the HPLC regarding
the Board’s interchangeable use of “endorsement” and
“reciprocity” in § 20.21. The Board made the language
consistent in the final-form rulemaking. IRRC questioned
how the Board determined that requiring criminal history
records for every state the applicant had lived for the
past 5 years was an appropriate limit on the years of
review. The provision is for verification purposes only; an
applicant is required to disclose criminal convictions.
Criminal history records show all convictions, even those
that occurred 15 or 20 years ago. The 5-year limitation is
geographical and the Board’s thinking is that if an
applicant is moving from state to state to avoid detection
of a criminal history, he would likely move more often
than every 5 years.

IRRC asked about the Board’s requirement that appli-
cants disclose arrests. This issue was addressed in re-
sponse to the same inquiry by PAPSA. IRRC erroneously
states that the act only permits the Board to refuse
licensure to an applicant who has been convicted of a
felony under The Controlled Substance, Drug, Device and
Cosmetic Act (35 P.S. §§ 780-101—780-144) or compa-
rable law in another jurisdiction or the United States.
However, section 9(a)(1) of the act (63 P. S. § 627.9(a)(1))
authorizes the Board to refuse licensure to an applicant
who has been convicted of a crime of moral turpitude or
an offense that would constitute a felony in this Common-
wealth. In addition, section 5(a)(1) of the act requires that
applicants demonstrate good moral character.

Regarding § 20.21(d)(4) and (5), IRRC also questioned
whether a licensed professional would make the determi-
nation of whether an applicant is unable to practice with
reasonable skill and safety due to mental or physical
conditions or impairment based on the use of drugs or
alcohol. Individuals would be referred to the Professional
Health Monitoring Program and an appropriate profes-
sional would conduct the evaluation. However, if an
applicant contests the findings, a hearing is held before
the Board and the applicant may present expert testi-
mony on the subject of their ability to practice safely.
Other licensing boards that have successfully used this
process for many years do not provide extensive regula-
tory provisions regarding these matters and the Board
does not believe there is a need for these regulations to
include extensive sections regarding these matters. Fi-
nally, IRRC suggested that the Board delete the phrase
“any other type of material” from subsection (d)(4) be-
cause it is vague. The phrase comes directly from the act
and thus is retained.

IRRC next asked for the basis for a 6-month period of
time for an applicant to supply missing documentation for
an application. The time period was chosen to conform to
the length of time that an applicant can practice on a
temporary practice permit.

IRRC also suggested that § 20.22 (relating to procedure
for licensure denial) reference who will conduct evalua-
tions and licensee appeal rights. The Board added a
reference to the Professional Health Monitoring Program
and to section 9(c) of the act. IRRC asked whether an
applicant would be notified of the results of an evalua-
tion. The applicant would have to obtain the evaluation
directly from the evaluator.

IRRC questioned the 90-day time frame for applicants
to reapply for the examinations; these are requirements
of the testing organizations placed in the regulations to
inform applicants. The Board corrected the typographical
reference to FSMTB. IRRC also questioned the process of
monitoring the additional hours of instructions required
under § 20.23(e) for applicants who have failed a
licensure examination multiple times to obtain additional
hours of instructions. The Board removed the limit on the
number of times an applicant could fail the examinations
before being required to take more coursework.

IRRC questioned the Board’s use of the date October 9,
2010, in § 20.24(c). The date is required under the act.
IRRC, like AMTA, asked about new graduates; the Board
addressed this issue in its response to AMTA’s comments.
IRRC also suggested that the Board define “existing
practitioners.” The Board believes this term is defined in
the act.
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IRRC next asked what services could be performed by a
temporary practice permit holder. The act does not limit
the services and the Board does not believe that the
services should be limited.

Regarding § 20.32(g), IRRC asked under what circum-
stances the Board would determine an audit was neces-
sary. A certain percentage of the licensee population will
be audited at random, as is done by most of the licensing
boards.

Regarding § 20.41, IRRC asked how the Board would
regulate “overlapping licensure.” The Board can only
regulate the practice of massage therapy; other licensing
boards regulate the practice of the professions they
oversee. IRRC also recommended that the Board, in its
final-form rulemaking, set forth a list of services that
dual licensees can perform. The Board cannot define in
regulation what services dual licensees can perform; it
can only define what services licensed massage therapists
can perform. The Board believes its regulation sets forth
the scope of practice of licensed massage therapists
consistent with the act.

Regarding § 20.42, IRRC asked how the Board would
address a situation if a soft tissue manifestation is also a
symptom of an underlying condition. The Board is aware
that soft tissue manifestations may be symptoms of an
underlying condition; for example, some massage thera-
pists provide services solely on referral from a physician
and report to the referring physician. The act authorizes
licensed massage therapists to apply a system of struc-
tured touch, pressure, movement, holding and treatment
of the soft tissue manifestations of the human body with
the primary intent to enhance health; thus, while a
licensed massage therapist does not treat an underlying
disease, a licensed massage therapist does provide treat-
ment to soft tissue manifestations to enhance health by
treating the soft tissue manifestations of an underlying
disease. Section 20.42(a)(5) requires a licensed massage
therapist to refer a client to an appropriate health care
profession when indicated. If a complaint were filed
against a licensee regarding licensee misconduct or a
licensee exceeding the permitted scope of practice, the
Board would hold a hearing to determine the facts and
issue an adjudication, as required under 2 Pa.C.S.
§§ 501—508 and 701—704 (relating to the Administrative
Agency Law). The Board has the authority to discipline a
licensee who exceeds the scope of practice of a licensed
massage therapist.

Finally, IRRC asked how a massage therapist would act
to safeguard a client from incompetent, abusive or illegal
practices, as required under § 20.42(a)(11). By way of
example, the Board would point to Stephens v. State
Board of Nursing, 657 A.2d 71 (Pa. Cmwlth. Ct. 1995),
wherein the Commonwealth Court affirmed a decision of
the State Board of Nursing disciplining a licensee for
failing to safeguard a patient from incompetent or abu-
sive practices when a nurse waited 10 minutes before
intervening on a patient’s behalf when a nurse aide was
teasing a patient and failed to report the nurse aide to
the facility. A licensed massage therapist might fail to
safeguard a client if the licensed massage therapist
witnessed another licensed massage therapist or other
health care worker, such as a nurse aide or physical
therapist, abusing a patient and failed to intervene and
report the matter to the proper authorities.

During its review of the rulemaking at its October 12,
2010, meeting, the Board corrected § 20.21(b)(2). The
subsection required applicants to have the State Police
send the applicant’s criminal history record directly to the

Board; however, the Board recently learned that the state
policy would release the criminal history record only to
the applicant. The amended version will permit an appli-
cant to obtain his record and forward the record to the
Board.

The Board made additional amendments for clarity.
First, in § 20.3, the Board added a fee for the application
for a temporary practice permit which had been inadvert-
ently omitted from the proposed rulemaking. In addition,
in describing the fee for verification of licensure, the
Board added the terminology of a “letter of good stand-
ing,” which is the terminology used in many other states
to describe what boards in the BPOA refer to as verifica-
tion of licensure.

The Board amended § 20.13(a)(6) to add “Pennsylva-
nia” to “legal requirements” since Pennsylvania massage
therapy education should provide students with knowl-
edge about Pennsylvania requirements. Subsection (a)(9)
was amended from “basic CPR” to “CPR resulting in a
Board-approved certification” to add clarity. Board-
approved CPR sources have been noted on the Board’s
web site. Subsection (c)(4) was amended to correct a
typographical error where “decision making” was inad-
vertently left in the sentence after “utilizing...” was
added to conform the paragraph to the other paragraphs
in subsection (c¢). Subsection (¢)(6) was amended to correct
an incorrect reference.

In § 20.14, the Board amended subsection (¢) to incor-
porate the substantive provisions of subsections (d) and
(e) and deleted subsections (d) and (e). The addition of “or
other source” was to encompass any other way that a
payment might be set up, such as from the clinic as an
entity. Subsection (e) is unnecessary as the prohibition in
subsection (c¢) covers what was prohibited by subsection

(e).

The Board deleted the reference to providing documents
regarding an applicant having been arrested from
§ 20.21(d)(3). The Board was informed that the charging
documents are the first official documents regarding a
criminal complaint, not arrest documents.

In § 20.22, the Board provided additional information
regarding how an applicant would participate in an
evaluation; specifically, the applicant would contact the
BPOA’s Professional Health Monitoring Program. The
Board added this information so an applicant would know
what part of the BPOA to contact if the applicant wished
to discuss an impairment issue before applying for
licensure.

The Board also made minor amendments to § 20.24.
First, in § 20.24(c)(2), the Board added the requirement
that an applicant sign the copy of Federal tax form
Schedule C if the applicant submits that form. The Board
added the signature requirement to conform § 20.24(c)(2)
and § 20.24(c)(1), which required that Federal tax re-
turns be signed. In addition, the Board amended
§ 20.24(c)(3) to require that the proof of membership in a
Board-approved professional association be sent directly
from the association. This requirement will eliminate the
ability of an applicant to provide fraudulent documenta-
tion. The same requirement for direct production of
documents was added to § 20.24(f) regarding the tran-
script from an educational institution.

In § 20.31(a) and (b) (related to expiration, renewal
and reactivation of license), the Board added the license
expiration and renewal dates as the approximate date
that the rulemaking is likely to become final is now
known. In § 20.31(d), the Board separated out reporting
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requirements that had previously been together. The
separation allowed the Board to draw more attention to
each separate requirement. A longer period was allowed
for reporting reciprocal discipline, as this is generally less
serious. In subsection (e), language was changed from
referring to a “wall certificate” to an “updated license” to
reduce confusion about what a wall certificate might be.
If a wall certificate is issued by the Board, it is only
issued once, upon initial licensure. The Board also deleted
the reference in subsection (f) to “signed” in a require-
ment that a document be both signed and notarized.
“Signed” was removed because “notarized” implies signed;
a notary notarizes a signature.

For clarity, the Board amended § 20.32 (related to
continuing education hours, maintenance of certificates of
completion) at subsection (c¢) to state the requirement in a
positive statement rather than a negative statement.
Subsection (d) was clarified to require CPR courses to be
taken through contact hours, not online courses, to reflect
the Board’s belief that CPR is best learned through a
“hands on” experience.

The Board amended § 20.33(d) to provide that the
Board’s approval of a proposed continuing education
course would be valid for 2 years from the date the course
is first given for credit provided the faculty and learning
objectives are unchanged. The Board thought it would
have been overly restrictive to have its approval of a
course valid for only one presentation of the course and
would have placed an undue burden on a course provider
to reapply for approval if the provider wanted to present
the same course more than once. On the other hand, the
Board thought some time limit was appropriate. The
Board determined that a 2-year approval period would
adequately address both concerns.

Finally, the Board amended § 20.34 based on PPTA’s
concern that the this section would permit an individual
to practice when his license is expired. Massage therapy
licensees are not permitted to practice on an expired
license. The imposition of a civil penalty for failure to
complete mandatory continuing education is the most
common form of discipline imposed by all licensing boards
in the BPOA. The Board is not clear what additional
penalty PPTA believes should be imposed against mas-
sage therapy licensees who fail to complete continuing
education. The continuing education model in the pro-
posed rulemaking was relatively new and was adopted by
the State Board of Nursing. The Board determined that it
should adopt the more traditional model, which is used by
the State Board of Physical Therapy, because it is easier
to understand. Therefore, § 20.34(b)—(d) was deleted and
subsection (a) was amended.

Fiscal Impact and Paperwork Requirements

The final-form rulemaking will have a fiscal impact on
massage therapists because there is a cost to licensure
and license renewal. Fees, except biennial renewal fees,
are based on an estimate of the amount of time required
to perform the service to an individual and the type of
staff required to perform the service. Biennial renewal
fees are developed by the BPOA’s Bureau of Finance and
Operations and are used to sustain the day-to-day opera-
tions of the Board. The final-form rulemaking may have a
fiscal impact on individual licensees if massage therapists
do not already abide by the minimum safety and cleanli-
ness requirements set forth by the Board. Minor paper-
work and recordkeeping requirements are placed on
massage therapy schools and providers of continuing
education for massage therapists.

The final-form rulemaking will not otherwise have
fiscal impact nor impose additional paperwork on the
private sector, the general public or the Commonwealth
and its political subdivisions.

Sunset Date

The Board continuously monitors its regulations. There-
fore, a sunset date has not been assigned.

Regulatory Review

Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P. S. § 745.5(a)), on April 27, 2010, the Board submitted a
copy of the notice of proposed rulemaking, published at 40
Pa.B. 2428 (May 8, 2010), to IRRC and the Chairpersons
of the HPLC and the SCP/PLC for review and comment.

Under section 5(c) of the Regulatory Review Act, IRRC,
the HPLC and the SCP/PLC were provided with copies of
the comments received during the public comment period,
as well as other documents when requested. In preparing
the final-form rulemaking, the Board has considered all
comments from IRRC, the HPLC, the SCP/PLC and the
public.

Under section 5.1(j.2) of the Regulatory Review Act, on
November 17, 2010, the final-form rulemaking was
deemed approved by the HPLC. On November 17, 2010,
the final-form rulemaking was deemed approved by the
SCP/PLC. Under section 5.1(e) of the Regulatory Review
Act, IRRC approved the final-form rulemaking on Novem-
ber 18, 2010.

Under section 5.1(j.2) of the Regulatory Review Act, on
November 17, 2010, the final-form rulemaking was
deemed approved by the HPLC and the SCP/PLC. Under
section 5.1(e) of the Regulatory Review Act, IRRC met on
November 18, 2010, and approved the final-form rule-
making.

Findings
The Board finds that:

(1) Public notice of proposed rulemaking was given
under sections 201 and 202 of the act of July 31, 1968
(P. L. 769, No. 240) (45 P. S. §§ 1201 and 1202) and the
regulations promulgated thereunder, 1 Pa. Code §§ 7.1
and 7.2.

(2) A public comment period was provided as required
by law and all comments were considered.

(3) The amendments made to the final-form rule-
making do not expand the scope of the proposed rule-
making published at 40 Pa.B. 2428.

(4) This final-form rulemaking is necessary and appro-
priate for administering and enforcing the authorizing act
identified in this preamble.

Order

The Board, acting under its authorizing statute, orders
that:

(a) The regulations of the Board, 49 Pa. Code, are
amended by adding §§ 20.2, 20.11, 20.12, 20.25, 20.43
and 20.51—20.54 to read as set forth at 40 Pa.B. 2428
and by adding §§ 20.1, 20.3, 20.13, 20.14, 20.21—20.24,
20.26, 20.31—20.34, 20.41 and 20.42 to read as set forth
in Annex A.

(b) The Board shall submit this order, 40 Pa.B. 2428
and Annex A to the Office of General Counsel and the
Office of Attorney General as required by law.
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(¢c) The Board shall certify this order, 40 Pa.B. 2428
and Annex A and deposit them with the Legislative
Reference Bureau as required by law.

(d) This order shall take effect immediately upon publi-
cation in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

ROBERT C. JANTSCH,
Chairperson

(Editor’s Note: For the text of the order of the Indepen-
dent Regulatory Review Commission relating to this
document, see 40 Pa.B. 7000 (December 4, 2010).)

Fiscal Note: Fiscal Note 16A-721 remains valid for
the final adoption of the subject regulations.

Annex A

TITLE 49. PROFESSIONAL AND VOCATIONAL
STANDARDS

PART I. DEPARTMENT OF STATE

Subpart A. PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
AFFAIRS

CHAPTER 20. STATE BOARD OF MASSAGE
THERAPY

GENERAL PROVISIONS
§ 20.1. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
chapter, have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

Act—The Massage Therapy Law (63 P.S. §§ 627.1—
627.50).

Board—The State Board of Massage Therapy.

Client—Any individual, group of individuals, or organi-
zation to which an L.M.T. provides massage therapy
services.

Contact hour—A 50 to 60 minute period of instruction
related to the practice of massage therapy in the physical
presence of an instructor or supervisor.

Draping—The use of linens to cover a massage therapy
client to preserve client privacy and modesty, to maintain
professional boundaries and for client warmth.

FSMTB—The Federation of State Massage Therapy
Boards.

Immediate supervision—The supervisor or instructor is
within visual or audible range of the individual being
supervised.

In-class—In the physical presence of an instructor or
under the immediate supervision of a clinical supervisor.

Indirect supervision—The supervision provided by a
clinical supervisor or instructor who has given a student
instructions on the performance of massage therapy
activities, assigned for credit, that are to be practiced
outside of class or clinic.

Informed consent—A process wherein the massage
therapist and a competent client or the client’s guardian
come to a mutual understanding of the massage therapy
treatment, including objectives, benefits and any risks.

L.M.T.—Licensed Massage Therapist.

MBLEx—Massage and Bodywork Licensure Examina-
tion of the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards.

Massage therapy treatment plan—Written documenta-
tion that addresses soft tissue manifestations, needs and
concerns of the client, including identifying indications,
contraindications and precautions of massage therapy

within the scope of the act, how the needs and concerns
will be addressed, massage therapy goals and how
progress will be assessed.

NCBTMB—National Certification Board for Therapeu-
tic Massage and Bodywork.

NCETM—National Certification Examination for
Therapeutic Massage.

NCETMB—National Certification Examination for
Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork.

