Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 54 Pa.B. 488 (January 27, 2024).

19 Pa. Code § 91.201. General checklist for registering insignia.


§ 91.201. General checklist for registering insignia.

 (a)  The following is a checklist for registration of insignia:

   (1)  An application may be filed by an organization described in and complying with 54 Pa.C.S. §  1301 (relating to definitions). A name, badge, motto, button, decoration, charm, emblem, rosette, label or other insignia may be registered as the insignia of an organization. The term ‘‘label’’ means a label, symbol, mark or private stamp, including a label adopted by labor unions for the purpose of designating the product of their particular labor or workmanship.

   (2)  Prepare and submit Form DSCB:54-1311 (Application for Registration of Insignia).

   (3)  Submit a check or money order payable to the Department of State in the amount of $52. Cash is not accepted.

   (4)  The application will be examined to determine whether the insignia to be registered is the same as or confusingly similar to the insignia currently registered to another organization. If so, the registration will be denied.

   (5)  The registration is effective until January 1, 2001, and will continue in effect for additional terms of 10 years each if Form DSCB:54-1314 (Decennial Report-Insignia) is timely filed in the year 2000 and each year thereafter divisible by 10.

   (6)  Changes of name or address may be effected by filing Form DSCB:54-1312 (Application for Amendment of Insignia Registration).

 (b)  The Department will examine the Form DSCB:54-1311, and if the insignia is registrable, approve the application and endorse the fact and date of approval and filing thereon, and return the form to the applicant. A separate certificate will not be issued.


   The provisions of this §  91.201 adopted April 17, 1992, effective April 18, 1992, 22 Pa.B. 1993.

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.