Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 53 Pa.B. 7346 (November 25, 2023).

22 Pa. Code § 11.3. Minimum required hours.

§ 11.3. Minimum required hours.

 (a)  Minimum hours of instruction time for students shall be as follows:

Grade Hours
PreK—K 2 hours, 30 minutes, each day of the school term, unless exempted from the minimum hours of instructional time under §  11.1 (relating to school term)
K 2 hours, 30 minutes, each day of the school term
1—6 900 hours for the school term
7—12 990 hours for the school term

 (b)  Schools with grade level configurations that differ from those outlined in subsection (a) (for example, K-8), are required to meet the minimum annual hourly requirements for each specified grade level.


   The provisions of this §  11.3 amended under section 2603-B of The Public School Code of 1949 (24 P. S. §  26-2603-B).


   The provisions of this §  11.3 amended through November 3, 1978, effective November 4, 1978, 8 Pa.B. 3021; amended October 22, 2004, effective October 23, 2004, 34 Pa.B. 5798; amended December 15, 2006, effective December 16, 2006, 36 Pa.B. 7542. Immediately preceding text appears at serial page (307701).

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.