Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Bulletin website includes the following: Rulemakings by State agencies; Proposed Rulemakings by State agencies; State agency notices; the Governor’s Proclamations and Executive Orders; Actions by the General Assembly; and Statewide and local court rules.

PA Bulletin, Doc. No. 23-1011



Adjustment of Minimum Waiver Expenditure for Emission Inspection

[53 Pa.B. 4068]
[Saturday, July 29, 2023]

 Effective September 1, 2023, the minimum waiver expenditure for an emission inspection is established at $450 in accordance with 67 Pa. Code § 177.282 (relating to annual adjustment of minimum waiver expenditure for emission inspection).

 An emissions waiver is available if a vehicle has failed an initial emission inspection, qualifying repairs have been completed and the subject vehicle has failed a retest. To qualify for this waiver, a customer must demonstrate they expended $450 on qualifying repairs, which include without limitation attempting to diagnose the emissions failure, and have met all other applicable requirements of 67 Pa. Code § 177.281 (relating to issuance of waiver). The minimum waiver expenditure will be adjusted on September 1, 2024, and future adjustments will be made annually under 67 Pa. Code § 177.282.

 Emission inspection stations and certified repair technicians with questions may contact the Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Vehicle Inspection Division at (717) 787-2895.


[Pa.B. Doc. No. 23-1011. Filed for public inspection July 28, 2023, 9:00 a.m.]

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Bulletin full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.