NESL—National Examination for State Licensure, an
option offered by the NCBTMB which allows individuals
to take the NCETM or NCETMB without obtaining
National certification.

Professional relationship—The relationship between a
massage therapist and a client which shall be deemed to
exist from the first professional contact or consultation
and continue thereafter until 6 months after the last date
of a professional service.

Sexual abuse—Conduct which constitutes a violation of
any provision of 18 Pa.C.S. (relating to crimes and
offenses) related to sexual offenses (See 18 Pa.C.S.
§§ 3121—3130 (relating to definition of offenses).)

Sexual harassment—Deliberate or repeated comments,
gestures or physical contacts of a sexual nature.

Sexual impropriety—The term includes the following
offenses during the professional relationship:

(1) Making sexually demeaning or sexually suggestive
comments about or to a client, including comments about
a client’s body or clothing.

(i1) Unnecessarily exposing a client’s body or watching
a client dress or undress, unless the client specifically
requests assistance due to disability.

(iii) Discussing or commenting on a client’s potential
sexual performance or requesting details of a client’s
sexual history or preferences.

(iv) Volunteering information to a client about one’s
sexual problems, preferences or fantasies.

(v) Behavior, gestures, or expressions to a client that
are seductive or of a sexual nature.

(vi) Using draping practices that reflect a lack of
respect for the client’s privacy.

Sexual intimacies—Romantic, sexually suggestive or
erotic behavior or soliciting a date.

Sexual violation—Sexual conduct, during the profes-
sional relationship, between a massage therapist and a
client, including any of the following:

(1) Indecent exposure.

(i1) Touching, with the massage therapist’s body or an
object, the genitals or any sexualized body part of the
client for any purpose other than appropriate examina-
tion or treatment or when the client has refused or
withdrawn consent.

(iii) Encouraging a client to masturbate in the presence
of the massage therapist or masturbating while a client is
present.

(iv) Providing or offering to provide treatment in ex-
change for sexual favors.

Supervisor—A licensee or instructor who meets the
qualifications under section 13(3) of the act (63 P.S.
§ 627.13(3)).
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Treatment—The use of massage therapy where the
primary intent is to enhance the health and well-being of
the client.

§ 20.3. Fees.

(a) The following fees are charged for services provided
by the Board:

Application for licensure ..................c.oii.... $65
Application for temporary practice permit ........... $65
Verification of licensure or letter of good standing ... $15
Certification of licensure history .................... $25
Reactivation of license .......... ... ... . .. $65
Restoration after suspension or revocation .......... $65
Approval of continuing education program .......... $65

(b) The following fees are charged to sustain the opera-
tions of the Board:

Biennial renewal of license ........................ $75

(¢) In addition to the application fee prescribed in
subsection (a), which is payable directly to the Board, a
candidate for the MBLEx shall be responsible for any fees
charged by the FSMTB for taking the examination.

(d) In addition to the application fee prescribed in
subsection (a), which is payable directly to the Board, a
candidate for the NESL, the NCETM or the NCETMB
shall be responsible for any fees charged by the NCBTMB
for taking the examinations.

EDUCATION
§ 20.13. Required knowledge base.

(a) Massage therapy education must provide students
with knowledge of the following:

(1) Massage and bodywork assessment and application.

(2) Contraindications and precautions for massage
therapy.

(3) Anatomy and physiology.

(4) Kinesiology.

(5) Pathology.

(6) Pennsylvania legal requirements.

(7) Business practices.

(8) Professional ethics.

(9) CPR resulting in a Board-approved certification.
(10) Communicable diseases and universal precautions.

(11) Power differentials and other therapeutic bound-
ary issues as they relate to client interaction.

(12) Fundamentals of human behavior and respect for
clients in the practice of massage therapy.

(b) Massage therapy education must provide students
with the practical skills to:

(1) Administer fundamental massage therapy for the
treatment of soft tissue manifestations of the human
body.

(2) Safely wutilize topical preparations, thermal and
cryogenic modalities, hydrotherapy and movements that
lengthen and shorten soft tissues within the client’s
normal range of motion.

(3) Maintain safe and effective body mechanics in the
application of massage therapy.

(4) Locate and palpate muscle attachments, muscle
bellies and other anatomical landmarks necessary for the
practice of massage therapy.

(5) Use draping/coverage practices that address both
function and safety.

(¢c) Massage therapy education must provide students
with additional skills in the following areas:

(1) Development, implementation and modification of a
massage therapy treatment plan that addresses client
soft tissue manifestations, needs and concerns, including
identifying indications, contraindications and precautions
of massage therapy within the scope of the act.

(2) Obtaining informed consent regarding the risks and
benefits of the massage therapy treatment plan and
application and modification of the massage therapy
treatment plan as needed.

(3) Using effective interpersonal communication in the
professional relationship.

(4) Utilizing an ethical decision making process that
conforms to the ethical standards of the profession, as set
forth in this chapter and in the codes of ethics of massage
therapy professional associations.

(5) Establishing and maintaining a practice environ-
ment that provides for the client’s safety and comfort.

(6) Establishing and maintaining client records, profes-
sional records and business records in compliance with
§ 20.42(a)(19) (relating to standards of professional con-
duct).

§ 20.14. Student practice.

(a) A student enrolled in an approved massage therapy
program may practice massage therapy by providing
services under immediate supervision as part of a clinical
training program operated by the school in which the
student is obtaining credit.

(b) A student, while enrolled in an approved massage
therapy program, may perform techniques learned in
class under indirect supervision.

(¢) A student may not receive payment from the school,
client, or other source for providing massage therapy
services; however, a student may accept a nominal gratu-
ity voluntarily given by a client in a clinical training
program operated by the school in which the student is
obtaining credit.

(d) Massage therapy schools shall maintain records of
services provided by students in a clinical training pro-
gram for at least 3 years from the last date of service.

(e) Students providing services as part of a clinical
training program operated by a school shall be clearly
identified to the public as students.

LICENSURE

§ 20.21. Application for temporary practice permit,
initial licensure and licensure by reciprocity.

(a) Application forms may be obtained from the Board
and are posted on the Board’s web site.

(b) An applicant for licensure shall submit to the Board
a completed and signed application form, the application
fee as set forth in § 20.3 (relating to fees) and the
following documents:

(1) A copy of a legal form of identification, such as a
valid driver’s license, a current passport, or a valid State
identification card.
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(2) An official Criminal History Record Information
check from the State Police or other state agency for
every state in which the candidate has resided during the
past 5 years. The reports must be dated within 6 months
of the date of application.

(3) CPR certification, that is valid for at least 6 months
following the date of application. A list of Board-approved
CPR providers will be posted on the Board’s web site.

(4) Proof of graduation from high school or the equiva-
lent.

(¢) An applicant shall request that the applicant’s
massage therapy school send directly to the Board the
applicant’s official transcript showing successful comple-
tion of a massage therapy program in the subject matter
and hours required by the act and this chapter. If a school
is no longer in operation, the Board may accept a copy of
the official transcript from the school’s record depository.

(d) An applicant shall provide a written explanation
and copies of all relevant documents as requested by the
Board if:

(1) The applicant is under investigation or has ever
been denied professional licensure or disciplined by any
professional licensing authority of the Commonwealth or
any other jurisdiction of the United States or a foreign
country.

(2) The applicant has surrendered a massage therapy
license or other professional license in this Common-
wealth or any other jurisdiction of the United States or a
foreign country.

(3) The applicant has been charged with or convicted of
a misdemeanor or felony in this Commonwealth or any
other jurisdiction of the United States or a foreign
country.

(4) The applicant is unable to practice massage therapy
with a reasonable skill and safety by reason of use of
alcohol, drugs, narcotics, chemicals or any other type of
material.

(5) The applicant is unable to practice massage therapy
with a reasonable skill and safety by reason of illness or
as a result of any mental or physical condition.

(e) An applicant shall verify that the applicant has
read, understood and will comply with the act and this
chapter.

(f) An applicant is responsible for ensuring that the
Board receives all required documentation. If the applica-
tion is incomplete, the Board will notify the applicant by
means of first class mail, within 8 weeks of the receipt of
the application, that the application is incomplete.

(g) Applicants shall supply the missing documentation
within 6 months from the date the application is executed
by the applicant. After that time, if the documentation
has not been submitted, the application will be denied
and the application fee forfeited. An applicant who wishes
to reapply shall submit a new application and application
fee.

(h) An applicant whose name changes during the appli-
cation process or whose name has changed since the
applicant completed massage therapy school shall notify
the Board in writing and submit, with the notification of
name change, the appropriate supporting documentation
(such as, marriage certificate, divorce decree, court docu-
ments showing a legal name change).

(1) An applicant whose address changes shall notify the
Board in writing and submit both the old and new
address to the Board.

() If any other information requested on the applica-
tion changes after the date the applicant submits the
application to the Board for licensure, the applicant shall
immediately notify the Board, in writing, of the change.
Failure to update an application may subject an applicant
to refusal of the license or a licensee to discipline under
section 9(a)(4) of the act (63 P. S. § 627.9(a)(4)).

§ 20.22. Procedure for licensure denial.

(a) The Board will inform the applicant, in writing, of
the basis upon which the Board has refused the license.
The Board will provide the applicant with an opportunity
to demonstrate, at a hearing, that the license should be
issued.

(b) If information submitted with the application indi-
cates that an applicant may be unable to safely practice
massage therapy, the Board will require the applicant to
contact the Bureau of Professional and Occupational
Affairs’ Professional Health Monitoring Program and
participate in an evaluation to determine if the applicant
can safely practice. An applicant may contest the results
of the evaluation at a hearing. The Board will provide an
applicant who refuses to participate in an evaluation with
an opportunity to demonstrate, at a hearing, that the
license should be granted.

(¢) In a case when the Board refuses to issue a license,
the Board will issue a written final decision setting forth
the grounds for the refusal and informing the applicant of
the applicant’s right to a hearing under section 9(c) of the
act (63 P. S. § 627.9(¢c)).

§ 20.23. Licensure examinations.

(a) The Board adopts the NCETM and NCETMB,
including the NESL option, and MBLEx as approved
examinations for initial licensure under section 7 of the
act (63 P. S. § 627.7).

(b) An individual who plans to take the MBLEx offered
by the FSMTB shall contact the FSMTB directly to apply
for examination. The FSMTB will issue the candidate an
Authorization to Test, which the candidate may use to
schedule the examination. Candidates are responsible for
registering for the licensure examination date and site.
Candidates who are unable to test within 90 days of the
date the FSMTB issued the candidate’s Authorization to
Test will be required to reapply as a new candidate
subject to all application and fee requirements in place at
that time.

(¢) An individual who plans to take the NCETM or
NCETMB examinations, including the NESL option of-
fered by the NCBTMB, shall contact the NCBTMB di-
rectly to apply for examination. The NCBTMB will issue
the candidate an Authorization to Test, which the candi-
date may use to schedule the examination. Candidates
are responsible for registering for the licensure examina-
tion date and site. Candidates who are unable to test
within 90 days of the date the NCBTMB issued the
candidate’s Authorization to Test will be required to
reapply as a new candidate subject to all application and
fee requirements in place at that time.

§ 20.24. Application requirements for existing prac-
titioners.

(a) Existing practitioners shall submit, by January 2,
2012, an application, application fee and the information
required under § 20.21(b), (c) and (d) (relating to applica-
tion for temporary practice permit, initial licensure and
licensure by reciprocity) if applicable, and shall be subject
to the provisions of § 20.21(e)—(1).
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(b) Existing practitioners shall establish that they have
conducted a business and been an active participant in
that business which was mainly the practice of massage
therapy by submitting one of the following:

(1) A signed copy of the applicant’s Federal tax return
for the previous year, that lists the applicant’s occupation
as massage therapist.

(2) A signed copy of Schedule C of the applicant’s
Federal income tax return for the previous year demon-
strating that the individual has reported income from the
practice of massage therapy.

(3) Proof of professional or practitioner membership
level or above in a professional association approved by
the Board.

(4) For applicants who have been employed as massage
therapists, a notarized statement from the applicant’s
employer (on a form provided by the Board) attesting that
the individual is a practicing massage therapist, a copy of
the employer’s business card or letterhead, and a copy of
the applicant’s Federal W-2 or 1099 form.

(c) Existing practitioners applying for licensure under
section 5(b)(3)(i) of the act (63 P. S. § 627.5(b)(3)(1)) shall
demonstrate that they have been in active, continuous
practice for at least 5 years immediately preceding Octo-
ber 9, 2010, by submitting one of the following:

(1) Signed copies of the applicant’s tax returns for the
past 5 years, each listing the applicant’s occupation as
massage therapist.

(2) Signed copies of Schedule C of the Federal income
tax returns for the past 5 years demonstrating that the
applicant has reported income from the practice of mas-
sage therapy.

(3) Proof, sent directly from a Board-approved profes-
sional association, of at least 5 years membership at the
professional or practitioner level or above in the profes-
sional association.

(4) For applicants who have been employed as massage
therapists, a notarized letter from the applicant’s em-
ployer (on a form provided by the Board) attesting that
the individual has practiced massage therapy for at least
the last 5 years, a copy of the employer’s business card or
letterhead, and copies of the applicant’s Federal W-2 or
1099 forms for the last 5 years.

(d) Existing practitioners applying for licensure under
section 5(b)(3)(ii) of the act shall have the certification
agency provide, directly to the Board, evidence that the
practitioner passed a massage therapy examination that
is part of a certification program accredited by the
National Commission for Certifying Agencies.

(e) Existing practitioners applying for licensure under
section 5(b)(3)(iii) of the act shall request that their
educational program provide an official transcript directly
to the Board to demonstrate that the practitioner com-
pleted at least 500 hours of instruction in massage and
related subjects. Transcripts generated in a language
other than English shall be translated into English at the
applicant’s expense by a professional translation service
and verified to be complete and accurate.

(f) Existing practitioners applying for licensure under
section 5(b)(3)(iv) of the act shall demonstrate, through
certificates of completion, official transcript provided di-
rectly from the educational institution, or correspondence
from the practitioner’s instructor, that the practitioner

completed at least 100 hours of instruction in massage
and related subjects and passed the NESL option of the
NCBTMB.

(g) Existing practitioners applying for licensure under
section 5(b)(3)(v) of the act shall demonstrate, through
certificates of completion, official transcript provided di-
rectly from educational institution, or correspondence
from the practitioner’s instructor, that the practitioner
completed at least 100 hours of instruction in massage
and related subjects and passed the MBLEx.

§ 20.26. Application requirements for temporary
practice permits.

(a) An applicant for a temporary practice permit shall
submit an application form provided by the Board.

(b) In addition to the completed application form, an
applicant for a temporary practice permit shall comply
with the application procedures under § 20.21(b)(1)—(3)
and (c¢) (relating to application for temporary practice
permit, initial licensure and licensure by reciprocity), and
shall be subject to the provisions of § 20.21(d) and (e).

(¢) A temporary practice permit will expire on the
earlier of 6 months from the date of issuance or on the
date the candidate fails the licensure examination.

(d) Individuals who have been issued a temporary
practice permit will be considered licensees for purposes
of applying section 9 of the act, pertaining to refusal,
suspension and revocation of licenses.

(e) Individuals who have been issued a temporary
practice permit may not hold themselves out as a licensed
massage therapist, use the initials L.M.T. or advertise
their practice of massage therapy.

LICENSURE RENEWAL AND REACTIVATION

§ 20.31. Expiration, renewal and reactivation of li-
cense.

(a) Expiration of license. Licenses expire on January 31
of each odd-numbered year beginning in 2013, regardless
of the date of issuance. Licenses are renewable for a
2-year period beginning each October 31 of each even-
numbered year beginning in 2012.

(b) Practice prohibited. A licensee may not practice
massage therapy in this Commonwealth after the last day
of January of the renewal year unless the license has
been renewed.

(¢) Renewal application. A licensee shall:

(1) Apply for licensure renewal online or on the form
provided by the Board.

(2) Pay the biennial renewal fee as set forth in § 20.3
(relating to fees).

(3) Submit proof of current certification in CPR.

(4) Submit verification of completion of at least 24
hours of Board-approved continuing education.

(5) Submit verification that the licensee has read,
understood and will comply with the act and this chapter.

(d) Reporting requirements.

(1) Disclosure of licensure or discipline in another
jurisdiction. A licensee who becomes licensed to practice
massage therapy in another jurisdiction shall report this
information on the biennial renewal form or within 90
days of licensure, whichever occurs sooner. Disciplinary
action taken in another jurisdiction shall be reported to
the Board on the biennial renewal form or within 90
days, whichever is sooner.
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(2) Disclosure of the filing of formal criminal charges
(information or indictment). A licensee shall report, on the
biennial renewal form or within 30 days, whichever
occurs sooner, the filing of any criminal charges, the
licensee’s sentencing on any criminal charges or the
licensee’s admission into an accelerated rehabilitative
disposition program.

(e) Licensure documentation. Upon renewing a license,
a licensee will receive an updated license and wallet-size
card that will show the next expiration date of the
license. A licensee who renews online may print a tempo-
rary license that may be used until the biennial license is
received.

(f) Inactive status. A license may be placed on inactive
status by the licensee notifying the Board during the
online renewal process or in a notarized statement that
the licensee wishes to have the license marked inactive.
The licensee shall immediately return all licensure docu-
ments to the Board and may not practice massage
therapy in this Commonwealth until the licensee’s license
is reactivated and renewed.

