Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 53 Pa.B. 7346 (November 25, 2023).

6 Pa. Code § 15.121. Protective services staff qualifications.

STAFF TRAINING AND EXPERIENCE STANDARDS


§ 15.121. Protective services staff qualifications.

 (a)  General. The area agency on aging shall assure that staff directly involved with the protective services caseload meet the minimum standards of training and experience in this chapter. The minimum standards apply to staff assigned to protective services on a full-time basis, a part-time basis or as standby staff. The minimum standards apply to incumbent staff as well as those hired after November 26, 1988.

 (b)  Criminal record. The protective services agency shall require persons to be hired or to be assigned to carry out responsibilities for protective services investigations, assessments and service planning and arrangement to submit the following information:

   (1)  Under 18 Pa.C.S. § §  9101—9183 (relating to the criminal history record information act), a report of criminal history record information from the State Police or a statement from the State Police that the State Police Central Repository contains no information relating to that person. The criminal history record information shall be limited to that which is disseminated under 18 Pa.C.S. §  9121(b)(2) (relating to general regulations).

   (2)  If the applicant or assignee is not a resident of this Commonwealth, a report of Federal criminal history record information under the Federal Bureau of Investigation appropriation of Title II of the Act of October 25, 1972 (Pub. L. No. 92-544, 86 Stat. 1109).

 (c)  Staff training and experience requirements. The minimum standards for protective services job functions are as follows:

   (1)  Protective services supervisor. A protective services supervisor shall:

     (i)   Have 3 years direct aging casework experience or an equivalent combination of education and experience.

     (ii)   Complete the curriculum described in §  15.122 (relating to protective services casework training curriculum).

     (iii)   Complete the curriculum described in §  15.123 (relating to protective services investigation training curriculum) if the protective services supervisor will be performing protective services investigations.

     (iv)   Complete written evaluations that assess competencies achieved by the learner.

     (v)   Undergo in-service training in protective services annually as required by the Department.

   (2)  Protective services caseworker. A protective services caseworker shall:

     (i)   Have 1 year direct aging casework experience.

     (ii)   Complete the curriculum described in §  15.122.

     (iii)   Complete the curriculum described in §  15.123.

     (iv)   Complete written evaluations that assess competencies achieved by the learner.

     (v)   Undergo in-service training in protective services annually as required by the Department.

   (3)  Protective services intake workers. Staff persons designated to receive reports of older adults who need protective services shall complete the curriculum under §  15.124 (relating to protective services intake training curriculum).

Source

   The provisions of this §  15.121 amended May 17, 2002, effective May 18, 2002, 32 Pa.B. 2412. Immediately preceding text appears at serial pages (228925) to (228927).

Cross References

   This section cited in 6 Pa. Code §  15.2 (relating to definitions); 6 Pa. Code §  15.11 (relating to administrative functions and responsibilities of the Department); 6 Pa. Code §  15.13 (relating to organization and structure of protective services functions); 6 Pa. Code §  15.26 (relating to screening and referral of reports received); 6 Pa. Code §  15.41 (relating to reports required to be investigated); 6 Pa. Code §  15.46 (relating to law enforcement agencies as available resources); 6 Pa. Code §  15.125 (relating to availability of training); and 6 Pa. Code §  15.126 (relating to training evaluation).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.