Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 52 Pa.B. 4384 (July 30, 2022).

6 Pa. Code § 15.142. Employee requirements.

§ 15.142. Employee requirements.

 (a)  The following employees are required to submit a criminal history report:

   (1)  Administrators and operators who have direct contact with clients and who began serving as administrators and operators after July 1, 1998. Residents of this Commonwealth shall comply within 30 days of employment and nonresidents shall comply within 90 days.

   (2)  Employees of a facility who were employed after July 1, 1998. Residents of this Commonwealth shall comply within 30 days of employment and nonresidents shall comply within 90 days.

   (3)  Exceptions are as follows:

     (i)   Employees of the facility on July 1, 1998, who were employed by the facility for a continuous period of at least 1 year prior to July 1, 1998.

     (ii)   Employees who have complied with this section who transfer to another facility established or supervised, or both, by the same operator.

     (iii)   Employees who are employed by a new facility solely through a transfer of ownership of that facility.

     (iv)   A consumer attendant.

     (v)   An individual providing care to a care-dependent person, and employed by the care-dependent person, or by another person designated by the care-dependent person, and not by or through a home health care agency.

     (vi)   An individual, employed by an enterprise that operates facilities and nonfacilities in the same physical location, who has no employment responsibilities in the facility (Example: An individual employed by a hospital which also has within it a long-term care nursing unit. The individual is employed to work in the hospital).

     (vii)   A contract employee who has neither direct contact with residents in a facility nor unsupervised access.

     (viii)   An individual, employed by a home health agency or other entity that supplies, arranges for, or refers personnel to provide care to care-dependent persons, who is employed for purposes other than providing care in a facility or in a recipient’s place of residence (example: an individual employed as a bookkeeper by an agency which supplies homemaker/home health aides).

     (ix)   An individual functioning in a facility as a volunteer.

 (b)  Employees at facilities that supply, arrange for, or refer their employees to provide care in other facilities shall provide a criminal history report to the facility that supplies, arranges for, or refers them and to the facility at which they provide care. The exemptions of this section are applicable to these employees. (Example: Employees of a home health care staffing agency assigned by the agency to provide care in a long-term care nursing facility must provide a criminal history report to the staffing agency and to the long-term care nursing facility.) The staffing agency shall be responsible for notifying the employee of criminal history report requirements.

 (c)  Criminal history reports provided by the Department of Education, under the Nurse Aide Resident Abuse Prevention Training Act (63 P. S. § §  671—680), which meet the criteria established in this chapter may be accepted to satisfy the requirements of this chapter.

Source

   The provisions of this §  15.142 adopted May 17, 2002, effective May 18, 2002, 32 Pa.B. 2412.

Cross References

   This section cited in 6 Pa. Code §  15.41 (relating to reports required to be investigated); and 6 Pa. Code §  15.147 (relating to violations).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.