(g) Reactivation. The holder of an inactive or expired
license to practice massage therapy may reactivate and
renew the license within 5 years from the date of its
expiration by submitting:

(1) An application to the Board.

(2) Payment of the current biennial renewal fee as set
forth in § 20.3.

(3) Certificates of attendance at continuing education
courses required under § 20.32 (relating to continuing
education hours; maintenance of certificates of comple-
tion) for the previous biennial renewal period.

(4) Current CPR certification.

(5) An affidavit of nonpractice within this Common-
wealth.

(h) Late fees. A licensee who practiced massage therapy
on an inactive or expired license will be subject to late
fees as prescribed by the Bureau of Professional and
Occupational Affairs Fee Act (63 P. S. §§ 1401-101—1401-
501) upon renewal.

(i) Disciplinary action authorized. A licensee who prac-
ticed massage therapy on an inactive or expired license
may be subject to discipline by the Board under section
9(a)(7) of the act.

(j) Demonstration of competence after 5 years. The
holder of an inactive or expired license to practice
massage therapy will not be reactivated and renewed if
more than 5 years have passed from the date of the
license expiration unless the licensee has demonstrated
current competence to practice. To demonstrate current
competence to practice, a licensee must either prove
continuous active practice in another jurisdiction during
the past 5 years or achieve a passing score on a licensure
examination approved for entry into practice in this
Commonwealth.

§ 20.32. Continuing education hours, maintenance
of certificates of completion.

(a) Licensees shall complete a minimum of 24 hours of
continuing education in the field of massage therapy as
set forth in section 4(6) of the act (63 P. S. § 627.4(6)) and
§ 20.33 (related to continuing education content and
providers) in the 2-year period immediately preceding the
application for license renewal. To be creditable, continu-
ing education must meet the requirements for Board
approval set forth in this section and § 20.33.

(b) Licensees shall complete a minimum of 4 hours of
continuing education in professional ethics in each bien-
nial renewal period.

(¢) A minimum of 16 hours of continuing education
shall be earned through contact hours.

(d) Courses for the renewal of the licensee’s CPR
certification shall be earned through contact hours and
may not be used to meet the biennial continuing educa-
tion requirement.

(e) Licensees shall retain the certificates of completion
from continuing education courses for a minimum of 5
years.

(f) A licensee who is unable to complete the required
continuing education shall request a waiver or extension
from the Board at least 60 days prior to the expiration of
the license. The request must include details about the
licensee’s illness, emergency or hardship, including docu-
mentation such as a letter from the licensee’s physician
or a copy of the licensee’s military orders. The Board will
respond in writing either granting or denying a request
for waiver or extension.

(g) Licensees may be audited to ensure their compli-
ance with the continuing education requirements.

§ 20.33. Continuing education content and provid-
ers.

(a) Continuing education must be designed to advance
the licensee’s professional knowledge and skills related to
the practice of massage therapy as defined in section 2 of
the act (63 P. S. § 627.2).

(b) The following continuing education providers are
approved to offer creditable continuing education provided
they comply with subsections (a), (¢) and (d):

(1) Schools of massage therapy in this Commonwealth
operating under section 5(a)(3) of the act (63 P.S.
§ 627.5(a)(3)).

(2) Schools of massage therapy approved by the Board
or accredited by a National accrediting agency recognized
by the United States Department of Education.

(3) The American Massage Therapy Association and its
state chapters.

(4) NCBTMB-approved providers.
(5) Associated Bodywork and Massage Professionals.

(¢) Continuing education providers shall provide certifi-
cates of completion to massage therapists that include the
name of the massage therapist, name of the course
provider, title of the course, date of the course, and
number of hours.

(d) Continuing education providers shall retain docu-
mentation of the participants in their continuing educa-
tion programs for at least 5 years.

(e) Providers of continuing education who are not listed
in subsection (b) may apply to the Board for approval of a
continuing education course by submitting an application
and paying the application fee under § 20.3 (relating to
fees). The Board will approve only courses that are
designed to advance the knowledge and skills of licensees
relative to massage therapy as defined in section 2 of the
act and that are taught by approved faculty. Approved
faculty include massage therapists licensed in the state in
which they practice if licensure is required in that state,
physical therapists, physicians, professional nurses and
chiropractors. Other instructors with demonstrated exper-
tise may be approved on a case-by-case basis. Course
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approval is valid for 2 years from the date the course is
first given for credit provided the faculty and learning
objectives are unchanged.

(f) An L.M.T. may submit a course offered by a continu-
ing education provider not listed in subsection (b) by
filing an application with the Board for approval of a
continuing education course and paying the application
fee set forth in § 20.3. The Board will approve only
courses that are designed to advance the knowledge and
skills of licensees relative to massage therapy as defined
in section 2 of the act and that are taught by approved
faculty, as set forth in subsection (e).

(g) The Board reserves the right to reject a continuing
education course submitted by a massage therapist who is
audited for compliance if the course is outside the scope of
practice of massage therapy as defined in the act. A
licensee will be notified of the rejection of a course and
will be provided the opportunity to apply additional
courses the licensee has taken or to take additional
courses to meet the continuing education requirement.

§ 20.34. Penalty for failure to complete continuing
education.

Applicants for license renewal shall provide, on forms
provided by the Board, a signed statement verifying
whether continuing education requirements have been
met. Failure to complete a minimum of 24 hours of
continuing education in a biennial period may subject a
licensee to discipline under section 9(a)(7) of the act (63
P.S. § 627.9(a)(7)) in accordance with the schedule of
civil penalties at § 43b.23 (relating to schedule of civil
penalties—massage therapists).

SCOPE AND STANDARDS OF PRACTICE
§ 20.41. Scope of practice.

(a) Massage therapists apply a system of structured
touch, pressure, movement, holding and treatment of the
soft tissue manifestations of the human body in which the
primary intent is to enhance the health and well-being of
the client. Massage therapy includes:

(1) The external application of water, heat, cold, lubri-
cants and other topical preparations.

(2) Lymphatic techniques.
(3) Myofascial release techniques.

(4) The use of electro-mechanical devices which mimic
or enhance the action of the massage techniques.

(b) Massage therapy practice does not include:

(1) The diagnosis or treatment of impairment, illness,
disease or disability.

(2) Medical procedures.

(3) Chiropractic manipulation—adjustment.

(4) Physical therapy mobilization—manual therapy.
(5) Therapeutic exercise.

(6) Ordering or prescribing drugs or treatments for
which a license to practice medicine, osteopathic medi-
cine, nursing, podiatry, optometry, chiropractic, physical
therapy, occupational therapy, or other healing art is
required.

(7) The application of high velocity/low amplitude force
further defined as thrust techniques directed toward joint
surfaces.

(8) The use of equipment or devices that require a
prescription (for example, ultrasound, diathermy or elec-
trical neuromuscular stimulation).

(¢) Licensure under the act may not be construed as
requiring new or additional third-party reimbursement or
otherwise mandating coverage under 75 Pa.C.S. Chapter
17 (relating to financial responsibility) or the Workers’
Compensation Act (77 P.S. §§ 1—1041.4 and 2501—
2506).

§ 20.42. Standards of professional conduct.
(a) A massage therapist shall:

(1) Maintain current knowledge of the application of
massage therapy, including indications, contraindications
and precautions.

(2) Undertake a specific technique or use a product or
equipment only if the massage therapist has the neces-
sary knowledge, training or skill to competently execute
the technique.

(3) Base decisions and actions on behalf of a client on
sound ethical reasoning and current principles of practice.

(4) Provide treatment only where there is an expecta-
tion that it will be advantageous to the client.

(5) Refer to an appropriate health care professional
when indicated in the interest of the client.

(6) Discuss with clients which massage therapy modali-
ties and techniques will be utilized and the benefits of
these modalities and techniques, the objectives, and that
participation is voluntary and that consent to treatment
or participation may be withdrawn at any time.

(7) Obtain written consent prior to performing breast
massage.

(8) Modify or terminate the massage therapy session at
any time upon request of the client.

(9) Keep client information private and confidential.
This standard does not prohibit or affect reporting man-
dated under State or Federal law to protect children,
older adults, or others.

(10) Use safe and functional coverage/draping practices
during the practice of massage therapy when the client is
disrobed. Safe and functional coverage/draping means
that the client’s genitals and gluteal cleft and the breast
area of female clients are not exposed and that massage
or movement of the body does not expose genitals, gluteal
cleft or breast area. With voluntary and informed consent
of the client, the gluteal and breast drapes may be
temporarily moved in order to perform treatment of the
area.

(11) Act to safeguard clients from incompetent, abusive
or illegal practices of other massage therapists or caregiv-
ers.

(12) Continuously maintain current CPR certification.

(13) Be clean, fully-clothed and professional in dress
and appearance.

(14) Display the massage therapist’s current license
with expiration date in a location clearly visible to clients
or, when practicing offsite, display the massage thera-
pist’s wallet card.

(15) Include the massage therapist’s license number in
all advertisements.
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(16) Conspicuously display the massage therapist’s
name and the title L.M.T. or the words “Licensed Mas-
sage Therapist” on an identification badge or directly on
clothing worn in the public areas where massage therapy
services are being provided.

(17) Cooperate with the Board, the Department of
State or the Bureau of Enforcement and Investigation in
the investigation of complaints filed under the act.

(18) Provide massage therapy records immediately
upon demand of the Board or its authorized agents.

(19) Maintain massage therapy records for at least 3
years from the last date that services were provided to
the client.

(20) Educate clients about maintaining the beneficial
effects of massage therapy treatment when indicated by a
massage therapy treatment plan.

(21) Obtain the written permission of a parent or
guardian, or their representative, prior to providing mas-
sage therapy services to a minor.

(22) Require that a parent or guardian, or their repre-
sentative, be physically present in the room during
treatment of a minor.

(b) A massage therapist may not:
(1) Psychologically or physically abuse a client.

(2) Violate a client’s boundaries with regard to expo-
sure, privacy or disclosure.

(3) Utilize techniques that are contraindicated based on
the client’s condition.

(4) Falsify or knowingly make incorrect entries into the
client’s record or other related documents.

(5) Intentionally expose a client’s genitals, gluteal cleft
or the breasts of a female client except temporarily to
perform therapeutic treatment of the area.

(6) Engage in sexual harassment, sexual impropriety,
sexual violation or sexual abuse.

(7) Engage in sexual intimacies during the professional
relationship.

(8) Perform or offer to perform any services for clients
other than those connected with giving massage therapy
treatments as defined in section 2 of the act (63 P.S.
§ 627.2), unless the massage therapist has additional
training and licensure, if required, to perform those
services.

(9) Knowingly permit another individual to use the
massage therapist’s license or temporary permit for any
purpose.

(10) Knowingly aid, abet or assist another person to
violate or circumvent a law or this chapter.

(11) Misappropriate equipment, materials, property or
money from an employer or client.

(12) Refuse a client’s request for a refund for the
unearned portion of prepaid or packaged massage therapy
services. This provision does not apply to gift certificate
purchases.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 11-4. Filed for public inspection December 30, 2010, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 52—PUBLIC UTILITIES

PENNSYLVANIA PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION
[ 52 PA. CODE CH. 62 ]

[ L-2008-2069115 |

Licensing Requirements for Natural Gas Suppliers

The Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission (Commis-
sion) on June 16, 2010, adopted a final rulemaking order
which revises the Commission’ natural gas supplier li-
censing regulations regarding level of security needed and
forms of security used to satisfy statutory security re-
quirements for licensing.

Executive Summary

In its October 2005 Report to the General Assembly, the
Commission found that there was not effective competi-
tion in this Commonwealth’s retail natural gas market.
The finding was based in part on the low number of
natural gas suppliers (NGSs) participating in the market.
Docket No. I-00040103. The amount of financial security
required for NGS licensing was identified as a possible
barrier to market entry and participation.

Based on the Commission’s finding, stakeholders met to
discuss ways to increase effective competition. The Staff’s
Report on the SEARCH collaborative suggested the use of
reasonable criteria for adjusting the security amount
required for NGS licensing and the use of NGS accounts
receivable in natural gas distribution company (NGDC)
Purchase of Receivables (POR) Programs as an acceptable
type of security. On September 11, 2008, the Commission
issued a proposed rulemaking order revising PUC NGS
licensing regulations. The order was published at 39
Pa.B. 1657 (April 4, 2009). A 60-day comment period was
established. Seven parties and the Independent Regula-
tory Review Commission filed comments. The Commission
issued its final rulemaking order on June 16, 2010.

This final rulemaking revises § 62.111: (1) to permit
the use of NGS accounts receivable in a Commission-
approved POR program to satisfy part of, or all of an
NGS’ security requirement; and (2) to list possible trigger-
ing events for adjusting the security amount and reason-
able criteria for the adjustment of the security amount.
This section also includes an annual reporting require-
ment for NGDCs on the adjustment of security amounts,
and a list of Commission procedures, formal and informal,
that an NGS may use to resolve a dispute over security
with an NGDC. The Commission believes that the final
regulation better balances an NGS’s ability to provide
adequate security to maintain its license with an NGDC’s
actual risk of financial loss in the event of supplier
default.

Public Meeting held
June 16, 2010

Commissioners Present: James H. Cawley, Chairperson;
Tyrone J. Christy, Vice Chairperson, statement follows;
Wayne E. Gardner; Robert F. Powelson

Licensing Requirements for Natural Gas Suppliers;
SEARCH Final Order and Action Plan:
Natural Gas Supplier Issues;

Doc. No. L-2008-2069115, I-00040103F0002

Final Rulemaking Order

On December 8, 2008, we issued a proposed rulemaking
order that set forth revisions to the security requirements
for licensing natural gas suppliers at 52 Pa. Code
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§ 62.101—62.114. In its September 11, 2008 Final Order
and Action Plan regarding the Commission’s Investigation
into the Natural Gas Sulpply Market: Report on Stake-
holder’s Working Group,” Docket No. I-00040103F0002
(SEARCH Order), the Commission had determined that
one way to increase effective competition in the retail
natural gas market was to revise the security require-
ments in regard to the amount of security that was
needed and the types of security that could be used.
Before us today is an order that finalizes the revisions to
the Commission’s NGS licensing regulations on these
matters.

Discussion
Background

Section 2208(c)(1)(i) of the Public Utility Code estab-
lishes the security requirements for the issuance and
maintenance of an NGS license. The section also autho-
rizes the natural gas distribution company (NGDC) to
determine the amount and form of the bond or other
security that is required for an NGS license. This section
reads as follows:

(¢) Financial fitness.—

(1) In order to ensure the safety and reliability of the
natural gas supply service in this Commonwealth, no
natural gas supplier license shall be issued or remain
in force unless the applicant or holder, as the case
may be, complies with all of the following:

(i) Furnishes a bond or other security in a form and
amount to ensure the financial responsibility of the
natural gas supplier. The criteria each natural gas
distribution company shall use to determine the
amount and form of such bond or other security shall
be set forth in the natural gas distribution company’s
restructuring filing. In approving the criteria, com-
mission considerations shall include, but not be lim-
ited to, the financial impact on the natural gas
distribution company or an alternative supplier of
last resort of a default or subsequent bankruptcy of a
natural gas supplier. The commission shall periodi-
cally review the criteria upon petition by any party.
The amount and form of the bond or other security
may be mutually agreed to between the natural gas
distribution company or the alternate supplier of last
resort and the natural gas supplier or, failing that,
shall be determined by criteria approved by the
commission.

66 Pa.C.S. § 2208(c)(1)(i) (emphasis added).

The Commission’s NGS licensing regulations became
effective on publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin on
July 21, 2001. 31 Pa.B. 3943. Licensing Requirements for
Natural Gas Suppliers, Order entered April 19, 2001 at
Docket No. L-00000150. Section 62.111 addresses bonds
and other security. See 52 Pa. Code § 62.111.

In the SEARCH Order, the Commission identified
NGDC security requirements as one barrier to supplier
participation in the retail market.? Referencing the
SEARCH Report, the SEARCH Order discussed the crite-
ria used by the NGDC in establishing a security level and
the extent of the Commission’s authority under the law to
modify security requirements:

1 The Stakeholders had been convened based on the Commission finding that
“effective competition” did not exist in the retail natural gas market in accordance with
66 Pa.C.S. § 2204(g) (relating to investigation and report to General Assembly). See
Investigation into the Natural Gas Supply Market: Report to the General Assembly on
Competition in Pennsylvania’s Retail Natural Gas Supply Market, Order entered at
Docket No. 1-00040103.

2 This subject is fully discussed in the SEARCH Report in Section I
(Creditworthiness/Security) at pp. 18-21.

The criteria that are to be used by the NGDC to set
the amount and form of the security were established
in each company’s restructuring proceeding. The level
of security is based on a formula that takes into
account the NGDC’s exposure to costs. For the retail
supply market, this formula involves the peak day
demand estimate for capacity, number of days’ poten-
tial exposure in a billing cycle, and commodity esti-
mates for quantity and cost. Offsets to the amount of
security that a NGS must provide may include calls
on capacity, receivable purchases or receivable
pledges. NGDC costs related to supplier default as
set forth in section 2207(k) of the Public Utility Code
may also be taken into account when establishing the
amount of security required. 66 Pa.C.S. § 2207(k).
SEARCH Report, pp. 18-19.

