Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 52 Pa.B. 6342 (October 1, 2022).

25 Pa. Code § 218.12. Failure by registrant or licensee to pay required fee.

§ 218.12. Failure by registrant or licensee to pay required fee.

 (a)  A registrant or licensee who fails to pay an annual fee required under this chapter shall be subject to the civil and criminal penalties provided under the act.

 (b)  Nonpayment of fees required by this chapter shall be cause for revocation of licenses or registrations issued by the Department under the act.

Authority

   The provisions of this §  218.12 amended under sections 301 and 302 of the Radiation Protection Act (35 P. S. § §  7110.301 and 7110.302).

Source

   The provisions of this §  218.12 amended November 16, 2001, effective November 17, 2001, 31 Pa.B. 6280. Immediately preceding text appears at serial page (249247).


APPENDIX A



Fees for Radioactive Material Licenses



Fee Category5,6 Description
Annual Fee
($)1,2,3,4,7
1C Special Nuclear Material Sealed Source Gauges (X-Ray Fluorescence) 3,150
1D Special Nuclear Material—Other 8,700
2A(2)(c) Source Material—Metal Extraction 45,100
2A5 Removal of Radioactive Contaminants from Drinking Water 16,800
2B Source Material as Shielding 1,125
2C Source Material—Other (not 11e2) 20,100
3A Manufacturing & Distribution Commercial Broad Scope—10 CFR 30, 33 43,650
3B Manufacturing, Refurbishing & Distribution Commercial Specific License—10 CFR 30 12,450
3C Manufacturing & Distribution Pharmaceuticals—10 CFR 32.72—32.74 17,850
3D Pharmaceuticals—Distribution Only—10 CFR 32.7x 10,200
3E Irradiator—Shielded Source 6,300
3F Irradiator—Unshielded ‹ 10kCi 11,700
3G Irradiator—Unshielded ›= 10kCi 46,800
3I Distribution As Exempt—No Review of Device 16,050
3J Distribution—SSD Devices to Part 31 GLs 3,750
3K Distribution—No Review-Exempt Sealed Source 2,850
3L Research & Development Broad Scope 22,650
3M Research & Development 8,400
3N Services other than Leak Testing, Waste Disposal or Calibration 12,750
3O Radiography 21,150
3P Other Byproduct Material 4,050
3Q Generally licensed devices under §  217.143 (relating to certain measuring, gauging or controlling devices) 480
3R1 Greater than the General License Limits in 10 CFR 31.12(a)(3), (4) or (5) but not more than ten times those Limits 3,150
3R2 Greater than ten times the General License Limits in 10 CFR 31.12(a)(3), (4) or (5) 4,050
3S Manufacturing & Distribution Pharmaceuticals—Accelerator Produced Only 17,700
4A Waste Storage, Processing or Disposal

  Full Cost *

4B Waste Packaging or Repackaging 18,000
4C Waste Receipt of Prepackaged for Disposal 13,800
5A Well Logging & Non Field Flood Tracers 6,600
5B Well Logging Field Flood Tracer Studies

  Full Cost *

6A Nuclear Laundry 43,200
7A Human Use—Teletherapy 20,550
7B Human Use—Broad Scope (except Teletherapy) 36,250
7C Human Use (except Teletherapy) 7,350
8A Specifically licensed sources used in static eliminators, nonexempt smoke detectors, fixed gauges, dew pointers, calibration sources, civil defense uses or in temporary (2 years or less) storage 3,150
14 Decontamination, Decommissioning, Reclamation or Site Restoration

  Full Cost *

16 Reciprocity (180 days/year) 2,250
SB15 Small Business—Category 1 3,450
SB26 Small Business—Category 2 750

 

   1 A license may include as many as four noncontiguous sites at the base fee. Sites that are within 5 miles of the main radiation safety office where the license records are kept will be considered contiguous. An additional fee of 25% of the base fee will be added for each noncontiguous site above four.

 2 All fees will be effective upon publication of the final rules in the Pennsylvania Bulletin. Existing NARM licenses will be changed to the corresponding category of byproduct material license in Appendix A upon publication of the final rule.

 3 Annual fees for categories of NRC licenses that are not included in this table will be calculated as follows: PA Fee = (NRC Annual Fee + 0.10 NRC Application or Renewal fee).

 4 Annual fees charged to holders of transferred NRC licenses with multiple sites will not exceed the fees charged by the NRC for the same licenses that are in effect in the year of transfer, provided the number of noncontiguous sites does not increase.

 5 Small Businesses Not Engaged in Manufacturing, and Small Not-For-Profit Organizations with Gross Annual Receipts of more than $350,000 and less than $5 million; Manufacturing Entities that have an average of 35—500 employees with Gross Annual Receipts of more than $350,000 and less than $5 million; Small Government Jurisdictions (including publicly supported, nonmedical educational institutions) with a population between 20,000 and 50,000; and nonmedical Educational Institutions that are not state or publicly supported and have 35—500 employees.

 6 Small Businesses Not Engaged in Manufacturing, and Small Not-For-Profit Organizations with Gross Annual Receipts of less than $350,000; Manufacturing Entities that have an average of less than 35 employees and less than $350,000 in Gross Annual Receipts; Small Government Jurisdictions (including publicly supported nonmedical educational institutions) with a population less than 20,000; and nonmedical Educational Institutions that are not state or publicly supported and have less than 35 employees.

 7 Full cost recovery licensees and licensees required to provide financial assurance for decommissioning are not eligible for reduced fees under category SB1 or SB2.

 

   * Full cost recovery consists of a professional fee, to cover the activities and support of Department personnel, and any other additional incidental charges incurred, such as related contracted services or laboratory costs. The professional fee component (Hourly Rate) is $225 per hour. Other costs are recovered at 100% of actual cost. Invoices shall be issued by the Department at regular intervals but at least quarterly when net costs are incurred.

Authority

   The provisions of this Appendix A issued under sections 301, 302 and 401 of the Radiation Protection Act (35 P. S. § §  7110.301 and 7110.302); amended under sections 301, 302 and 401 of the Radiation Protection Act (35 P. S. § §  7110.301, 7110.302 and 7110.401); sections 8, 12 and 13 of the Radon Certification Act (63 P.S. § §  2008, 2012 and 2013); and section 1920-A of The Administration Code of 1929 (71 P. S. 510-20).

Source

   The provisions of this Appendix A adopted November 16, 2001, effective November 17, 2001, 31 Pa.B. 6280; amended July 16, 2004, effective July 17, 2004, 34 Pa.B. 3823; amended November 14, 2008, effective January 1, 2009, 38 Pa.B. 6275; amended October 20, 2017, effective October 21, 2017, 47 Pa.B. 6482. Immediately preceeding text appears at serial pages (342043) to (342046).

Cross References

   This appendix cited in 25 Pa. Code §  218.11 (relating to registration, renewal of registration and license fees).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.