Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Bulletin website includes the following: Rulemakings by State agencies; Proposed Rulemakings by State agencies; State agency notices; the Governor’s Proclamations and Executive Orders; Actions by the General Assembly; and Statewide and local court rules.

PA Bulletin, Doc. No. 20-618



COVID-19 Guidance Regarding Temporary Individual Resident Producer Licensure; Notice 2020-12

[50 Pa.B. 2354]
[Saturday, May 2, 2020]

 Due to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, all producer examination testing centers are currently closed in this Commonwealth and will remain closed until further notice. Therefore, to assure the continuity of certain vital insurance services and to address the disruption caused by the COVID-19 pandemic, the Insurance Department (Department) is issuing this notice to all insurance companies, agencies and interested parties in this Commonwelath. Under section 609-A of The Insurance Department Act of 1921 (act) (40 P.S. § 310.9), the Department will begin the issuance of temporary producer licenses to those qualifying individuals wishing to become resident insurance producers in this Commonwealth.

 The temporary licensing of individual resident insurance producers will be subject to the following terms and mandates:

Prerequisites for Temporary Licensure:

 • An insurance company holding an active certificate of authority in this Commonwealth must sponsor (Sponsoring Insurer) the individual for temporary licensure. The individual need not be an employee of the insurance company but must be actively appointed to represent the Sponsoring Insurer. The Sponsoring Insurer must be authorized to write the lines of insurance in which the individual is applying. The appointment will be in effect only as long as the temporary license is valid.

 • Temporary licensees will only be permitted to hold an appointment with one Sponsoring Insurer.

 • Only the Sponsoring Insurer is permitted to submit applications on behalf of individuals for temporary licensure.

 • Twenty-four credit hours of prelicensing education must be completed by the individual prior to issuance of a temporary license, which may be administered by a Department-approved provider. While in-person, pre-licensing education has been temporarily suspended in this Commonwealth, web-based education is still available through Department-approved providers. If an individual is not able to find web-based, prelicensing education through a Commonwealth provider, the Sponsoring Insurer must certify to the Department that the insurer has conducted 24 credit hours of its own prelicensing education for the individual applicant.

 • The individual seeking temporary licensure must complete the fingerprinting/background check process through the Department.

 • An application fee of $55 must be paid to the Department. If a temporary licensee takes and passes the appropriate producer licensing exam prior to the expiration of the temporary license, the Department will waive the application fee to become a fully-licensed resident producer without requiring an additional application or fingerprinting/background check.

 • If a temporary licensee takes and passes the appropriate producer licensing exam within 6 months after the expiration of the temporary license, the temporary licensee must complete the fingerprinting/background check process through the Department to be fully-licensed as a resident producer. However, no additional fee or application is required.

 • The Sponsoring Insurer will confirm to the Department that the temporary licensee's sales activities and training are coordinated by a fully-licensed resident insurance producer in this Commonwealth in good standing with the Department or, where applicable, a Financial Industry Regulatory Authority licensed registered principal.

Terms and Conditions for Insurers and Temporary Producer Licensees:

 • The temporary producer license allows the individual to operate in this Commonwealth as a resident temporary producer. Temporary producers are not eligible for nonresident licenses in other states.

 • The temporary license is valid for no more than 180 days from the date of issuance. This temporary license is nontransferable and cannot be renewed.

 • Each temporary licensee shall have only one Sponsoring Insurer and appointment.

 • Individuals receiving a temporary license will receive notification from the Department of the issuance of the temporary individual resident producer license, along with all restrictions, entitlements and notice of expiration. Directions will be provided for how the licensee can print the license to show proof of temporary licensure.

 • Under section 609-A(d) of the act (40 P.S. § 310.9(d)), the Department may revoke a temporary license if it is deemed in the public interest. Any founded violations of the Commonwealth insurance law or regulations may result in immediate revocation of the temporary license.

 • Any active temporary producer license issued by the Department may be converted to a regular producer license by completion of all prerequisites of a license for the desired lines of authority, including meeting all examination and fingerprint requirements under Commonwealth statute.

 • The Sponsoring Insurer must keep track of which licensees have been provided a temporary license in order to quickly move them through the exam and background process once testing centers are again available for use.

How to Apply:

 • Sponsoring Insurers must submit applications for the temporary license electronically at through a subscriber account. To apply for the temporary license, the sponsoring insurer must be a Sircon account holder.

 • If the Sponsoring Insurer does not have a Sircon account, go to and follow the instructions to establish an account.

 • Any questions regarding Sircon carrier accounts should be directed to or (877) 876-4430.

Anticipated Timeline for Implementation and Duration:

 • The Department anticipates being able to begin the temporary resident producer licensing process by the end of April.

 • The application process will take approximately 20 to 25 days from prelicensing education to issuance of the temporary license to the individual.

 • This extended timeline is due to COVID-19 related delays in the processing of background checks. If those delays are alleviated, this timeline may be accelerated in the coming weeks.

 • Insurers, agencies and interested parties in this Commonwealth are encouraged to monitor the Department's web site at for periodic updates regarding the availability of the temporary license.

 • The ability to apply for temporary licensure will remain in effect until which time that the Commissioner determines that temporary licensure in no longer in the public interest. However, previously-issued temporary licenses will still remain in effect until 180 days from the date of issuance.

Note on Remote Testing:

 • In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Department is currently working with its examination vendor to make remote electronic testing available and anticipates possible implementation in late summer or early fall.

 Individual with questions about this notice should contact the resource account,, (717) 787-3840.

Insurance Commissioner

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 20-618. Filed for public inspection May 1, 2020, 9:00 a.m.]

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Bulletin full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.