If a NGDC and NGS cannot come to a mutual
agreement, the level or form of security is determined
by criteria approved by the Commission. See 66
Pa.C.S. § 2208(c)(1). These criteria were established
in the Commission’s NGS licensing regulations and
are to be used to determine security levels and
acceptable forms for the security when voluntary
agreement is not reached. See 52 Pa. Code § 62.111.
Section 62.111(c) permits the use of the irrevocable
letters of credit, corporate parental or other third
party guaranty, and real or personal property. Per-
sonal property would include the use of escrow
account or the pledge or purchase of receivables. 52
Pa. Code § 62.111(c). SEARCH Report, pp. 18-19.

Also, an individual NGDC’s security requirement,
including the level of security, is subject to periodic
review by the Commission. 66 Pa.C.S. § 2208(c). See
also, UGI Utilities, Inc.—Gas Division v. PA PUC,
878 A. 2d 186 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2005) appeal den. 586 Pa.
732; 890 A.2d 1062 (2005) (the Commission has
discretion to approve criteria to be used to determine
the financial security necessary based upon financial
impact on the NGDC by a default by an NGS). Thus,
a supplier is not without a remedy to address unrea-
sonable security requirements of an NGDC on a
case-by-case basis.

SEARCH Order, pp. 23-24.

The SEARCH Order also discussed the suppliers’ posi-
tion that uniformity in the use of security instruments
across NGDC service territories, and greater acceptance
of other types of security by the NGDCs would decrease
costs for suppliers and remove a barrier to supplier entry
and participation.

However, the SEARCH Report states that suppliers
observe that the use of security instruments is not
uniform among the companies and contend that this
variability is a barrier to market entry and multi-
system participation. Suppliers also raised concerns
about the escalating cost of security to match the
growth of their sales, and opined that there should be
a limitation on the frequency of review of required
security levels, with specific triggers for that review,
such as a percentage change in pool size. SEARCH
Report, p. 19.

Suppliers also view the NGDC’s acceptance of only
certain financial instruments as a barrier to market
entry. Suppliers prefer to use corporate guarantees as
the predominant practice. Further, to ensure fairness
and remove a possible barrier for market entry,
suppliers believe that specific criteria for acceptable
financial instruments should be established in a
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regulation or order rather than permitting companies
to set those through tariffs. SEARCH Report, p. 19.

Establishing standard language for the form of the
financial instrument used for security and reasonable
criteria for the amount of security should assist
NGSs in obtaining security in an acceptable form and
amount, while aiding the NGDC in collecting a claim
against the security in the event of supplier default.
North American Energy Standards Board (NAESB)
forms and business practices could be reviewed for
appropriateness to develop uniform language to ad-
dress this issue. SEARCH Report, p. 21. Also, the use
of a POR program should be examined as a way to
reduce the level of required security, to lessen the
need for frequent credit reviews and to ameliorate
adjustments in security level that might normally be
triggered by changes in a company’s creditworthiness
rating, which can occur for reasons unrelated to its
immediate business interaction and relationships.
SEARCH Report, p. 21.

SEARCH Order, pp. 24-25.

After our review of the SEARCH Report, we deter-
mined that it was in the public interest to initiate a
rulemaking to address security requirements related to
NGS licensing. SEARCH Order, p. 25. Our goal was to
update the security requirement in the regulations “to
better balance the ability of NGS firms to provide ad-
equate security with the NGDC’s risk of a supplier
default.” Specific matters that were to be addressed
included: (1) the use of NGS accounts receivable in
purchase of receivables programs as fulfillment of some
part, or all of security requirements; (2) the adoption of
standard language for financial instruments used for
security; and (3) the development of reasonable criteria
for NGDCs to use to establish the amount of security
necessary for licensing purposes. SEARCH Order, p. 26.

The proposed rulemaking order was entered on Decem-
ber 8, 2008, and was published on April 4, 2009, in the
Pennsylvania Bulletin at 39 Pa.B. 1657. The order estab-
lished a 60-day comment period. No reply comments were
permitted to be filed.

Comments were filed by seven interested parties: the
Energy Association of Pennsylvania (EAPA)®; the NGS
Parties,* the Retail Energy Supply Association (RESA)®;
Philadelphia Gas Works (PGW); National Fuel Gas Distri-
bution Company (NFG); PECO Energy Company (PECO)
and Equitable Gas Company (Equitable). The Indepen-
dent Regulatory Review Commission (IRRC) also filed
comments.

We have reviewed and addressed these comments be-
low.

Comments

§ 62.111—Suppliers Serving Large Customers (over 300
Mecf annually)

As a general comment, Equitable states that modifica-
tions to § 62.111 should make it clear that the security

3 Natural gas industry members of EAPA include Columbia Gas of PA, Dominion
Peoples, Equitable Gas, National Fuel Gas Distribution Corp., PECO Energy Co.,
Philadelphia Gas Works, and UGI Utilities, Inc.

4The NGS Parties include Agway Energy Services, LLC, Gateway Energy Services
Corporation, Interstate Gas Supply, Inc., and Vectren Retail, LLC.

SRESA is a non-profit trade association whose members are involved in the
wholesale generation of electric generation and the competitive supply of natural gas
to residential, commercial and industrial customers. RESA’s members include Com-
merce Energy, Inc., Consolidated Edison Solutions, Inc., Direct Energy Services, LLC,
Exelon Energy Company, Gexa Energy, Green Mountain Energy Company, Hess
Corporation, Integrys Energy Services, Inc., Liberty Power Corporation, RRI Energy,
Sempra Energy Solutions LLC, SUEZ Energy Resources NA, Inc., and US Energy
Savings Corporation.

provisions apply only to those natural gas suppliers who
offer service to residential customers and small commer-
cial and industrial customers that consume less than 300
Mecf annually. Equitable also expresses the opinion that
an NGS that offers service to large commercial and
industrial customers should be permitted and required to
determine appropriate security with the NGDC outside
the parameters of this section. Equitable Comments,
Appendix A, p. 1.

Resolution

The definition of “natural gas supplier” at 66 Pa.C.S.
§ 2202 does not categorize a supplier by the class of
customers it serves, nor by the volume of natural gas its
customers consume. In fact, the only criterion in the
definition is that the natural gas supplier provides retail
natural gas supply service as opposed to wholesale gas
service. For this reason, we see no need to make a
distinction between suppliers based on the volume of gas
that customers consume, especially since we are attempt-
ing to create a more competitive retail market by adopt-
ing consistent requirements for suppliers. Accordingly, we
will not make the requested change.

As to Equitable’s comment that it should be able to
determine appropriate security for an NGS that offers
service to large commercial and industrial customers
outside the parameters of this section, we will note that
an NGDC and a supplier can always come to a mutual
agreement on the amount of security that the NGS must
provide. 66 Pa.C.S. § 2208(c)(1)(i) (relating to require-
ments for natural gas suppliers; financial fitness). The
only caveat is that the NGDC must apply the criteria
used as the basis for such an agreement to other agree-
ments with other similarly situated suppliers so as to
avoid discriminatory or anticompetitive conduct. See 66
Pa.C.S. § 2209 (relating to market power remediation);
52 Pa. Code §§ 62.141—62.142 (relating to standards of
conduct).

§ 62.111(c)(1)(i)—Security Amount

RESA proposes the addition to the regulation of a
formula that would be used to calculate the amount of
security that will be required to operate on an NGDC’s
system. The formula is that “security cannot exceed the
NGS’ customers’ MDQ [Maximum Daily Quantity] times
the peak forecasted NYMEX [New York Mercantile Ex-
change] price for the next 12 months and for upstream
capacity to the city gate times 10 days.” RESA Comments,
p. 4.

RESA also suggests a baseline creditworthiness stan-
dard, which if met, would satisfy the section 2208(c)
security requirement and would obviate the need for the
supplier to post additional security. The standard would
entail the supplier having a minimum investment grade
credit rating or its equivalent from two of three credit
rating agencies. RESA Comments, pp. 5-6. RESA states
that the minimum threshold security requirement is
warranted to reflect the reduced risk associated with an
NGS that has a favorable investment grade/credit rating.
RESA Comments, p. 7.

EAPA comments that financial security requirements
for NGSs are necessitated by section 2207(k) that permits
the NGDC, acting as the supplier of last resort (SOLR), to
charge customers returning from a defaulting supplier
the rates the supplier would have charged the customer
for the remainder of the billing cycle. 66 Pa.C.S.§ 2207(k)
(relating to rate after service discontinued [by a default-
ing supplier]). EAPA Comments, pp. 1-2. This section
specifically provides that:
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any difference between costs incurred by the supplier
of last resort and the amounts payable by the retail
gas customer shall be recovered from the natural gas
supplier or from the bond or other security provided
by the natural gas supplier without recourse to any
retail gas customer not otherwise contractually com-
mitted for the difference.

66 Pa.C.S. § 2207(k).

The supplier’s bond or other security pays the NGDC or
the SOLR the difference between the cost of the replace-
ment gas supply for returning customers from a default-
ing supplier and the amount that the NGDC or SOLR can
collect from those customers for the gas supply under the
defaulting supplier’s agreement.

EAPA also comments that financial risks imposed by
section 2207(k) vary from NGDC to NGDC. For NGDCs
that have on-system storage facilities, native natural gas
production and ample pipeline capacity, the financial risk
of obtaining supply during peak periods may be relatively
small. EAPA Comments, p. 2. For those NGDCs who do
not, the financial risks may be relatively large. The bond
or other security provided by the NGS ensures the
financial responsibility of the supplier, but ultimately
ensures “the safety and the reliability of the natural gas
supply service in this Commonwealth.” See 66 Pa.C.S.
§ 2208(c)(1)(i). EAPA Comments, p. 2.

Resolution

Section 2208(c)(1) requires that a supplier provide a
bond or other security to ensure its financial responsibil-
ity so it can be licensed as an NGS. 66 Pa.C.S.
§ 2208(c)(1). The purpose of the security is to ensure the
financial responsibility of the supplier and the safety and
the reliability of the natural gas supply. 66 Pa.C.S.
§ 2208(c)(1). Specifically, the security can be used to pay,
in part, for the costs of replacement gas supply for
customers of suppliers who return to default service.

Section 62.111(c)(1) has always recognized that the
starting point for setting the security for a licensee was
the amount that would satisfy the statutory requirement
in 66 Pa.C.S. § 2207(K). Section 62.111(c)(1) reads as
follows:

(1) The amount of the security should be reasonably
related to the financial exposure imposed on the
NGDC or supplier of last resort resulting from the
default or bankruptcy of the licensee. At a minimum,
the amount of security should materially reflect the
difference between the cost of gas incurred and the
supplier’s charges, if any, incurred by the NGDC or
supplier of last resort during one billing cycle.

52 Pa. Code § 62.111(c)(1).

This preliminary security amount could then be ad-
justed upward or downward based on the criteria set
forth in § 62.111(c)(1)(I)(A)—(E).

In reviewing the comments to this rulemaking, we
discovered that the use of the phrase “at minimum?” in the
second sentence as well as the paraphrasing of statutory
language from section 2207(k) has created some confu-
sion. For this reason, we will revise this sentence by
deleting the phrase “at minimum” and the word “mate-
rial,” and by incorporating the exact statutory language
from section 2207(k). This revision should make the
method for establishing the preliminary security amount
required for licensing more understandable. This amount
will then be the security amount ordinarily required,
unless one or more of the criteria set forth in
§ 62.111(c)(1)3)(A)—(E) warrant an upward or downward
adjustment to that amount.

While we agree that an NGS’s credit rating may be
taken into account by an NGDC in establishing the
amount of security, we cannot adopt RESA’s proposal to
eliminate the security requirement upon the showing of
some baseline creditworthiness standard. Risks vary from
supplier to supplier, and thus, financial exposure posed by
suppliers operating on NGDC systems vary from NGDC
to NGDC making a baseline creditworthiness standard
based solely on credit or investment ratings difficult, if
not impossible, to establish for use in the statewide retail
market. However, we understand that some NGDCs do
not require an NGS to post additional security when the
NGS has a high credit rating, or is backed by a highly
rated parental or other corporate guaranty. To the extent
that an NGDC has adopted such a standard, we will
direct that the NGDC include this standard in its tariff.
This will ensure that all NGSs have notice of the
standard and will further ensure that the standard is
applied in a non-discriminatory manner to all NGSs. We
have also revised § 62.111(c) to require NGDCs to include
this information in their tariffs.

In regard to the RESA’s suggestion to use a standard-
ized formula to calculate the security amount, the law
provides NGDCs with the discretion to set the security
amount for licensing, and states that the criteria used
“shall include, but not be limited to, the financial impact
on the natural gas distribution company ... of a default
or subsequent bankruptcy of a natural gas supplier.” 66
Pa.C.S. § 2208(c)(1)(i). Because the NGDC may take into
account criteria other than the cost of replacement gas
when establishing a security amount for a supplier, we do
not believe that it appropriate to adopt one standard
formula to calculate the security amount for use by all
NGDCs. Accordingly, we will not adopt RESA revision to
the regulations at this time.

We note, however, that some NGDCs may use their own
formulas to calculate the level of security for NGSs
operating on their systems. These formulas were estab-
lished in the NGDCs’ restructuring proceedings for the
retail supply market. These formulas involve the peak
day demand estimate for capacity, the number of days
potential exposure in the billing cycle and the commodity
estimates for quantity and cost. SEARCH Report, p.
18-19. Again, to promote transparency of credit require-
ments for licensing, we will direct an NGDC that uses a
formula to calculate security amounts to include the
formula with other applicable rules for its use in its tariff.
We have also revised § 62.111(c) to require NGDCs to
include this information in their tariffs.

While the NGDC has the discretion to set the level of
security, the Commission has the authority to approve
criteria to be used to determine the appropriate amount
of security based upon financial impact on the NGDC of a
supplier’s default, and may review NGDC decisions re-
garding the application of these criteria. Nevertheless, we
expect that the NGDC will establish a security amount
that is reasonably related to its financial exposure. See
UGI Utilities v. Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission,
878 A.2d 186, 192 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2005) (UGI Utilities) (the
law provides for a “reasonably related” financial security
requirement, not the worst case scenario as determined
by the NGDC, which is contrary to the intentions of the
statute to promote competition and choice in the natural
gas industry).

However, when an NGS believes that the amount of
security that it is being required to post to obtain a
license is too high and it cannot come to an agreement
with the NGDC regarding an alternative amount, it may

PENNSYLVANIA BULLETIN, VOL. 41, NO. 1, JANUARY 1, 2011



34 RULES AND REGULATIONS

file a formal complaint against an NGDC. The Commis-
sion has adjudicated complaints from suppliers against
NGDCs alleging high security amounts, and, based on the
record presented, has adjusted security when it was
warranted. See UGI Utilities, supra. Alternatively, a
supplier may follow the procedures to dispute an NGDC’s
determination of the security amount set forth in
§ 62.111(c)(8)(1) and (ii) that are discussed below.

§ 62.111(c)(1)(ii)—Adjustment of Security Amount

Section 62.111(c)(1)(ii) states that the amount of the
security may be adjusted, but not more often than every
six months, and the adjustments must be reasonable. It
then lists criteria upon which these adjustments must be
based. In response to suppliers’ complaints about the
frequency of security level adjustments and the need for
specific triggering events for creditworthiness reviews and
security adjustments, we proposed to revise the criteria to
make them more stringent. The regulation was revised so
that only changes in the NGS’s operation that would
materially affect the NGDC system operation or reliabil-
ity or changes that would materially affect the NGS’s
creditworthiness could trigger a review and adjustment of
security.

We have divided the comments filed to this section into
two parts to facilitate their disposition.

A. Six Month Time Restriction

EAPA and NFG propose eliminating the six months
limit on adjusting security and recommends reliance on
reasonableness of the requirement to protect against
rapid and random changes in security. The argument is
that allowing changes more frequently than every 6
months will permit the NGS to maintain different secu-
rity levels in the winter and the summer because the
NGDC will no longer fear being locked into a security
amount in the event of a change in circumstances. This
would not be a burden to the NGSs and would provide
greater flexibility for both parties. As an alternative, NFG
suggests a limit or freeze on NGS customer enrollments.
EAPA Comments, p. 3; NFG Comments, p. 5.

Resolution

The Commission understands the utility of eliminating
the six months restriction on adjusting security amounts
and will delete it from § 62.111(c)(1)(i1). We believe that
elimination of this restriction will allow the NGDC to
establish seasonable levels of security for NGSs operating
on its system. We will substitute the phrase “as circum-
stances warrant” for the deleted language.

B. Triggering Events for Adjustment in Security Amount;
Adjustments in Advance of Possible Default; Need to
Define Modifiers “Significant” and “Materially” for Clar-
ity
The EAPA offers revisions to the proposed regulation to

achieve two purposes: (1) to ensure that security is

provided in advance of supplier default that it is suffi-
cient to cover the financial risk to the NGDC; and (2) to
allow for adjustment of the security amount when there is

a significant increase in customer number, change in

class of customer served or significant change in the

volume of gas supplied by the NGS.

