Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Bulletin website includes the following: Rulemakings by State agencies; Proposed Rulemakings by State agencies; State agency notices; the Governor’s Proclamations and Executive Orders; Actions by the General Assembly; and Statewide and local court rules.

PA Bulletin, Doc. No. 06-2529


Notice to All Pennsylvania Workers' Compensation Insurers and Self-Insured Employers

[36 Pa.B. 7927]
[Saturday, December 23, 2006]

   On November 9, 2006, Governor Edward G. Rendell signed into law Act 147 (Act 147). As a part of Act 147, the Legislature amended the language in section 306(h) of the Workers' Compensation Act (act) (77 P. S. § 583). This notice is being provided to make individuals aware of this amendment and to their your cooperation to timely implement its provisions.

   Beginning on January 1, 2007, Act 147 increases the payment under section 306(h) of the act on eligible claims to $100 per week, extends the entitlement to this payment to any person receiving compensation under section 306(a), (c)(23) or 307 of the act for an injury occurring prior to August 31, 1993, and removes claims under section 306(b) of the act from eligibility for this entitlement. Although Act 147 modifies the class and amount of section 306(h) payments, it does not change the payment mechanism for these claims. Section 306(h) payments are still to be reimbursed in advance by the Commonwealth during fiscal years where appropriations are made for these reimbursements.

   Therefore, the Bureau is requesting that all insurers and self-insured employers submit a listing (by means of electronic media or paper) of all pre-August 31, 1993, claims on which compensation is to be paid under section 306(a), (c)(23) or 307 of the act, in an amount less than $100 per week as of January 1, 2007, containing the following particulars: (1) Bureau code; (2) name of the claimant; (3) Social Security number; (4) claimant's date of birth; (5) date of injury; (6) name of employer; (7) Insurer claim number; and (8) Current Weekly Compensation Rate. Insurers and self-insured employers who have no pre-August 31, 1993 claims on which compensation is to be paid under section 306(a), (c)(23) or 307 should so advise the Bureau.

   Provide this information (listing of pre-August 31, 1993, claims or notification of no such claims) to the Bureau by January 22, 2007.

   It is preferred that this information be submitted by means of electronic media using the spreadsheet and transmittal instructions located at Click on the ''Workers Comp/SWIF'' link found at the bottom right-hand corner of the page, and then on the ''Bureau of Workers' Compensation'' link. Scroll down to Announcements and click on the link titled, ''Act 147 Spreadsheet.''

   Individuals who prefer to submit the information on paper, a listing should be submitted to the Bureau by mail to Terry Titus, Statistical Information Services Section, Claims Management Division, Bureau of Workers' Compensation, 1171 South Cameron Street, Room 103, Harrisburg, PA 17104.

   Further information regarding this notice may be obtained by contacting the Bureau at (717) 772-3702 or


[Pa.B. Doc. No. 06-2529. Filed for public inspection December 22, 2006, 9:00 a.m.]

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Bulletin full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.