Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Bulletin website includes the following: Rulemakings by State agencies; Proposed Rulemakings by State agencies; State agency notices; the Governor’s Proclamations and Executive Orders; Actions by the General Assembly; and Statewide and local court rules.

PA Bulletin, Doc. No. 97-1928



Notice of and Amount of Surcharge

[27 Pa.B. 6287]

   The Medical Professional Liability Catastrophe Loss Fund, under the authority granted by section 701(e) of the Health Care Services Malpractice Act (40 P. S. § 1301.701(e)), as amended by Act 135 of 1996, has determined that the annual surcharge to be assessed for calendar year 1998 shall be 64% applied to the prevailing primary premium for each health care provider.

   Act 135 of 1996 defines ''prevailing primary premium'' as the schedule of occurrence rates approved by the Insurance Commissioner for the Joint Underwriting Association (JUA). For purposes of the 1998 annual surcharge, the JUA rates to be used are $300,000/$900,000 for health care providers other than hospitals, and $300,000/$1,500,000 for hospitals. The filing does not incorporate any subsequent modifications to the approved rates of the JUA that were in effect as of January 1, 1997.

   Health care providers having approved self-insurance plans shall be surcharged an amount equal to the surcharge imposed on a health care provider of like class, size, risk and kind as determined by the Fund's Director.


[Pa.B. Doc. No. 97-1928. Filed for public inspection November 28, 1997, 9:00 a.m.]

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Bulletin full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.