PGW states that security levels should be adjusted
when there is a significant change in volume of gas
provided by the supplier. This change in volume would be
independent of an increase in the number of customers
since a current commercial or industrial customer could
significantly increase its purchase of gas from a supplier
and thus significantly increase the financial exposure of

PGW and its customers. PGW and Equitable suggest that
a 10% increase in volume would represent a significant
increase in volume that would justify an adjustment in
the amount of security. NFG and Equitable agree that an
increase in gas volume may be more important than an
increase in the number of customers. NFG also suggests
that the Commission should evaluate a means of tying
the ability to adjust security requirements to commodity
prices. Equitable Comments, Appendix A, p. 1; NFG
Comments, p. 3. PECO supports a threshold of a 25%
increase in the projected quantity of natural gas that
suppliers deliver or an increase in the projected volume of
gas consumed to trigger an increase in security require-
ments. PECO Comments, pp. 2-3.

The EAPA states that the “25% change in customers”
trigger for adjustment of security amount is arbitrary and
does not consider a change in the volume of natural gas
supplied. If the parties cannot agree on the meaning of
the term “significant,” the proposed § 62.111(c)(6) pro-
vides a means to resolve the dispute. Thus, prescriptive
triggers can be avoided and the final sentence of the
proposed regulation at § 62.111(c)(1)ii)(C) can be deleted.
EAPA Comments, p. 3.

IRRC states that this provision should be revised to
reflect the impact on the NGDC’s financial risk of
changes in volume delivered or consumed as well as
changes in the number of customers. IRRC also states
that the PUC should specify the percentage change in
volume that could trigger an adjustment to the amount of
security required. IRRC Comments, p. 2.

In regard to timing, NFG states that directing a change
in security only if an event materially affects system
operations or reliability potentially subjects all customers
to unnecessary risk that could have been avoided if an
NGS was required to post appropriate security before it
materially impacted system operations. In other words,
NFG believes it is appropriate to have sufficient security
to cover material impacts on the system operations
before, and not after, the event occurs. In addition, NFG
states that an early warning of a supplier’s default could
be discerned from a pattern of operating violations that
may not, at the time, have been material. NFG Com-
ments, pp. 2-3.

PGW recommends that the criteria that would trigger
an adjustment in the level of security for an NGS should
be expanded to include “significant changes in a licensee’s
recent operating history that materially affected NGDC
system operations or reliability on other NGDC systems.”
PGW Comments, pp. 2-3.

NFG objects to the use of the phrases “significant
changes” and “materially affects” because they are too
broad and ambiguous for regulations. NFG also character-
izes the “materiality” clause (as affecting system reliabil-
ity) as a loophole that would only benefit potentially
unreliable NGSs. NFG Comments, pp. 3-4. NFG recom-
mends deletion of this language.

IRRC states that “significant changes” should be de-
fined or clearly explained in § 62.111(c)(1)(ii)(A) and (B).
IRRC also states that the term “material affects” in
§ 62.111(c)(1)([1)(A), (B) and (E) should be defined in each
instance or include the criteria that are to be used in
each instance to determine if there is a material effect.
IRRC’s Comments, p. 1.

Resolution
In regard to circumstances that may warrant a change

in the level of security, we agree that a substantial
change in volume of gas sold by a supplier could warrant
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an adjustment of the security amount, and so we will
revise § 62.111(c)(1)E)C) to add “change in volume of
gas” as a triggering event for adjusting security amounts.

However, security adjustments for changes in the price
of natural gas require more careful consideration. We can
foresee that price volatility could cause an NGDC to
request an ever escalating amount of security for a short
term period. The NGS would then be obliged to request a
change in security when prices fell. Accordingly, we will
add a provision that a 25% change in the unit price of gas
averaged over a consecutive 30 day period will constitute
a significant change in price that would support a change
in security level.

In regard to the percentage change in the number of
customers served, we will follow IRRC’s comment and
better define the changes that may be considered to be a
significant change that could trigger a change in security
levels. Specifically, we have revised § 62.111(c)(1)(ii)(C) to
add a time element so that a significant change in
customer number would be a change of 25% averaged
over a consecutive 30 day period. We have added this
same qualification to better define a change in volume of
gas delivered that could trigger a change in security
amount. We note that a 25% benchmark may appear to
be overly generous, but it cuts both ways. Just as a 25%
increase in customers would act as a triggering event that
would allow an NGDC to increase an NGS’s security
amount, a 25% decrease in customers would act as an
event that would allow a supplier to request a decrease in
security amount.

We have revised the following sections to add language
that explain circumstances relating to credit rating ser-
vices and investment rating services that could materially
affect a licensee’s creditworthiness:

e Section 62.111(c)(1)(ii)(B)—when two of five listed
credit rating companies change the licensee’s credit rat-
ing.

e Section 62.111(c)(1)(ii)(D)—when a two of the five
listed investment ratings service change the licensee’s
ratings of its issued securities.

As now revised, § 62.111(c)(1)(i1)(B) would be applicable
to a supplier’s credit score for obtaining a bond or letter
of credit from an insurance company or bank or other
surety. Section 62.111(c)(1)(ii)(D), as now revised, may be
most applicable to situations where the NGDC has agreed
to to accept a corporate, parental or other third-party
guaranty as security. See § 62.111(c)(2)(iii). To ensure
that a supplier’s change in rating was not a mistake or
fluke, we added the requirement that two of the five
listed major ratings companies would need to make the
change in rating to trigger an adjustment in the security
amount.

In response to IRRC’s comment, we have also revised
§ 62.111(c)(2)(i1)(E) to explain that an NGDC system’s
operation or reliability could be materially impacted when
a supplier fails to deliver natural gas supply sufficient to
meet its customers’ needs on five separate occasions
within a 30 day period, or fails to comply with NGDC
operational flow orders as defined at 52 Pa. Code § 69.11
(relating to definitions). These are only two examples of
how an NGDC could be impacted when a supplier
defaults on gas delivery volumes.

In regard to the comments that urge that changes in an
NGS’s operating history on other NGDC systems that
materially affect system operation and reliability should
also be considered as a basis for adjusting the security
amount, we agree. A record of an NGS’s compliance with

other NGDC system requirements is a fair predictor of its
future compliance with another NGDC’s system require-
ments. For this reason, we believe that the operating
history of an applicant or a licensee on other NGDC
systems may also be considered by an NGDC when it
establishes the initial security amount necessary for the
applicant to be licensed as an NGS in Pennsylvania.
Accordingly, we have revised both §§ 62.111(c)(1)(i)(A)
and 62.111(c)(1)(ii1)(A) consistent with this discussion.

Finally, for consistency, we added a reference to
§ 62.111(c)(i)(A)—(E), as now revised, in § 62.111(c)
(DGE)D) to better explain the phrase “information that
materially affects a licensee’s creditworthiness” in regard
to establishing the initial security amount for NGS
licensing requirement.

§ 62.111(c)(2)—Types of Security

This section lists the legal and financial instruments
that shall be acceptable for security. In the proposed
rulemaking order, we revised the list to include escrow
accounts, accounts pledged to the NGDC or sold by the
supplier in an NGDC purchase of receivables program,
and “calls on capacity” or other operational offsets that
may be mutually agreeable to NGDC and NGS.

In its comments, NFG argues that accounts receivable
that are ‘sold’ cannot be used as security by anyone. NFG
states that the financial exposure imposed by an NGS on
an NGDC may be reduced by a purchase of receivables
program. The accounts receivable will not be a security
instrument, but it will lower the financial exposure of the
NGDC through the ability of the NGDC to “off-set” any
potential liabilities incurred by the NGS with payments
due under the POR. NFG Comments, pp. 5-6.

Equitable states that the final regulations for POR
programs have not yet been established so it is premature
to include receivables as a type of acceptable security.
Currently Equitable forwards NGS receivables once per
calendar month. Equitable questions whether it would be
acceptable for the NGDC to retain 100% of the NGS
receivables if the NGS fails to deliver gas during a winter
month. Equitable also states that an NGDC should be
allowed to retain 100% of NGS receivables in the event of
a mid-month NGS failure to deliver, and receivables
considered to be acceptable security. The receivables
would be used to satisfy the NGS obligations with the
balance, if any, payable to the NGS. Equitable notes that
NGSs have historically failed during periods of a run-up
in gas prices. Equitable Comments, Appendix A, pp. 1-2.

PECO states that if an NGDC purchases NGS customer
receivables, the receivables belong to the NGDC and the
NGDC acquires the increased risk of uncollectible ac-
counts. NGDCs should not be required to use those
receivables to satisfy NGS security requirements. PECO
Comments, p. 4.

IRRC states that the PUC needs to provide further
justification for including accounts receivable as accept-
able security. This direction is based on comments that
receivables cannot quickly be converted to cash, and
alone, should not be an acceptable form of security. IRRC
Comments, p. 2.

RESA suggests adding an additional operational offset
to be used as security in § 62.111(c)(2)(vi): “netting
NGDC gas supply purchases against NGS collateral
requirements.” RESA Comments, p. 7.
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NFG comments that “cash” should be added as a form
of security. NFG also comments that “escrow accounts”
should be deleted as a type of security because of the
administrative expenses involved in maintaining such an
account. NFG Comments, p. 5.

Resolution

The use of the word “sold” in the provision that
permitted purchase of receivables to be used as security
collateral was to provide flexibility to NGDCs in design-
ing “purchase of receivables” programs (POR). Because of
the legal ambiguity unintentionally created, we have
replaced the word “sold” with “assigned.”

In response to IRRC’s comment regarding the need to
justify the use of receivables as a security, we note that
accounts receivable represent a future stream of income
owed to the NGS, and thus, are an asset. As such,
receivables are NGS personal property, a type of security
that has been recognized as an acceptable form of secu-
rity since the regulations were first promulgated on July
21, 2001. See 52 Pa. Code § 62.111(c)(3); 31 Pa.B. 3943.
By way of further explanation, in POR programs NGS
receivables are pledged or are assigned to the NGDC,
thereby transferring an asset to the NGDC which, in
turn, reduces the financial risk to the NGDC in the event
of an NGS default on its obligations, e.g., failure to
deliver gas in the necessary quantities. The discounting of
NGS receivables in an NGDC’s POR accounts for the risk
of uncollectibles, and reduces the NGDC’s overall finan-
cial exposure by improving the quality of those NGS
accounts receivable which now belong to the NGDC. For
these reasons, we Dbelieve that receivables in a POR
program are an acceptable form of security. We will also
adopt RESA’s suggestion and will add the “netting” of
“NGDC gas supply purchases from the NGS” against
“NGS security requirements” as another example of an
operational offset that is acceptable as security in
§ 62.111(c)(2)(vi).

In addition, we will clarify that NGS receivables in a
POR program, or any of the other financial or legal
instruments or property, real or personal, listed as accept-
able forms of security in § 62.111(c)(2) need not by itself
satisfy the entire security amount. The NGS may offer to
provide one or more these forms of security to satisfy the
total security amount required for licensing.

We will also revise this section to add “cash” as an
acceptable type of security at § 62.111(c)(2)(vii). However,
we will not eliminate the use of “escrow accounts” as
suggested by NFG. We understand that there may be
additional costs involved with maintaining an escrow
account, but if the NGDC and NGS are both agreeable to
its use, responsibility for the maintenance cost is just
another point for agreement.

Ideally, the NGS and the NDC will come to an agree-
ment on the amount and the form of security that the
NGS will need to provide to maintain its license. How-
ever, the NGDC’s determinations in regard to the security
amount or the forms of security it will accept is subject to
Commission review and must be reasonable in regard to
the individual supplier and consistent in regard to all
suppliers to guard against discriminatory or anti-
competitive conduct. See 52 Pa. Code § 62.111(c).

§ 62.111(c)(4)—Use of NAESB Standards

This proposed section states that, when practicable, the
NGDC shall use applicable North American Energy Stan-
dards Board (NAESB) forms or language for financial and
legal instruments.

In its comments, Equitable believes that the use of
forms and language in security instruments should also
be at the discretion of the NGDC and proposes the
following language:

When practicable and in the NGDC’s discretion, the
NGDC shall use applicable North American Energy
Standards Board forms or language for financial and
legal instruments that are used for security.

In regard to § 62.111(c)(4), Equitable states that the
use of forms and language in security instruments should
be at the discretion of the NGDC. Equitable Comments,
Appendix A, p. 2.

Resolution

The Commission declines to revise this section. The
standardization of business practices, including forms,
was identified as a means to increase supplier participa-
tion in the statewide retail natural gas supply market.
SEARCH Order, pp. 26-33. NAESB has developed numer-
ous forms that are in use in the natural gas industry
today. While NAESB business practices, forms and lan-
guage for financial and legal instruments will be exam-
ined more thoroughly in the rulemaking, Natural Gas
Distribution Company Business Practices, Order entered
May 1, 2009 at Docket No. L-2008-2069117, we see no
reason not to encourage their use, where practical, here.

§ 62.111(c)(5)—Annual Reporting Requirements

Proposed § 62.111(c)(5) imposes an annual reporting
requirement on the NGDCs. The purpose of this reporting
requirement is to gather information about the NGDC’s
application of established criteria to set and adjust levels
of security for suppliers that operate on the NGDC’s
system. The report will be filed with the Commission’s
Secretary.

PGW comments that § 62.111(c)(5)(iv), which requires
that the NGDC report “the number of times in the last
quarter that the NGDC determined that a change in the
level of security was needed for a supplier to maintain its
license,” should be changed to the number of times in the
last year. PGW Comments, p. 5. EAPA provided the same
comment. EAPA Comments, p. 4.

In its comments, EAPA offers revisions to streamline
and consolidate the new reporting requirements and
clarifies that it is not the NGDC, but the Commission
who grants the license. EAPA states that its revisions
underscore that the amount and form of the security
should be reasonably related to the financial exposure
imposed on the NGDC or SOLR resulting from a potential
default or bankruptcy of the NGS. The criteria estab-
lished for security must “ensure the financial responsibil-
ity” of the licensee in the event of default or bankruptcy,
and EAPA’s proposed revisions use that specific wording.
EAPA Comments, p. 4.

Resolution

The Commission has proposed an annual reporting
requirement to gather information about the criteria used
by NGDCs to establish security amounts and the rules
used by NGDCs to adjust security amounts to obtain, and
maintain an NGS license. See 52 Pa. Code § 62.111(c)(5).
The information collected will be used to study the
criteria and rules used by the NGDCs to establish and
adjust security amounts for NGSs operating on their
systems. The data will also be used to evaluate the
consistency of the application by an NGDC of its criteria
and rules to NGSs operating on its system. It is envi-
sioned that the collected data may also be used to
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standardize these criteria and rules so that they may be
included for use by all NGDCs in a standardized supplier
coordination tariff.

Based on the comments, we have revised the reporting
requirements to clarify that it is the Commission and not
the NGDC that grants an NGS a license. While
§ 62.111(b) makes it clear that the purpose of the security
requirement for licensing is to ensure the licensee’s
financial responsibility, we have added EAPA’s suggested
language that reiterates this point in regard to security
that the licensee must have in place to maintain its
license in § 62.111(c)(5)(i1). We also revised § 62.111(c)
(5)(iv) to delete language that requests data be reported
“for the last quarter” as being inconsistent with an
annual reporting requirement.

§ 62.111(c)(6)—Dispute Resolution Procedures

Proposed § 62.111(c)(6) lists four Commission processes
that an NGS may pursue if it is unable to reach an
agreement with the NGDC on the form or amount of
security to be provided: informal mediation; alternate
dispute resolution with the OALJ; litigation of a formal
complaint; and petition for Commission review of NGDC
criteria for security levels. The first alternative presented,
informal mediation, may be requested by filing a dispute
with the Commission’s Secretary. The Secretary will
assign the complaint to the appropriate bureau that will
act as the mediator between the NGS and the NGDC.

In its comments, RESA suggests that the Commission
add a provision that lists the Commission processes,
formal and informal that an NGS may pursue to resolve a
dispute with the NGDC on the form and/or amount of
security. RESA Comments, p. 9.

NFG states that there is no mention of the Office of
Competitive Market Oversight® in the dispute resolution
section and states that attempting to resolve the dispute
through the OCMO should be required before an NGS can
attempt to obtain other Commission intervention by filing
a formal complaint. NFG Comments, p. 6. PECO com-
ments that supplier complaints should be initially re-
ferred to the OCMO for mediation and advisory purposes.
PECO Comments, p. 5.

NFG also states that the section does not explain how
the financial security should be handled pending the
resolution of the dispute. NFG suggests that in order to
protect system reliability and NGDC ratepayers, an NGS
must post the required security in order to provide or
continue to provide service on the NGDC system pending
the dispute resolution. NFG Comments, p. 7. PECO
comments that the Commission should clarify its intent
that NGSs continue to provide service to customers
during disputes. PECO Comments, p. 5.

Equitable states that the NGDC should have the right
of appeal to the Commission from a bureau decision
concerning NGS security. Equitable Comments, Appendix
A. p. 3. EAPA supports the dispute resolution provision
and suggests revising it to require the NGS first to
attempt to resolve the issue with the NGDC: to assign the
dispute to the OCMO; and to require an existing licensee
to post the adjusted security amount requested by the
NGDC until the dispute is resolved. The rationale is to
ensure that there is adequate security in place to cover
the financial exposure of the NGDC while the dispute is
being resolved. EAPA Comments, p. 5.

