Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 53 Pa.B. 7346 (November 25, 2023).

6 Pa. Code § 15.158. Penalties.

§ 15.158. Penalties.

 (a)  Administrative.

   (1)  An administrator or a designee or facility owner who intentionally or willfully fails to comply or obstructs compliance with § §  15.151—15.157 or who intimidates or commits a retaliatory act against an employee who complies in good faith with this chapter commits a violation of this chapter and shall be subject to an administrative penalty.

   (2)  Violations and penalties shall be determined by the Commonwealth agency that regulates the facility. The Commonwealth agency may issue an order assessing a civil penalty of not more than $2,500. An order issued under this paragraph is subject to due process as set forth in 2 Pa.C.S. § §  501—508 and 551—555 (relating to practice and procedure of Commonwealth agencies; and practice and procedure of local agencies) and judicial review in 2 Pa.C.S. § §  701—704 and 751—754 (relating to judicial review of Commonwealth agency action; and judicial review of local agency action).

   (3)  Representatives of the Departments of Aging, Health and Welfare who suspect violations of this section will report them to the appropriate Commonwealth licensing agency under procedures developed by the Department in consultation with the licensing agency. The report shall be made in writing and include, at a minimum, the facility, the administrator, owner, operator or designee suspected of committing the violation and a description of the suspected violation.

 (b)  Criminal. An administrator or a designee or facility owner who intentionally or willfully fails to comply, or obstructs compliance, with § §  15.151—15.157 commits a misdemeanor of the third degree and shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to pay a fine of $2,500 or to imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or both.

 (c)  Penalties for failure to report. A person required to report a case of suspected abuse under § §  15.151—15.157 and who willfully fails to do so commits a summary offense for the first violation and a misdemeanor of the third degree for a second or subsequent violation. If the agency learns of a refusal to complete all reporting requirements, the agency shall notify the police within 72 hours.


   The provisions of this §  15.158 adopted May 17, 2002, effective May 18, 2002, 32 Pa.B. 2412.

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.