Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 54 Pa.B. 488 (January 27, 2024).

17 Pa. Code § 11.217. Swimming.

§ 11.217. Swimming.

 The following are prohibited:

   (1)  Swimming outside a designated swimming area.

   (2)  Swimming at other than posted hours.

   (3)  Use of underwater breathing apparatus or a snorkel. With permission of the Department, this equipment may be used by an emergency or rescue unit conducting a rescue operation or training or by a diver certified by an organization approved by the Department. The list of organizations approved by the Department may be obtained from the park manager.

   (4)  Possessing or using a glass or breakable container or utensil in a designated swimming area.

   (5)  Wearing the following:

     (i)   In a designated swimming area that is a swimming pool, cut-off pants, clothing that may damage the filtration system or pool surface or clothing that may otherwise cause damage or endanger the facility or a visitor.

     (ii)   In a designated swimming area that is a swimming pool, clothing that is not leak-proof, on an infant or on a child who is not toilet-trained.

     (iii)   In a designated swimming area, clothing that displays lifeguard lettering or insignia.

   (6)  The presence of a child under 10 years of age in a designated swimming area unless accompanied and supervised competently and effectively by a person at least 14 years of age. There may be no more than five children under the supervision of one person.

   (7)  Diving as follows in a designated swimming area:

     (i)   Running-entry diving.

     (ii)   Diving from the shoulders of another person.

     (iii)   Head-first diving from poolside where the water depth is 5 feet or less.

   (8)  Engaging in the following activities in a designated swimming area unless permitted by posting or by an on-duty lifeguard:

     (i)   Using or possessing a buoyant device. Personal flotation devices approved by the United States Coast Guard may be worn.

     (ii)   Engaging in sports activities, including water polo, volleyball, disc throwing and catch.

Cross References

   This section cited in 17 Pa. Code §  11.223 (relating to violation of rules regarding conduct in State parks).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.