6In the SEARCH Action Plan, the Commission directed that an independent unit be
created within the Commission to oversee the development and the functioning of the
competitive retail natural gas market. SEARCH Order, pp. 8-10 and Ordering
Paragraph 5. The unit, the Office of Competitive Market Supply, was created within
the Office of the Director of Operations by Secretarial Letter dated January 9, 2009 at
Docket No. M-2009-2082042.

IRRC states that several commentators noted that the
regulation does not address the NGS’s responsibilities to
customers during the dispute resolution process. IRRC
suggests that, in the final form regulation, the Commis-
sion should clarify the responsibilities of all parties
during the pendency of the dispute. IRRC Comments, p.
2.

Resolution

We have not identified the Office of Competitive Market
Office as the Commission office that will mediate a
dispute about the amount of security because we did not
want to limit our ability in making such assignments. In
§ 62.111(c)(8)(1), we did expand the list of bureaus that
will be involved in informal mediation to include an
“office, or other designated unit.” The term “other desig-
nated unit” is intended to include working groups com-
posed of staff and other stakeholders.

We have included a requirement that the NGS must
contact the NGDC and attempt to resolve the dispute
over the security amount before filing for Commission
intervention through informal mediation, alternative dis-
pute resolution or litigation. We agree that the parties
should make an initial attempt to resolve the differences
between themselves. However, we do not see the necessity
of requiring an existing licensee to go through an infor-
mal mediation process before it may file a formal com-
plaint with the Commission. Accordingly, we will not
adopt this suggestion.

We also will not adopt the suggestion that we provide
for a right of appeal to the Commission from a bureau
decision concerning NGS security because it is unneces-
sary. Section 5.44 of the Commission’s Rules of Practice
and Procedure already permits a party to appeal the
decision of Commission staff. See 52 Pa.Code § 5.44
(relating to petitions for appeal from actions of the staff).

In response to IRRC’s comment, we have added
§ 62.111(c)(9) that clarifies the responsibilities of the
NGS and the NGDC to all parties, including customers,
during the pendency of a dispute, including the require-
ment that the NGS post the amount of security requested
by the NGDC. The Commission notes that it expects that
the security amount requested by the NGDC will be a
good faith estimate necessary to ensure the financial
responsibility of the supplier as this amount may be
subject to change or refund depending on the ultimate
resolution of the dispute.

§ 62.111(c)(7)—NGS Request for Change in Security

RESA states that the NGDCs should be permitted to
request a peak (winter) and off-peak (summer) security
calculation to reflect the decrease in customer load and
thus, a reduction to the NGDC’s risk of supplier default,
during the off-peak period. This formula, which is based
on the New York’s Uniform Business Practices, would
calculate security based on the published gas price fore-
casts, as well as the cost of capacity (generally calculated
as the weighted average cost of capacity), which would
most accurately reflect the costs and risks an NGDC
would face upon supplier default. RESA Comments, p. 4.

RESA also requests the addition of a provision that
permits an NGS to request a reduction in security upon
certain conditions including a rating upgrade to the
minimal rating level of two of the three following agen-
cies: Standard and Poor’s Rating Services, Moody’s Inves-
tor Service, Inc. and Fitch, Inc., or a significant decrease
in the total usage of the supplier’s customers for 30 days;
or a significant decrease in gas supply cost lasting for 30
days. RESA further proposes that a significant reduction
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be defined as a reduction of 25% in total customer load or
in gas supply costs. This addition would further reduce
market entry barriers for suppliers and ensure broader
participation by existing suppliers. RESA Comments, p. 6.

IRRC suggests that the regulation permit suppliers to
request a reduction in security under certain circum-
stances where it is apparent that there is a reduction in
the risk of supplier default. IRRC states that RESA
recommends that specific criteria be used in demonstrat-
ing the reduction of risk and a 5-calendar day time limit
within which the NGDC must make its decision. IRRC
questions if there is an existing process by which the
supplier can seek decreased security requirements. If
there is a process, then it should be included in this
regulation. If there is no process in place, the Commission
should consider including one in the final form regula-
tions. IRRC Comments, p. 1.

Resolution

The Commission first notes that the elimination of the
6 month restriction on adjusting security amounts in
§ 62.111(c)(1)(i1) should facilitate seasonal levels of bond-
ing, and permit a supplier to ask for reduction in security
when the risk of financial exposure to the NGDC de-
creases.

The Commission has provided criteria for the adjust-
ment of security in § 62.111(c)(1)(ii1)(A)—(E) that may be
used by the NGDC to increase the security amount when
financial risk to the NGDC is increased, and by the NGS
to request a reduction in security amount when the
financial risk to the NGDC decreases. Section 62.111(c)(7)
sets forth a procedure, including specific deadlines for
response, that may be used by the NGS to request a
decrease in security amount when the NGS is unable to
come to agreement with an NGDC for a lower security
amount. We believe that these revisions are consistent
with and satisfy RESA’s and IRRC’s comments on this
issue.

Conclusion

The Commission adopts the regulation revised herein
as final. This rulemaking revises § 62.111 to include,
inter alia, the development of reasonable criteria for
establishing the initial security amount and for adjusting
the security amount for an NGS license, regardless of
whether the request for the adjustment is made by the
NGDC or the NGS. Also established is an NGDC annual
reporting requirement that will permit the Commission to
collect data relating to the adjustment of security
amounts and the triggering events, financial or opera-
tional, or both, that triggered the adjustment. The revi-
sion also permits the use of escrow accounts, cash, and
NGS accounts receivable in a Commission-approved POR
program to reduce the total security requirement. Finally,
§ 62.111(c)(7) establishes a process by which a supplier
can request a reduction in security amount, and
§ 62.111(c)(8) sets forth an informal procedure that may
be used by the NGS in lieu of filing a formal complaint to
resolve a dispute with an NGDC over the amount of
security required for licensing. The Commission believes
that these regulations, as revised, better balance the
ability of an NGS to provide adequate security to main-
tain its license with an NGDC’s actual risk of financial
loss in the event of supplier default.

Accordingly, under 66 Pa.C.S. §§ 501, 2203(12) and
2208, sections 201 and 202 of the act of July 31, 1968
(P. L. 769, No. 240) (45 P. S. §§ 1201 and 1202), known as
the Commonwealth Documents Law, and the regulations
promulgated thereunder in 1 Pa. Code §§ 7.1, 7.2, and

7.5, section 204(b) of the Commonwealth Attorneys Act
(71 P.S. § 732.204(b)), section 745.5 of the Regulatory
Review Act (71 P.S.§ 745.5) and section 612 of The
Administrative Code of 1929 (71 P.S. § 232) and the
regulations promulgated thereunder in 4 Pa. Code
§§ 7.231—7.234, the Commission adopts as final the
amendments to § 62.111 as set forth in Annex A; There-
fore,

It Is Ordered That:

1. The regulations of the Commission, 52 Pa. Code
Chapter 62, are amended by amending § 62.111 to read
as set forth in Annex A.

2. The Secretary shall submit this order and Annex A
to the Office of Attorney General for approval as to
legality.

3. The Secretary shall submit this order and Annex A
to the Governor’s Budget Office for review of fiscal
impact.

4. The Secretary shall submit this order and Annex A
for review by the designated standing committees of both

houses of the General Assembly, and for review and
approval by IRRC.

5. The Secretary shall certify this order and Annex A
with the Legislative Reference Bureau for publication in
the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

6. This amendment shall become effective upon publi-
cation in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

7. The contact persons for this final-form rulemaking
are Annunciata Marino, FUS, (717) 772-2151 (technical)
and Patricia Krise Burket, Assistant Counsel, (717) 787-
3464. Alternate formats of this document are available to
persons with disabilities and may be obtained by contact-
ing Sherri DelBiondo, Regulatory Review Assistant, Law
Bureau, (717) 772-4597.

8. A copy of this order and Annex A shall be served on
all jurisdictional natural gas distribution companies,
natural gas suppliers, the Office of Consumer Advocate,
the Office of Small Business Advocate and all other
parties that filed comments at Doc. No. L-2008-2069115,
Licensing Requirements for Natural Gas Suppliers.

9. Within 30 days after the date that this amendment
becomes effective, all natural gas distribution companies
shall file with the Commission’s Secretary revised tariff
pages consistent with this order and this amendment.
The natural gas distribution company shall serve a copy
of this compliance filing on all natural gas suppliers
licensed in its service territory.

ROSEMARY CHIAVETTA,
Secretary

Statement of Vice Chairman Tyrone J. Christy

Before the Commission for consideration is the Final
Rulemaking Order in the above captioned matter, recom-
mending approval of revisions to the Commission’s secu-
rity requirements for licensing of natural gas suppliers
(NGSs) at 52 Pa.Code §§ 62.101—62-114. This rule-
making resulted from our September 11, 2008 Final
Order and Action Plan regarding the Commission’s Inves-
tigation into the Natural Gas Supply Market: Report on
Stakeholder’s Working Group (SEARCH Order), Docket
No. I-00040103F0002. In the SEARCH Order, the Com-
mission determined that one way to increase effective
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competition in the retail natural gas market was to revise
the NGS licensing regulations in regard to the level of
security needed and the forms of security that could be
used to satisfy the statutory security requirement for
licensing. Seven parties filed comments in response to the
proposed rulemaking order: the Energy Association of
Pennsylvania (EAPA); Philadelphia Gas Works (PGW);
National Fuel Gas Distribution Company (NFG); Equi-
table Gas Company (Equitable); PECO Energy (PECO);
the NGS Parties and the Retail Energy Supply Associa-
tion (RESA).

I am concerned about one aspect of the proposed
revisions to our licensing requirements, that being the
inclusion of accounts receivable pledged or assigned to a
natural gas distribution company (NGDC) by a supplier
participating in a NGDC purchase of receivables (POR)
program as an acceptable form of security. It is important
to note that financial security requirements for NGSs are
necessitated by Section 2207(k) of the Public Utility Code,
66 Pa.C.S. § 2207(k), which requires a NGDC, acting as
supplier-of-last-resort, to charge customers returning from
a defaulting NGS the rates the NGS would have charged
the customer for the remainder of the billing cycle. The
statute provides, “Any difference between the cost in-
curred by the supplier of last resort and the amount
payable by the retail gas customer shall be recovered
from the natural gas supplier or from the bond or other
security provided by the natural gas supplier....” The
purpose of the bond or other security is to ensure the
financial responsibility of the NGS.

The addition of accounts receivable as a form of
security has created significant concerns from several of
the parties submitting comments to this rulemaking
proceeding. The EAPA states that participation in a
NGDC POR program by a NGS may reduce the financial
risk or exposure created by the default or bankruptcy of a
NGS and may impact the amount of security necessary,
but participation in the program cannot in itself be the
security. NFG states that the notion that an entity could
use something it has sold or pledged as security is
fundamentally flawed. NFG avers that the receivables
may reduce the financial exposure imposed by a NGS on
a NGDC, but the impact will not be a security instru-
ment. PGW states that receiving a pledge of accounts
receivable is not as simple as receiving a bond, a letter of
credit or being the beneficiary of money deposited into
escrow. PGW avers that it is simply not possible for a
supplier to provide a security interest in accounts receiv-
able that it does not own. Equitable and PECO have
submitted similar concerns on this issue and state that
receivables do not adequately mitigate risk for NGDCs
and should not be eligible for use as security.

I must respectfully dissent, partially, from the majori-
ty’s decision today on this one aspect of the proposed
rulemaking as I agree with the aforementioned comments
that receivables pledged or assigned to a NGDC by a
NGS participating in the NGDC’s POR program should
not be included as an acceptable security instrument or
property. While I agree that the amount of receivables
under a POR program may reduce the financial exposure
by a NGS on a NGDC, that reduced financial exposure
should be considered in the context of the overall NGDC
formula for security. This formula would consider, among
many details, the current level of customers, the volume
of natural gas delivered and the average price of natural
gas. As a result, I would have preferred that the proposed

regulations rely upon adjustments to the level of security
by the aforementioned issue and excluded the use of POR
program receivables as a form of NGS security.

TYRONE J. CHRISTY,
Vice Chairperson

(Editor’s Note: For the text of the order of the Indepen-
dent Regulatory Review Commission relating to this
document, see 40 Pa.B. 6752 (November 20, 2010).)

Fiscal Note: Fiscal Note 57-266 remains valid for the
final adoption of the subject regulation.

Annex A
TITLE 52. PUBLIC UTILITIES
PART I. PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION
Subpart C. FIXED SERVICE UTILITIES

CHAPTER 62. NATURAL GAS SUPPLY CUSTOMER
CHOICE

Subchapter D. LICENSING REQUIREMENTS FOR
NATURAL GAS SUPPLIERS

§ 62.111. Bonds or other security.

(a) A license will not be issued or remain in force until
the licensee furnishes proof of a bond or other security.
See section 2208(c)(1)i) of the act (relating to require-
ments for natural gas suppliers).

(b) The purpose of the security requirement is to
ensure the licensee’s financial responsibility. See section
2208(c)(1)(3) of the act.

(¢) The amount and the form of the security, if not
mutually agreed upon by the NGDC and the licensee,
shall be based on the criteria established in this section.
The criteria shall be applied in a nondiscriminatory
manner. The Commission will periodically review the
established criteria upon petition by any party. The
NGDC shall include the rules, formulas and standards it
uses to calculate and adjust security amounts in a tariff.

(1) The amount of the security should be reasonably
related to the financial exposure imposed on the NGDC or
supplier of last resort resulting from the default or
bankruptcy of the licensee. The amount of security should
reflect the difference between the cost of gas incurred by
the NGDC or supplier of last resort and the amount
payable by the licensee’s retail gas customers during one
billing cycle.

(i) The amount of security established under this para-
graph may be modified based on one or more of the
following:

(A) The licensee’s past operating history on the
NGDC’s system and on other NGDC systems, including
the length of time that the licensee operated on the
NGDC system, the number of customers served and past
supply reliability problems.

(B) The licensee’s credit reports.
(C) The number and class of customers being served.

(D) Information that materially affects a licensee’s
creditworthiness as set forth in subparagraph (ii)(A)—(E).

(E) The licensee’s demonstrated capability to provide
the volume of natural gas necessary for its customers’
needs.

(i1)) The amount of the security may be adjusted as
circumstances warrant. The adjustments must be reason-
able and based on one or more of the following criteria:

(A) A change in a licensee’s recent operating history on
the NGDC system or on other NGDC systems that has
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materially affected NGDC system operation or reliability.
A change that could materially affect NGDC system
operation or reliability may occur when a supplier fails to
deliver natural gas supply sufficient to meet its custom-
ers’ needs, or fails to comply with NGDC operational flow
orders as defined in § 69.11 (relating to definitions).

(B) A change in a licensee’s credit reports that materi-
ally affects a licensee’s creditworthiness. A licensee’s
creditworthiness could be materially affected when two of
the following credit rating companies change the licens-
ee’s credit rating:

(I) Dun & Bradstreet.

(IT) Standard & Poor’s Rating Services, Inc.
(ITIT1) TransUnion LLC.

(IV) Equifax, Inc.

(V) Experian Information Solutions, Inc.

(C) A significant change in the number of customers
served, in the volume of gas delivered, or in the unit price
of natural gas or a change in the class of customers being
served by the licensee. A change over a consecutive 30-
day period of 25% in the number of customers served, in
the volume of gas delivered or in the average unit price of
natural gas would represent a significant change.

(D) A change in operational or financial circumstances
that materially affects a licensee’s creditworthiness. A
licensee’s creditworthiness could be materially affected
when two of the following investment rating companies
change the licensee’s rating of its issued securities from
an investment grade or good rating to a speculative or
moderate credit risk rating, and vice versa:

(I) Standard & Poor’s Rating Services, Inc.
(II) Moody’s Investment Service, Inc.

(ITI) Fitch, Inc.

(IV) A. M. Best Company, Inc.

(V) DBRS, Inc.

(E) A change in the licensee’s demonstrated capability
to provide the volume of natural gas necessary for its
customers’ needs that materially affects NGDC system
operation or reliability. A change that could materially
affect NGDC system operation or reliability may occur
when a supplier fails to deliver natural gas supply
sufficient to meet its customers’ needs on five separate
occasions within a 30-day period, or fails to comply with
NGDC operational flow orders as defined in § 69.11.

(2) The following legal and financial instruments and
property shall be acceptable as security:

(i) Bond.

(ii) Irrevocable letter of credit.

(iii) Corporate, parental or other third-party guaranty.
(iv) Escrow account.

(v) Accounts receivable pledged or assigned to an
NGDC by a licensee participating in the NGDC’s pur-
chase of receivables program that has been approved by
the Commission as being consistent with Commission
orders, guidelines and regulations governing the pro-
grams.

(vi) Calls on capacity, netting NGDC gas supply pur-
chases from the NGS against NGS security requirements,
or other operational offsets as may be mutually agreed
upon by the NGDC and the NGS.

(vii) Cash.

(8) In addition to the requirements in this section,
small suppliers with annual operating revenues of less
than $1 million may utilize real or personal property as
security with the following supporting documentation:

(i) A verified statement from the licensee that it has
clear title to the property and that the property has not
been pledged as collateral, or otherwise encumbered in
regard to any other legal or financial transaction.

(i) A current appraisal report of the market value of
the property.

(4) When practicable, the NGDC shall use applicable
North American Energy Standards Board forms or lan-
guage for financial and legal instruments that are used as
security.

