Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 54 Pa.B. 488 (January 27, 2024).

12 Pa. Code § 149.4. Installer training and certification.

§ 149.4. Installer training and certification.

 (a)  Training.

   (1)  The Department will develop or designate acceptable training curricula for individuals seeking certification as an installer. The Department will annually review the training curricula.

   (2)  Those desiring to provide training should submit an application to the Department. The application must contain the application fee, and the proposed curriculum. During the application evaluation process, the Department may request the submission of additional information from those desiring to provide training.

   (3)  Upon approval of a training curriculum, a training provider shall coordinate the scheduling of courses with the Department. Upon completion of each course, a training provider shall submit to the Department a list of course participants and the required fee, established in §  149.7 (relating to fees), for each participant. A training provider shall indicate on the list of course participants which participants successfully completed the course.

   (4)  The Department will publish annually a list of approved curriculum in the Pennsylvania Bulletin. Individuals seeking certification as an installer may also contact the Department to obtain a listing of the approved curriculum.

 (b)  Certification.

   (1)  Individuals seeking certification as an installer shall successfully complete the designated training curriculum; provide evidence of the successful completion of the designated training curriculum at the time of application; and pay the required fee, established in §  149.7, to the Department. Application shall be made on a form provided by the Department. An individual does not qualify as and may not represent himself to be an installer until the individual has received written certification from the Department.

   (2)  Certification as an installer is valid for 1 year from the date of issuance by the Department. Installers shall reapply for certification each year.

   (3)  An installer is required to successfully complete a specified training curriculum at least every 3 years.

   (4)  A person who has successfully completed a training curriculum approved by the Department as described in subsection (a), prior to June 24, 2006, may apply for certification as an installer in the manner provided in this section without successfully completing an additional training curriculum. However, if the training curriculum was successfully completed more than 2 years before June 24, 2006, the applicant has 12 months to comply with subparagraph (3).

Cross References

   This section cited in 12 Pa. Code §  149.6 (relating to Certificate of Compliance).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.