Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Bulletin website includes the following: Rulemakings by State agencies; Proposed Rulemakings by State agencies; State agency notices; the Governor’s Proclamations and Executive Orders; Actions by the General Assembly; and Statewide and local court rules.

PA Bulletin, Doc. No. 98-769



[49 PA. CODE CH. 31]


[28 Pa.B. 2289]

   The State Board of Veterinary Medicine (Board) proposes to amend § 31.41 (relating to schedule of fees) to read as set forth in Annex A. The proposed amendment will readjust fees for veterinarian and animal technical license applications, temporary permits and continuing education provider approvals to equal the actual cost of processing requests and issuing documents.

Effective Date

   The new fees will be effective on publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

Statutory Authority

   Section 13(a) of the Veterinary Medicine Practice Act (act) (63 P. S. § 485.13(a)), requires the Board to establish fees by regulation. Section 13(b) of the act requires the Board to increase fees to meet or exceed projected expenditures if the revenues raised by fees, fines and civil penalties are not sufficient to meet expenditures.

Description of Proposed Amendment

   The following chart describes the proposed changes:

Proposed Current
Application for License:
Application for Certification:
   Animal Health Technician
$35 $15
Temporary Permit $35 $55
Continuing Education Program Approval $35 $25

Purpose and Need for the Proposed Amendment

   The existing fees for applications, approvals and permit were established in the Board's first biennial reconcilia-tion of revenue and expenses in 1988. Fees for processing applications and approvals were based upon actual costs. Fees for these services reflected an administrative overhead charge per application of $7.62. In FY 1996-97, the administrative overhead charge per application was $16.69. Much of the increase can be attributed to an increase in personnel costs, the fact that the Bureau now pays rent for office space (not applicable in 1988), and upgraded computer equipment.

Fiscal Impact

   The proposed amendment will increase the application fee for veterinarians and animal health technicians, increase the continuing education program approval fee and decrease the temporary permit fee in this Commonwealth. A veterinarian will pay an additional $15 for an initial or reactivated license. An animal health technician will pay an additional $20 for initial certification and a continuing education provider will pay an additional $10 for program approval. A temporary permit fee will be reduced $20. The proposal should have no other fiscal impact on the private sector, the general public or political subdivisions.

Paperwork Requirements

   The proposed amendment will require the Board to alter some of its forms to reflect the new fees; however, the proposed amendments should not create additional paperwork for the private sector.

Regulatory Review

   Under section 5(a) of the Regulatory Review Act (71 P. S. § 745.5(a)), on May 5, 1998, the Board submitted a copy of this proposed amendment to the Independent Regulatory Review Commission (IRRC) and the Chairpersons of the House Professional Licensure Committee and the Senate Consumer Protection and Professional Licensure Committee. In addition to submitting the proposed amendment, the Board has provided IRRC and the Committees with a copy of a detailed Regulatory Analysis Form prepared by the Board in compliance with Executive Order 1996-1, ''Regulatory Review and Promulgation.'' A copy of this material is available to the public upon request.

   Under section 5(g) of the Regulatory Review Act, if IRRC has objections to any portion of the proposed amendment, it will notify the Board within 10 days of the close of the Committees' review period. The notification shall specify the regulatory review criteria which have not been met by that portion. The Regulatory Review Act specifies detailed procedures for review, prior to final publication of the amendment, by the Board, the General Assembly and the Governor of objections raised.

Public Comment

   Interested persons are invited to submit written comments, suggestions or objections regarding this proposed rulemaking to Robert Kline, Administrator, State Board of Veterinary Medicine, P. O. Box 2649, Harrisburg, PA 17105-2649 within 30 days following publication of this proposed rulemaking in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.


   Fiscal Note: 16A-577. No fiscal impact; (8) recommends adoption.

Annex A






§ 31.41.  Schedule of fees.

   An applicant for a license, certificate or service shall submit a payment at the time of the request under the following fee schedule:


   Application for original, reactivated, reissued
or reciprocal license . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . [$20] $35

*      *      *      *      *

   Application for continuing education program
approval . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .[$25] $35

*      *      *      *      *

   Temporary permit . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . [$55] $35

*      *      *      *      *

Animal health technicians:

   Application for certification . . . . . . . . . . . . . . [$15] $35

*      *      *      *      *

   Application for continuing education program
approval . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .[$25] $35

*      *      *      *      *

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 98-769. Filed for public inspection May 15, 1998, 9:00 a.m.]

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Bulletin full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.