(5) The NGDC shall file an annual report with the
Secretary no later than April 30 of each year. The report
must contain the following information for the prior
calendar year:

(i) The criteria that is used to establish the amount of
security that an applicant must provide to the NGDC in
order to be granted a license by the Commission.

(i) The criteria that is used to determine the amount
of security that a licensee must provide to ensure its
financial responsibility in order to maintain a license.

(iii) The criteria that is used to determine that a
change in the amount of security is needed for the
licensee to maintain a license.

(iv) The number of instances in the last year that the
NGDC determined that a change in the amount of
security was needed for a licensee to maintain its license.
For each instance, the following information shall be
reported:

(A) The name of the licensee involved.
(B) The date of the NGDC’s determination.
(C) The reason for the determination.

(D) The licensee’s response to the NGDC determina-
tion.

(v) The types of legal instruments, financial instru-
ments and property, real and personal, that the NGDC
accepted as security for licensing purposes. For each
security type reported, the following information shall be
reported:

(A) The name of the applicant or licensee involved.

(B) The name and address of the bank, company or
other entity that is acting as the surety or guarantor.

(C) The amount of security.
(D) The date that the security was posted.

(6) When an NGDC determines that an adjustment in
the amount or type of security that a licensee must
provide to maintain its license is warranted, the NGDC
shall provide notice of its determination to the licensee in
writing. The NGDC’s determination must be based on the
criteria in paragraphs (1), (2) and (3). The licensee shall
comply with the NGDC’s determination no later than 5
business days after the date that the licensee was served
with notice of the NGDC’s determination. When the
licensee disagrees with the NGDC’s determination, the
licensee may file a dispute with the NGDC in accordance
with paragraph (8).

(7) A licensee may request that the NGDC adjust the
amount or type of security the licensee must provide to
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maintain its license. The licensee shall provide its request
in writing to the NGDC. The request must be based on
criteria in paragraphs (1), (2) and (3). The NGDC shall
make its determination on the request and provide a
written response to the licensee within 5 business days
after the date that the request was made. When the
NGDC agrees to the requested adjustment in security, the
licensee shall post the security within 5 business days
after the date that the licensee was served with notice of
the NGDC’s determination. When the licensee disagrees
with the NGDC’s determination, the licensee may file a
dispute with the NGDC in accordance with paragraph (8).

(8) When there is a dispute relating to the form or
amount of security, the applicant or licensee shall notify
the NGDC of the dispute and attempt to resolve the
dispute. If a resolution is not reached within 30 days
after the date that the NGDC is notified of the dispute,
the applicant or the licensee may:

(i) Submit the dispute to the Secretary for assignment
to the appropriate bureau, office, or other designated unit
for informal mediation and resolution. A party dissatisfied
with the staff determination may file a petition for appeal
from a decision made by the Bureau under § 5.44
(relating to petitions for appeal from staff) or may file a
formal complaint with the Commission under §§ 5.21 and
5.22 (relating to formal complaints generally; and content
of formal complaint).

(ii) File a formal complaint with the Commission and
request alternative dispute resolution by the Office of
Administrative Law Judge.

(iii) File a formal complaint with the Commission and
proceed with the litigation of the complaint.

(iv) File a petition with the Commission and request
review of the criteria used by the NGDC.

(9) When a licensee submits a dispute or files a formal
complaint relating to an adjustment in security by an
NGDC, the following obligations apply:

(i) The licensee shall provide to the NGDC the adjusted
security amount as directed by the NGDC. The licensee
shall maintain the adjusted amount of security until the
dispute or complaint is resolved or until directed other-
wise by the Commission.

(i1) The licensee shall continue to operate on the NGDC
system in accordance with system operation and business
rules and practices until the dispute or complaint is
resolved or until directed otherwise by the Commission.

(iii) The licensee shall cause to be delivered to the
NGDC system natural gas supply in the volume neces-
sary to fulfill its customers requirements and provide
customer support services until the dispute or complaint
is resolved or until directed otherwise by the Commission.

(iv) The NGDC shall permit the licensee to continue to
operate on the NGDC system until the dispute or com-
plaint is resolved or until directed otherwise by the
Commission.

(d) The licensee shall submit to the Commission docu-
mentation demonstrating that it has complied with the
bonding or security requirement. One copy of each bond,
letter of credit, or other financial or legal instrument or
document evidencing an agreement between the licensee
and the NGDC shall be submitted to the Commission.

(e) Licensee liability for violations of 66 Pa.C.S. (relat-
ing to the Public Utility Code) and Commission orders
and regulations is not limited by these security require-
ments.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 11-5. Filed for public inspection December 30, 2010, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 61—REVENUE

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
[ 61 PA. CODE CH. 1001 ]

Amendments to Pennsylvania Gaming Cash Flow
Management

The Secretary of Revenue, under 4 Pa.C.S. Part II
(relating to Pennsylvania Race Horse Development and
Gaming Act) (act), specifically section 1501 of the act
(relating to responsibility and authority of department),
amends Chapter 1001 (relating to Pennsylvania gaming
cash flow management). The act of January 7, 2010 (P. L.
1, No. 1) (Act 1) further amended the act to authorize
table games in this Commonwealth. The Department of
Revenue (Department) adopts this final-omitted rule-
making to facilitate its responsibilities of cash flow
management of table game revenue under the act.

Because of time constraints associated with implemen-
tation of Act 1, the Department, under section 204 of the
act of July 31, 1968 (P. L. 769, No. 240) (45 P. S. § 1204),
known as the Commonwealth Documents Law (CDL), and
the regulation thereunder, 1 Pa. Code § 7.4 (relating to
omission of notice of proposed rulemaking), finds that
notice of proposed rulemaking, under the circumstances,
is impracticable and, therefore, may be omitted.

The Department’s justification for utilizing the final-
omitted rulemaking process is that it is in the public
interest to implement the regulations for the cash flow
management of table game revenue to facilitate prompt
implementation of its responsibilities as defined by the
act.

Purpose of Final-Omitted Rulemaking

The timely adoption of this final-omitted rulemaking
will provide procedures for the administration and distri-
bution of gross table game revenue.

The act legalizes the operation of table games at a
number of venues across this Commonwealth. The Penn-
sylvania Gaming Control Board (Board) has the primary
responsibility for regulatory oversight of gaming activity
in this Commonwealth and is separately promulgating
regulations in 58 Pa. Code Part VII (relating to Gaming
Control Board).

Explanation of Regulatory Requirements

The Department is amending Chapter 1001 to promul-
gate regulations necessary to implement the cash flow
management of table game revenue in this Common-
wealth for accurate accounting and collection of revenues
due the Commonwealth from table gaming operations.

A broad change has been made throughout the regula-
tions to add “and certificate holder” to the term “licensed
gaming entity.” For purposes of the regulations, the two
terms are used in tandem. Other amendments to the
regulations include the following:

Sections 1001.1 and 1001.2 (relating to scope; and
purpose) are amended to add the term “gross table game
revenue.”
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Section 1001.3 (relating to definitions) amends the
following definitions: “annual minimum distribution” is
revised to reflect changes to section 1403(c)(3) of the act
(relating to establishment of State Gaming Fund and net
slot machine revenue distribution); “CCS” is revised to
accurately reflect the parameters of the system; and
“fund” is amended by adding “and gross table game
revenue.”

In addition, three definitions are added to facilitate the
responsibilities of cash flow management of table game
revenue under this act: “certificate holder,” “General
Fund” and “gross table game revenue.”

Section 1001.4(b) (relating to calculations of credit
against tax and Race Horse Improvement Daily Assess-
ment) is amended to reflect changes to sections 1406(a)(2)
and (2.1) of the act (relating to distributions from Penn-
sylvania Race Horse Development Fund).

“Certificate holders” is added to the heading of § 1001.5
(relating to administration and distribution of moneys
held by licensed gaming entities, certificate holders and
the Commonwealth). The term “General Fund” is added
in subsection (a). Subsection (b) contains new paragraphs
that are inserted regarding “deposits and transfers of
gross table game revenue to Treasury by -certificate
holders.” Former subsection (b) is renumbered to subsec-
tion (¢c) and has been amended to delete “on the same
banking day” to reflect a change in Department proce-
dure. Former subsection (¢) is renumbered to subsection
(d). Subsection (d)(1) and (2) contains new references to
appropriate sections of the act regarding distributions of
local share assessments.

The heading and text of § 1001.6 (relating to adminis-
tration of amounts deposited by licensed gaming entities
and certificate holders with Treasury to pay Common-
wealth gaming related costs and expenses) are amended
to remove the “($5 million)” references and add “certifi-
cate holders.” Language has been inserted with references
to the appropriate section of the act.

Section 1001.7 (relating to deposits of license, permit
and other fees) has been amended to include new lan-
guage regarding deposits of table game fees and fines
within the General Fund.

Section 1001.8 (relating to State Gaming Fund trans-
fers) contains several amendments. Subsection (b)(2) is
amended to replace the January 1 publication date of the
annual inflation adjustment notice with February 1. This
new date reflects a more accurate time frame for filing
the notice. The Department is required to utilize the
Consumer Price Index, which is released in January, for
the annual inflation adjustment. Subsection (c)(1) and (2)
have been amended to add language regarding the certifi-
cate holders’ reporting of table game revenue to the
Department.

Section 1001.10(b) (relating to Pennsylvania Race
Horse Development Fund transfers) is amended to add
language referencing exceptions in the act regarding
distributions from the Pennsylvania Race Horse Develop-
ment Fund.

Fiscal Impact

The Department determined that the final-omitted
rulemaking will have minimal fiscal impact on the Com-
monwealth.

Paperwork

The final-omitted rulemaking will not generate sub-
stantial paperwork for the public or the Commonwealth.

Effectiveness/Sunset Date

The final-omitted rulemaking will become effective
upon publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin. The regu-
lations are scheduled for review within 5 years of publica-
tion. A sunset date has not been assigned.

Contact Person

The contact person for an explanation of the final-form
rulemaking is Mary R. Sprunk, Office of Chief Counsel,
Department of Revenue, Dept. 281061, Harrisburg, PA
17128-1061.

Regulatory Review

Under section 5.1(c) of the Regulatory Review Act (71
P. S. § 745.5a(c)), on November 3, 2010, the Department
submitted a copy of the final-omitted rulemaking to the
Independent Regulatory Review Commission (IRRC) and
to the Chairpersons of the House Committee on Finance
and the Senate Committee on Finance. On the same date,
the final-omitted rulemaking was submitted to the Office
of Attorney General for review and approval under the
Commonwealth Attorneys Act (71 P.S. §§ 732-101—
732-506).

Under section 5.1(j.1) of the Regulatory Review Act, on
December 15, 2010, the final-omitted rulemaking was
deemed approved by the Committees. Under section 5.1(e)
of the Regulatory Review Act, IRRC met on December 16,
2010, and approved the final-omitted rulemaking.

Findings
The Department finds that:

(1) Under section 204 of the CDL, the Department also
finds that the proposed rulemaking procedures in sections
201 and 202 of the CDL (45 P. S. §§ 1201 and 1202) are
unnecessary because it is in the public interest to expe-
dite this rulemaking that reduces the burden to the
taxpayer.

(2) The regulations are necessary and appropriate for
the administration and enforcement of the authorizing
statute.

Order

The Department, acting under the authorizing statute,
orders that:

(a) The regulations of the Department, 61 Pa. Code
Chapter 1001, are amended by amending §§ 1001.1—
1001.8 and 1001.10 to read as set forth in Annex A, with
ellipses referring to the existing text of the regulations.

(b) The Secretary shall submit this order and Annex A
to the Office of General Counsel and Office of Attorney
General for approval as to form and legality as required
by law.

(¢) The Secretary shall certify this order and Annex A
and deposit them with the Legislative Reference Bureau
as required by law.

(d) This order shall take effect upon publication in the
Pennsylvania Bulletin.

C. DANIEL HASSELL,
Secretary

(Editor’s Note: For the text of the order of the Indepen-
dent Regulatory Review Commission relating to this
document, see 41 Pa.B. 118 (January 1, 2011).)

Fiscal Note: 15-450. No fiscal impact; (8) recommends
adoption.
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Annex A
TITLE 61. REVENUE

PART IX. PENNSYLVANIA GAMING CASH FLOW
MANAGEMENT

CHAPTER 1001. PENNSYLVANIA GAMING CASH
FLOW MANAGEMENT

GENERAL PROVISIONS
§ 1001.1. Scope.

This chapter establishes procedures for the administra-
tion and distribution of all net slot machine revenue,
gross table game revenue, collection of tax and collection
of other assessments under the act. In addition, this
chapter clarifies the administrative procedures for trans-
ferring the statutorily established amounts of funding as
prescribed in the act.

§ 1001.2. Purpose.

The purpose of this chapter is to notify prospective
licensed entities and certificate holders, as well as the
general public, of the procedures and requirements for
distributing net slot machine revenue, gross table game
revenue, collection of tax and collection of other assess-
ments.

§ 1001.3. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this
chapter, have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise.

& * & k &

Annual minimum distribution—As provided under the
act, 2% of the gross terminal revenue of the licensed
gaming entity or $10 million, whichever is greater.

£ * & * *

CCS—The central control computer system controlled
by the Department and accessible by the Board, to which
all slot machines communicate for the purpose of record-
ing, reviewing, reporting and auditing real-time informa-
tion regarding the events that occur during the operation
of a slot machine. The system calculates the taxes and
assessments due daily and provides information to the
Department to track daily deposits.

Certificate holder—As defined in section 1103 of the act
(relating to definitions).

Fund—A fiscal and accounting entity with a self-
balancing set of accounts recording cash and other finan-
cial resources, together with all related liabilities and
residual equities or balances and the changes therein,
that are segregated for the purpose of carrying on specific
activities or attaining certain objectives established for
the receipt of gross terminal revenue distributions and
gross table game revenue under the act.

General Fund—The fund into which general, non-
earmarked revenues of the Commonwealth are deposited
and from which monies are appropriated to pay the
general expenses of the Commonwealth.

Gross table game revenue—As defined in section 1103 of
the act.

§ 1001.4. Calculations of credit against tax and
Race Horse Improvement Daily Assessment.

(a) Credit against tax. The amount of the credit must
be equal to the difference between the tax calculated at

the rate in effect when a license was issued to the
licensed gaming entity and certificate holder and the tax
calculated at the increased rate. The credit shall be
applied on a dollar-for-dollar basis but may not extend
beyond the 10-year period following the initial issuance of
the license.

(b) Race Horse Improvement Daily Assessment. The
amount of this assessment shall be calculated in accord-
ance with section 1405(b) of the act (relating to Pennsyl-
vania Race Horse Development Fund).

§ 1001.5. Administration and distribution of mon-
eys held by licensed gaming entities, certificate
holders and the Commonwealth.

(a) Application of section. This section applies to the
collection of tax, the collection of other assessments and
all transfers of moneys to and from the General Fund,
State Gaming Fund, Pennsylvania Gaming Economic
Development and Tourism Fund, Pennsylvania Race
Horse Development Fund and any other fund as specified
in this chapter.

(b) Deposits and transfers of gross table game revenue
to Treasury by certificate holders.

(1) Certificate holders shall make computations of table
game revenue in accordance with section 13A62 of the act
(relating to table game taxes), on a daily basis and report
the computed amount to the Department on a weekly
basis on the form and in the manner prescribed by the
Department.

(2) A deposit is required to be made at the time the
report is submitted to the Department into the Depart-
ment’s collection account established to collect the taxes
and assessments.

(¢) Deposits and transfers to Treasury by licensed gam-
ing entities.

(1) The Department will notify each licensed gaming
entity, Treasury and Office of the Budget of the actual
amount each licensed gaming entity shall be required to
deposit with Treasury as calculated by the CCS in
accordance with sections 1323, 1403 and 1405—1407 of
the act. A licensed gaming entity shall make deposits
with Treasury after receipt of the Department’s notice to
the licensed gaming entity and by the date and times
specified by the Department.

(2) Payments shall be electronically transferred by the
licensed gaming entities and available to the Common-
wealth by the deadline established by the Department.
Moneys shall be deposited in the Department’s Collection
Account.

(8) System problems or failures, such as power outages
and states of emergency, will not excuse the licensed
gaming entity from making the required deposits in a
timely manner. The licensed gaming entity shall immedi-
ately notify the Department and the Board of any of these
problems.

(4) The Department will maintain records of deposits
to the Department’s Collection Account under this chapter
and will share information, as practicable, to assist
Treasury in its reconciliation of deposits into its Concen-
tration Account.

(5) The administration of assessments will be as fol-
lows:

(1) Proration of assessment. Upon imposition of the
annual minimum distribution amount, as specified in
section 1403(c)(3) of the act (relating to establishment of
State Gaming Fund and net slot machine revenue distri-
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bution), regardless of whether the minimum is subject to
the budgetary limitations of section 1403 of the act, the
required minimum shall be prorated for that portion of
the municipality’s fiscal year that the Board determines
that the licensed gaming entity was actually in operation.

(i1) Limitation of assessment. Upon imposition of the
minimum distribution upon the licensed gaming entity,
the required minimum shall be paid in accordance with
the administrative procedures of this section.

(6) The Department reserves the right, upon notice
served upon the licensed gaming entity and the Board, to
temporarily disable the licensed gaming entity’s slot
machines through the CCS until the Department receives
verification that the required deposit has been made.

(d) Distributions of local share assessments.

(1) Distributions of local share assessments to munici-
palities. If a licensed gaming entity and certificate holder
fails to reach the requisite annual minimum distribution
as required under the act within 15 days following the
end of the municipality’s fiscal year, the Department will
notify the licensed gaming entity and certificate holder of
the shortfall and the amount to be remitted. A licensed
gaming entity and certificate holder shall remit the
difference required to meet the requisite annual mini-
mum distribution as required under the act within 15
days following the end of the municipality’s fiscal year.
The licensed gaming entity and certificate holder shall
remit the required payment to the Department for distri-
bution in accordance with sections 1403(c)(3) and
13A63(c) of the act (relating to establishment of state
gaming fund and net slot machine revenue distribution;
and local share assessment). Distributions specified in
this chapter shall be made by the licensed gaming entity
and certificate holder to the Department, no later than 15
days from the Department’s notice of the shortfall.

(2) Distributions of local share assessments to counties.
The Department will make distributions in accordance
with sections 1403(c)(2) and 13A63(b) of the act. If the
minimum distribution exceeds the applicable annual mu-
nicipal allocation cap in section 1403(c)(3) of the act, the
amount in excess of the municipal allocation cap shall be
distributed by the Department in accordance with section
1403(c)(2) of the act.

§ 1001.6. Administration of amounts deposited by
licensed gaming entities and certificate holders
with Treasury to pay Commonwealth gaming re-
lated costs and expenses.

(a) No later than 2 business days prior to the com-
mencement of slot machine operations, the licensed gam-
ing entity and certificate holder shall make all deposits
required under section 1401 of the act (relating to slot
machine licensee deposits) in the Department’s Collection
Account. Upon transfer of the deposit into Treasury’s
Concentration Account, the deposit shall be credited to an
account established in Treasury for the licensed gaming
entity and certificate holder. The account established
shall also be used to recognize and account for all future
deposits required from the licensed gaming entity and
certificate holder by the Department for administrative
costs and all future withdrawals made by the Department
for reimbursement of administrative costs.

(b) Each licensed gaming entity and certificate holder
shall maintain a minimum account balance with Treasury
in accordance with section 1401 of the act.

(c) Moneys related to this account shall be transferred
to the Department’s Collection Account and from Trea-

sury by EFT or other methods of funds transfer in
accordance with § 1001.5(c) (relating to administration
and distribution of moneys held by licensed gaming
entities, certificate holders and the Commonwealth).

(d) Reimbursement of Commonwealth expenses will be
as follows:

(1) The Department will issue to the licensed gaming
entity and certificate holder, periodic assessments of
expenses incurred by the Board, Department, Office of
Attorney General and the Pennsylvania State Police,
regarding expenses directly related to the licensed gam-
ing entity and certificate holder, under budgets approved
by the Board and upon appropriation by the General
Assembly as required in section 1402.1 of the act (relating
to itemized budget reporting). Expenses not included in
budgets approved by the Board may not be assessed
against the licensed entity under this section.

(2) Expenses incurred by the Commonwealth and as-
sessed to the licensed gaming entity and certificate holder
shall be charged back to the licensed gaming entity and
certificate holder and deducted from the licensed gaming
entity’s and certificate holder’s account, as specified in
section 1401 of the act (relating to slot machine licensee
deposits) and this section.

(3) General administrative costs of the Commonwealth
not specifically assessed to a licensed gaming entity and
certificate holder under paragraph (1), shall be borne by
each licensed gaming entity and certificate holder on a
pro rata basis, at the discretion of the Secretary of
Revenue until all Category 1 and Category 2 licensed
gaming entities and certificate holders are operating as
permitted under the act.

§ 1001.7. Deposits of license, permit and other fees.

The fees for manufacturers’ and suppliers’ licenses,
employment permits and other licenses and permits as
the Board may require, excluding license fees paid for
Categories 1, 2 and 3 licenses under sections 1209 and
1305 of the act (relating to slot machine license fee; and
Category 3 slot machine license), shall be deposited with
Treasury into a restricted receipt account within the
State Gaming Fund. Fees to be paid under section 13A61
of the act (relating to table game authorization fee) and
fees related to table games to be paid under section 1208
of the act (relating to collection of fees and fines) shall be
deposited within the General Fund in accordance with
section 13A61(f). The fees deposited within the Gaming
Fund will be transferred from a restricted receipt account
into a restricted revenue account of the State Gaming
Fund to be used by the Board to pay its operating
expenses. License fees paid for Categories 1, 2 and 3
licenses under sections 1209 and 1305 of the act shall be
paid into the State Gaming Fund in accordance with
sections 1209(d) and 1305 of the act.

§ 1001.8. State Gaming Fund transfers.

(a) Application of section. This section applies to the
transfers of moneys to and from the State Gaming Fund.

(b) Quarterly distributions. Quarterly distributions
from the State Gaming Fund to counties or municipalities
in which a licensed facility is located, as determined by
the Board, and as specified in Chapter 14 of the act
(relating to revenues), shall be performed in accordance
with the Governor’s Management Directive 305.4 (relat-
ing to payments to counties), § 1001.5 (relating to admin-
istration and distribution of moneys held by licensed
gaming entities, certificate holders and the Common-
wealth) and the following provisions:
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(1) The Department will submit payment requisitions,
accompanied by documentation, to the Office of the
Budget for payment through Treasury.

(2) The Department will determine the annual inflation
adjustment and will publish notice of the inflation adjust-
ment in the Pennsylvania Bulletin by February 1 of each
year.

(3) The Department will make distributions quarterly,
no later than 30 days following the end of each calendar
quarter.

(¢c) Tax, assessments and credit against tax.

(1) Determinations of gross terminal revenue and the
calculations of taxes and other assessments due will be
determined by the Department based on the actual
calculations by the CCS and the -certificate holders’
weekly reports of table game revenue made to the
Department.

(2) Except in the case of gross table game revenue
which will be self-reported to the Department by the
certificate holders, the Department will notify each li-
censed gaming entity and Treasury of the amount of tax
and other assessments due to the Commonwealth.

(3) Each licensed gaming entity and certificate holder
shall deposit the amount specified in paragraph (2) into
the Department’s Collection Account, in the manner
prescribed under § 1001.5(c).

(4) The Department will enter into an agreement with
each licensed gaming entity setting forth the terms and
conditions of any credit against tax as claimed by the
licensed gaming entity.

(5) Taxes and other assessments due as determined by
the Department shall remain payable by the licensed
gaming entity and certificate holder to the Department in
accordance with section 1501(a) of the act (relating to
responsibility and authority of department) regardless of
any discrepancies between the licensed gaming entity’s
and certificate holder’s calculation and that of the Depart-
ment’s or amounts contested by any party concerning the
credit against taxes due. Resolution of disputed payments
due will be addressed by the Department through adjust-
ments it makes to its calculation of future payment
amounts due. The Department may make adjustments to
its calculation of future payment amounts due after
resolution of any dispute regarding the amount of taxes
due. The Department will provide notice to the Board of
the final calculations of taxes due under this subsection.

(6) Any remittance due that is caused by the imposi-
tion of the tax or other assessments on nonbanking days
as well as holidays shall be remitted by the licensed
gaming entity and certificate holder on the next banking
day. For example, any tax that has accrued on Indepen-
dence Day shall be transferred on the following banking
day.

(d) Imposition of a penalty. Failure to comply with this
section that results in the failure to transmit the requi-
site amounts to the Department’s Collection Account shall
result in the imposition of a penalty of 5% per month up
to a maximum of 25% of the amounts due and unpaid by
the licensed gaming entity and certificate holder. Pay-
ments made by a licensed gaming entity toward delin-
quent amounts, including penalties, shall be allocated to

the licensed gaming entity’s delinquency in accordance
with the priority of payments as specified under section
209 of the Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights (72 P. S. § 3310-209).

§ 1001.10. Pennsylvania Race Horse Development
Fund transfers.

(a) Prior to making each Race Horse Improvement
Daily Assessment against a licensed gaming entity, the
Department will determine the amount of each licensed
gaming entity’s gross terminal revenue.

(b) Except as provided in section 1406(a)(2) and (2.1) of
the act (relating to distributions from Pennsylvania Race
Horse Development Fund), 18% of the gross terminal
revenue of each Category 1 licensed gaming entity shall
be returned to each active and operating Category 1
licensed gaming entity that conducts live racing subject to
the assessment cap in section 1405(c) of the act (relating
to Pennsylvania Race Horse Development Fund), and
subject to the allocations specified in section
1406(a)(1)(1)—(iii) of the act.

(¢) Procedures concerning Pennsylvania Race Horse
Development transfers are as follows:

(1) Department personnel will notify the respective
licensed gaming entity and Treasury of the actual amount
each licensed gaming entity shall be required to deposit
in the Department’s Collection Account as determined by
the CCS. Deposits shall be made on the same banking
day as the date of the notice by the Department.

(2) Moneys shall be transferred by the licensed gaming
entity by EFT or other method as the Department may
require and shall be deposited in the Department’s
Collection Account prior to being transferred to Treasury’s
Concentration Account.

(3) System problems or failures, such as power outages
and states of emergency, will not excuse the licensed
gaming entity from making the required deposits in a
timely manner. The licensed gaming entity shall immedi-
ately notify the Department and the Board of any of these
problems.

(4) The Department will maintain records of the De-
partment’s Collection Account under this chapter and will
share information as practicable, to assist Treasury in its
reconciliation of deposits to its Concentration Account.

(d) The Department will notify each active and operat-
ing Category 1 licensee conducting live racing, Treasury
and Office of the Budget of the amounts each active and
operating Category 1 licensee conducting live racing will
receive. An eligible Category 1 licensee will receive from
Treasury a weekly payment from the Pennsylvania Race
Horse Development Fund in accordance with the act. The
deposits required under section 1406(a)(1)(ii) of the act
will be deducted by the Department before making the
payment to each active and operating licensee and trans-
ferred to the appropriate State fund, under section 1406
of the act.

(1) Payments will be electronically transferred by the
Commonwealth and will be available to the licensee by
the deadline established by the Department.

(2) Both Treasury and the Department will maintain
records of distributions under this chapter and will share
information, as practicable, to assist each agency in its
reconciliation process.
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(e) For purposes of the calculations and distributions of
section 1406(a) of the act, live racing will be determined
annually, and as a Category 1 licensed gaming entity
commences live racing in accordance with section 1303(b)
of the act (relating to additional Category 1 slot machine
license requirements).

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 11-6. Filed for public inspection December 30, 2010, 9:00 a.m.]

Title 67—TRANSPORTATION

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
[ 67 PA CODE CH. 83 ]
Corrective Amendment to 67 Pa. Code § 83.5

The Department of Transportation has discovered a
discrepancy between the agency text of 67 Pa. Code
§ 83.5 (relating to other physical and medical standards)
as deposited with the Legislative Reference Bureau and
as published at 40 Pa.B. 5813 (October 9, 2010) and the
official text as published in the Pennsylvania Code Re-
porter (Master Transmittal Sheet No. 433). Subsection (b)
(relating to disqualification on provider’s recommenda-
tion) was inadvertently omitted.

Therefore, under 45 Pa.C.S. § 901: The Department of
Transportation has deposited with the Legislative Refer-
ence Bureau a corrective amendment to 67 Pa. Code
§ 83.5. The corrective amendment to 67 Pa. Code § 83.5
is effective as of December 4, 2010, the date the defective
official text was announced in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

The correct version of 67 Pa.Code § 83.5 appears in
Annex A.

Annex A
TITLE 67. TRANSPORTATION
PART I. DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
Subpart A. VEHICLE CODE PROVISIONS
ARTICLE IV. LICENSING

CHAPTER 83. PHYSICAL AND MENTAL CRITERIA,
INCLUDING VISION STANDARDS RELATING TO
THE LICENSING OF DRIVERS

§ 83.5. Other physical and medical standards.

(a) General disqualifications. A person who has any of
the following conditions will not be qualified to drive:

(1) Unstable diabetes mellitus leading to severe
hypoglycemic reactions or symptomatic hyperglycemia
unless there has been a continuous period of at least 6
months free from a disqualification in this paragraph.
Once the diabetic condition has stabilized, and as long as
the individual has not had another disqualifying episode
within the last 6 months, the driving privilege may be
restored. The individual shall submit to a diabetic exami-
nation, which includes an HbA1C test as well as a vision
screening, and the treating health care provider shall
certify on a completed form provided by the Department
that the individual has been free from a disqualifying
episode. Thereafter, the individual shall submit to a
diabetic examination, which includes an HbA1C test as
well as a vision screening, in accordance with the follow-
ing schedule:

(i) Six months after the diabetic examination required
in this paragraph, the individual shall submit to a

follow-up diabetic examination and the treating health
care provider shall certify, on a completed form provided
by the Department, that the individual has been free
from a disqualifying episode.

(i1) Twelve months after the previous diabetic examina-
tion, the individual shall submit to a follow-up diabetic
examination and the treating health care provider shall
certify, on a completed form provided by the Department,
that the individual has been free from a disqualifying
episode.

(iii) Twenty-four months after the previous diabetic
examination, the individual shall submit to a follow-up
diabetic examination and the treating health care pro-
vider shall certify, on a completed form provided by the
Department, that the individual has been free from a
disqualifying episode.

(iv) Forty-eight months after the previous diabetic ex-
amination, the individual shall submit to a follow-up
diabetic examination and the treating health care pro-
vider shall certify, on a completed form provided by the
Department, that the individual has been free from a
disqualifying episode.

(v) Diabetic examination may be required more fre-
quently if recommended by the treating health care
provider.

(vi) Providing the condition of the individual remains
under good control, the individual will not be required to
submit to additional diabetic examinations.

(2) A waiver may be granted if an individual has been
previously free from severe hypoglycemic reactions or
symptomatic hyperglycemia for the preceding 6 months
and the subsequent severe hypoglycemic reaction or
symptomatic hyperglycemia occurred while the individual
was under the treating health care provider’s care, during
or concurrent with a nonrecurring transient illness, toxic
ingestion or metabolic imbalance. This waiver will only be
granted if the treating health care provider submits
written certification indicating it is a temporary condition
or isolated incident not likely to recur.

(8) Cerebral vascular insufficiency or cardiovascular
disease which, within the preceding 6 months, has re-
sulted in one or more of the following:

(i) Syncopal attack or loss of consciousness.
(i) Vertigo, paralysis or loss of qualifying visual fields.

(4) Periodic episodes of loss of consciousness which are
of unknown etiology or not otherwise categorized, unless
the person has been free from episode for the year
immediately preceding.

(b) Disqualification on provider’s recommendation. A
person who has any of the following conditions will not be
qualified to drive if, in the opinion of the provider, the
condition is likely to impair the ability to control and
safely operate a motor vehicle:

(1) Loss of a joint or extremity as a functional defect or
limitation.

(2) Impairment of the use of a joint or extremity as a
functional defect or limitation.
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(1) The provider should inform the patient of the
prohibition against driving due to the functional impair-
ment.

(ii) The provider shall inform the Department in writ-
ing of the impairment if the condition has lasted or is
expected to last longer than 90 days.

(3) Rheumatic, arthritic, orthopedic, muscular, vascular
or neuromuscular disease.

(i) The provider should inform the patient of the
prohibition against driving due to the functional impair-
ment.

(i1) The provider shall inform the Department in writ-
ing of the impairment if the condition has lasted or is
expected to last longer than 90 days.

(4) Cerebral vascular insufficiency or cardiovascular
disease which, within the preceding 6 months, has re-
sulted in lack of coordination, confusion, loss of aware-
ness, dyspnea upon mild exertion or any other sign or
symptom which impairs the ability to control and safely
perform motor functions necessary to operate a motor
vehicle.

(5) Mental disorder, whether organic or without known
organic cause, as described in the current Diagnostic and
Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) published
by the American Psychiatric Association, 1700 18th Street
NW, Washington, DC 20009, especially as manifested by
the symptoms set forth in subparagraphs (i)—(iii). While
signs or symptoms of mental disorder may not appear
during examination by the provider, evidence may be
derived from the person’s history as provided by self or
others familiar with the person’s behavior.

(i) Inattentiveness to the task of driving because of, for
example, preoccupation, hallucination or delusion.

(i1) Contemplation of suicide, as may be present in
acute or chronic depression or in other disorders.

(iii) Excessive aggressiveness or disregard for the
safety of self or others or both, presenting a clear and
present danger, regardless of cause.

(6) Periodic episodes of loss of attention or awareness
which are of unknown etiology or not otherwise catego-
rized, unless the person has been free from episode for
the year immediately preceding, as reported by a licensed
physician.

(7) Use of any drug or substance, including alcohol,
known to impair skill or functions, regardless whether
the drug or substance is medically prescribed.

(8) Other conditions which, in the opinion of a provider,
is likely to impair the ability to control and safely operate
a motor vehicle.

(¢) Driving examination. A person who has any of the
conditions enumerated in subsection (b)(1), (2), (3) or (8)
may be required to undergo a driving examination to
determine driving competency, if the Department has
reason to believe that the person’s ability to safely
operate a motor vehicle is impaired. The person may be
restricted to driving only when wutilizing appropriate
adaptive equipment.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 11-7. Filed for public inspection December 30, 2010, 9:00 a.m.]
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